We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting Sight”

Beitou Thermal Valley(Hell Valley)
Book In Advance
More Info
$94.99*
and up
Ultimate Taipei Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #23 of 547 things to do in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 9am to 5pm Closed on Mondays A natural hot sulfur spring where the water temperature can reach up to 100°C.
Singapore
Level Contributor
122 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Interesting Sight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

This is definitely an interesting sight for someone from a non-volcanic activities country.
Walk from the subway station takes about 15 mins uphill with a bit of scenery of the small hotspring river running downhill, old architecture which are now museums.

Worth a visit if you want to try soaking your feets in the river.

Summer might not be a good time to visit as the weather is so hot with lotsa mosqitoes.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SereneSwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    258
    97
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Long walk up from XinBeitou station”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

It was really a long walk to this place but worth a visit if you have not seen hot sulphur springs before. A rather small place but nice to take some photos.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank abigail G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Hot Spring Valley or Thermol Valley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

We took MRT to Xinbeitou, followed the road sign given, we first went to Hot Spring Museum to appreciate how the hot spring came about, who built the hot spring bath, different type of hot spring bath, etc. Next to the Museum is the Plum House (didn't go in). We made our way to Hot Spring Valley. Beautiful sight at Hot Spring (see the pictures). We love the view! Worth paying a visit.

After Hot Spring view, we walk back to Xinbeitou station, along the way we passed by Millennium Hot Spring is an outdoor public hot spring pool. Entrance fee NT40. You need to bring your own swimming gear to enter otherwise you have to buy it at the counter, without which you are not allow to enter at all.

Note: Monday is the maintenaince day and it's closed. Opening hours from 10am to afternoon (can't remember what time).

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DebbieSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
114 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great walk with a date...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

I went with my sweetie and we enjoy the warmth of the stream as we trekked up to The hot spring, there are a lot of stops along the way to slip your feet in without too much to worry about

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank richdjing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
148 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Not much to see but definitely worth a visit if you are around the area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

This place is a 15 to 20 minute walk from Xin Beitou station and there is only the hot spring for viewing but the sight is definitely worth the trip. Hot steam rising up and shrouding the area in mystique, it's gorgeous (though smelly) and I highly recommend a visit if you are around the area with time to spare.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank mufimurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beitou Thermal Valley(Hell Valley) also viewed

 

Been to Beitou Thermal Valley(Hell Valley)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing