We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing value...”

Wonstar Hotel (Songshan)
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wonstar Hotel (Songshan)
Ranked #452 of 571 Hotels in Taipei
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Amazing value...”
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Ignore your first impressions - when you pull up to the rather ramshackle exterior over a family mart 24 hour store you may wonder what you've let yourself in for. Inside is a modern, clean and efficient little hotel, with excellent english-speaking staff. Wupenfu clothes market is right on your doorstep and you're ten minutes from a subway station (although cabs are dirt cheap) and maybe 20 minutes walk from taipei 101.

Room Tip: High for peace and quiet, low for rapid escape in the event of a fire!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank littledutchboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    14
    12
    2
    4
See reviews for
6
8
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
SG
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Just 5 min plus to houshanpi mrt and 5 min to songshan train - go jiufen. Love shopping - can get everything from raohe nite market and cheap clothing at wufenpu. Food wise, u can get it everywhere, nite stalls. Hotel is comfy clean with free buffet breakfast serving porridge, side dishes and toast bread- simple local foodfare. Highlight was able take direct bus from taipei main station to yeliu to visit queen head. Restaurant in middle serve cheap but very tasty seafood dishes! Go for it!! Also took mrt to try their fastest maglev train and beitou for their solid wen quan - hot spring! Downstairs of hotel several shops including 24 hr convenient store. Took hotel limouse to airport at NT1000. Will stay other hotel next round as finished exploring this area. Likely be wonstar ximen at ximending mrt.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sammie_lee_kw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

The hotel is located very near the songshan mrt, convenient and accessible to wufenpu and raohe night market. Overrall a simple room, if ur not looking for something exclusive, it's a good choice!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joannery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Level Contributor
241 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Stayed here for à few nights. I wanted to stay somewhere closeby THE wholesalemarket! Only 5 m from one of THE entrances, so it couldnt be better! Rooms are ok not à grand luxury, but THE rate was equal... Good bed, good shower, in room (FREE) WI FI. Receptionist is on THE fitst floor, no Bell boys etc. Room is not that big, around 15 m², at least THE one I had. During weekend could be à bit noisy.. I was disturbed from my sleep around 3 AM hearing noices from THE room above me... But There was à in room music system.. I remember, so after à while, felt asleep again with THE music...
Receptionist very polite and helpfull...
In THE neigberhood, à lot of local food stalls/ simple eateries... Nearest MRT station About approx. 1 km distance. Which connectie you to other Parts of THE city.
Highly recommended if you need to be in this area.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DACHALADACHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2011

Very friendly staff,a small hotel, bit rough round the edges but suited us fine for our trip. When we checked in we were shown a room with a tiny window facing a stairwell, it smelt damp and was dark and I asked for a different room. I paid a bit to be upgraded to the delux room and it was much lighter and fresher. It was a little rough around edges - ants scuurrying around by the window, a few cracks here and there etc.
However, the staff were so helpful and so friendly that it made you overlook the rough edges. Breakie was basic but changed slightly every day and again the staff were so cheerful and friendly.
We liked the area and found it really handy to be so close to songsang station as it meant wizzing away on day trips to the coast etc really easy.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HongKongEmsEms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2011

Location of the hotel is good if u love shopping since Wufenpu (wholesale clothes) is located there. It is a fifteen minute walk to the MRT (houshanpi) station and songshan station, in opposite direction. There is a family mart next to the hotel n little food stalls too.
The hotel is small, very friendly front desk personnel. We arrived in the evening, and was given a room on the 2nd storey, just next to the lobby area. Wasn't very pleased with the location of the room as it was facing the road n very noisy at night. My partner, the light sleeper found it hard to sleep peacefully. That particular room was also very small, until other rooms as well as the pic shown on their website. We asked for a change of room but they claimed they were full n will try their best. I saw empty rooms on other levels subsequently on the 2nd and 3rd day but there were no mention of our change room request thereafter. There is a 30 mins free use of their computer on the 9th floor, the dinning area. We did not managed to try their breakfast since there are plenty of food stalls ard. I love their tv service though, plenty of
cable channels available. Make sure u hand the key to the front desk to ensure that ur room get cleaned up.
Overall it is a value-for-money stay at wonstar songshan, I will stay at the same hotel when I visit Taiwan again, but will make sure I stay in a different
room.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LLJay1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okinawa, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2010

When my wife and I arrived at Wonstar Hotel, we were about and hour and a half from check in time. We wandered around the area filled with clothes, food, and anything else you could think of for sale. When we checked in the staff was very warm and helpful. Although some of them couldn't speak fluent english they went through great lengths to make sure that we were comfortable, and helped us to get aroud for our various travels in taipei. The room came with a nice long bed a flat screen TV, a small fridgerator and a nice size bathroom. The only downside is that even though they provided breakfast, it wasn't the breakfast my wife and I were used to. The next best thing was bying cereal and going old school style. Besides that, the cleanliness of the room, the always helpful staff, and the great access to most attractions would be a reason to stay at this hotel again when we travel to Taiwan again.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank PROSPECTJAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.3 mi away
Charming City Hotel Sungshan
0.5 mi away
Shin Shin Hotels - Songshan
Shin Shin Hotels - Songshan
#359 of 571 in Taipei
14 reviews
0.3 mi away
Capital Hotel Song Shan
Capital Hotel Song Shan
#238 of 571 in Taipei
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hau Shuang Hotel Taipei
Hau Shuang Hotel Taipei
#418 of 571 in Taipei
26 reviews
0.6 mi away
Angels' Hostel - Taipei 101
Angels' Hostel - Taipei 101
#371 of 571 in Taipei
8 reviews
0.4 mi away
Green World Hotel Songshan
Green World Hotel Songshan
#199 of 571 in Taipei
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wonstar Hotel (Songshan)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wonstar Hotel (Songshan)

Property: Wonstar Hotel (Songshan)
Address: No.153 Songshan Road, Xinyi District, Taipei 110, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #452 of 571 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wonstar Hotel (Songshan) 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wonstar Hotel (Songshan) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wonstar Hotel Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing