We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Building With Shops and Restaurants”
Review of Taipei 101

Taipei 101
Book In Advance
More Info
$18.40*
and up
Taipei 101 Observatory Admission Ticket
Ranked #6 of 552 things to do in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: At 509 meters high, this was the world's tallest building from 2004 to 2010, when the Burj Khalifa in Dubai surpassed it. The tower is reminiscent of a pagoda or a stalk of bamboo and designed to withstand typhoons and earthquakes common in Taiwan. Floors one through five are a shopping center and both the indoor (89th floor) and outdoor (91st floor) observation decks offer a 360-degree panoramic view.
East Windsor, New Jersey
Level Contributor
158 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Amazing Building With Shops and Restaurants”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Didn't go to the observatory, but did eat in the Restaurant on one of the top floors (86?) and it was fantastic. We had a small private room for a party of about 8 and had a great chinese cuisine dinner. It was a clear evening and the views were incredible and a little scary at night. Elevator ride to the top was quick (one of the fastest in the world for such a tall building). On the lower levels, lots of shops with very high end merchandise. Again, if in Taipai, worth a stop and would recommend.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank KMRadz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,954 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,116
    3,657
    1,846
    263
    72
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worth it...if there there's no haze”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

This is an amazing building. The viewing floor was very good and well layout. There was also a floor which showed the building dampening technique that was quite interesting. The elevator was very fast, travelling only 27 seconds each way without affecting your eardrums. However the day we went, the sky was hazy and we did not get to see much. Suggest going in early morning as it generally are clearer.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank lvan888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
273 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Worthy of a visit”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

What a cool building!!! Visually unique. The place is more than just an observation tower. It's also a high end mall. We did not really do any shopping as the mall aspect felt like Orchard Rd, Singapore.

During our visit, it was always misty and cloudy and waited to see when the sky would clear up. Never happened, so on our last day we went up during lunch time. Which is the best when the huge tour bus crowd are not there. The line to get the tickets was short and the deck was crowd but not unbearable. The elevator ride was a unique very short experience; I wanted to go up and down a couple times just for the sake. Given the day we went was cloudy, we did not get to see very far, felt like we were in a cloud-- neat also. So when we were heading out, the huge tour crowd was just coming in.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank sofiteme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Go on a good day”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

For NT$500, it was a steep admission price compared to everything else. If you take your time, you can use 101 as a good starting point for your taipei adventures. The audioguide provided heaps of information about the city.
The outside observation deck was open, but there was nothing to see. They also make you walk through a coral museum- to buy stuff before you leave.
Don't forget to bring your notebook to get some stamps from the top. And remember to use your Youth Travel Pass to get NT$50 off entry.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank halftheadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth the cost”
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

This is the nest view and ride up the elevator was very cool. It is a little pricey compared to other TW attractions but not to western standards. Techy geeks will like seeing the 660 ton counter balance.

Helpful?
Thank Jmhalter2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Taipei 101? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing