We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Basic; Don't expect them to honor their own cancellation policies”
Review of King Shi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
King Shi Hotel
Ranked #360 of 570 Hotels in Taipei
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
179 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Very Basic; Don't expect them to honor their own cancellation policies”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Because I was traveling alone, I was giving the tiniest of rooms even though the price I paid was the same as two persons traveling. Their own booking policy is that cancellation without penalty with >24 hours notice. Due to a problem with my airline I had to delay my trip by one day, and I was able to notify them of the change more than 24 hours in advance. They charged me for the day anyway (i.e. no refund in prepaid booking). Their rationale is that they have already reserved the room for me, and couldn't sell it to someone else. I understand that, but why have a 24 hour cancellation policy then?

The room itself is very very basic, in a working class neighborhood that used to be a hip area for young people. Now many hip stores and bard have moved elsewhere, but the area still has some interests. Breakfast here consists of coffee or tea, white toast, some spam-like ham, and hard boiled eggs. That's it. All self-served. Again very basic.

Room Tip: Best to travel with more than one person, otherwise you will be stuck in a tiny closet. Don't ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goodgenes5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    41
    33
    9
    8
See reviews for
26
12
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
philippines
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

The hotel is conveniently located right in the middle of action in ximending area. It is approximately a 5-10 minute walk from the mrt & surrounded by cafes, clothing stores, bakeries & lots of food stalls to sate your empty stomach.

It will be a bit tricky to locate the hotel for those who cant read Chinese characters because the English name of the hotel is not apparent. The hotel occupies not the ground floor of the building but from the 7th floor & 8th floors only. We occupied a room in the 8th floor it was simple, cozy, clean & had the basic necessities for a 3 star hotel. Our accommodation, included breakfasts & they served the same food choices everyday which included bread, ham, hardboiled eggs soaked in tea?, brewed coffee, tea and they had strawberry & margarine spreads also. But not to worry much ,cuz the hotel is surrounded by gazillions of food stalls in case you would want a more heavy meal.

The hotel team was warm & accommodating in our entire stay. Xie-Xie ni King Shi!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eccentric_jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Stayed in this hotel during my trip last year Oct. As per what most review said, the location is the probably the best reason to choose KingShi for that kind of hotel rate. I mean, SGD70 ave/night.. 5mins walk to XiMenDing MRT, plenty of food and entertainment till late night.. what more do you expect?

We stayed there for 5 nights, travelled with a 7years old kid. We were given a room on the 7th floor, initially they give us a room which upon enter, there was a little platform, because of our stroller, we requested to change.. Was given Room722. I must say the room is of ave decent size, not exceptionally spacious, but enough. A comfortable queen bed and a sofa bed, large LCD TV with endless program. Toilet is basically clean n neat. 1 thing i want to comment is the aircon, its freezing cold, its a centrallize aircon and only have 3 level of control by the bedside, because our room is windowless, therefore, it feel like staying in the fridge after sometime, so, we have to wake up and shut it off and turn it ON later to regulate the room temp. Good thing is the Down Comforter and extra blanket provided are more than enough to keep us warm.

We have no complaint against the front desk, they were pretty friendly and helpful throughout our stay, giving us suggestion, directions promptly. Particularly this nightshift front desk lady, 吴小姐, she's really nice, and comfortable to speak to.. oh ya, she speaks fairly good english as well.

Breakfast, well, like what most forumer says, nothing to shout about.. then again, we're staying at where the delicious food are.. why do we want to waste our calories with those hotel breakfast? Just along the alley of the hotel, there're Mika cafe, tradditional taiwanese breakfast shops.. they are all so yummy, and cheap.

1 thing to highlight is, the road where the hotel sits, its fairly busy at night time.. so gotta be careful if you're getting on or getting off from the taxi.. esp the motor bike.. So usually when we take a cab back to hotel, we will ask them to alight us at the 国宾戏院 just at the left turn after the traffic then we walk back.

Oh yes, i'm going back to taiwan again this april.. and yes, i've booked my stay with Kingshi once again... and guess what, when i called, 吴小姐, answered, to my surprise, she actually sort of manage to guess who we are after a brief description.. defintely a warm feeling to know that..

We've been blessed with nice hotel stay, nice taxi driver, 于大哥 for our day trip to 九份,基隆.... Most importantly, we're so blessed that we have another opportunity to tour Taiwan once again in April..!! yeah!!

Room Tip: book at least 1month in advance.. occupancy rate is relatively high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rynare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
123 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

- Loacated in city center with lots of shops and restuarants nearby.
- Within 5 mins walk from metro.
- Clean room.
- Hot and strong bath water.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony_Chow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Stayed at this hotel or rather motel for 4 nights in November 2011. Upon check in, the room we were given, on 7th floor was smokey and quite poorly lit...there were footwear stains on the wall which gave me a very poor impression. My room was windowless which made it more claustrophobic. If only the room was well lit and with cleaned walls, I would have given better ratings. Aircond was powerful and shower was ok. You get your usual coffee/tea making facilities, LCD TV with over 100 channels, hairdryer and toiletries. Reception is usually manned by one lady - English is average but because I speak Chinese, we were able to communicate better. Breakfast was simple ham, toast and tea egg. Try the noodle shop just next to the hotel, delicious especially the fried pork meat. I would say the great thing about King Shi would be the location, in Xi Men DIng - under 10 mins walk to the MRT and great shopping as you step out. I would not call this a hotel but rather a motel and it is located on the 7th floor of a commercial building. Wifi is fast and free if you stay in rooms on 7th floor.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kleeym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

Stay with family of 4 for 4 night. Good location and Staff are very helpful.
Room are clean and well equipped even with Safe Box.
Allow us to keep our baggage for 3 days while we are away to hualien.
Upgrade to a VIP upon return. Cons - Breakfast the same daily (Bread, Ham and Egg).
Coffee is good though !

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rcyc11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for 6 days/ 5 nights. It is worth it. Hotel staff are helpful. The only main problem is the breakfast. They should have more varieties. Room is quite big, toiletries are provided. I have a good six days stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fire2angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.1 mi away
ECFA Hotel Wan Nian
ECFA Hotel Wan Nian
#217 of 570 in Taipei
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puri Ximen Branch
Hotel Puri Ximen Branch
#100 of 570 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ximen Hotel
Ximen Hotel
#415 of 570 in Taipei
3.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
E-House Xining Branch
E-House Xining Branch
#487 of 570 in Taipei
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#230 of 570 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.0 mi away
ECFA Hotel Kunming
ECFA Hotel Kunming
#446 of 570 in Taipei
3.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Shi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Shi Hotel

Property: King Shi Hotel
Address: 7F, No.142 Kummim Street, Taipei 108, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #360 of 570 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — King Shi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your King Shi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing