We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money. Clean rooms, good location and excellent service”
Review of East Dragon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
East Dragon Hotel
Ranked #178 of 576 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great value for money. Clean rooms, good location and excellent service”
Reviewed January 9, 2011

Stayed at East Dragon for 5 nights. Overall we had a very pleasant experience. The rooms were comfortable and more importantly, clean. Service was excellent, and the reception staff were very helpful, even calling up to check on our booking the day before we flew. Location to me was perfect, around 3-5 mins walk to Ximen station, but not right in the heart of Ximending which can get quite noisy. On the downside, rooms can be considered small, but hey, it's great value for what you pay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Flyingsheepdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    78
    37
    2
    2
See reviews for
49
21
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2010

For people looking for a no frill hotel, I find this hotel meets the needs with its great location.

Pros
(1) Good location. Near the MRT and just a stop away from Taipei station (for HSR and Train). Shops, eateries, entertainment and 7-11 were all within reach.
(3) Clean rooms.
(4) Reasonable price.
(5) Daily replenishment of toilet amenties such as shaver, soap, shampoo, shower cap, toothbrush and toothpaste were available.
(6) Daily replenishment of mineral water.
(7) TV with lots of channels.
(8) Helpful and friendly staff. Making reservation, check-in and check-out were smooth. The responses to my emails prior to our arrival were prompt and great.
(9) Water dispenser on each floor (provided hot, warm and cold water).

Cons
(1) Limited breakfast choice provided. Not an issue as eateries were within reach and so eating out was convenient. Macdonald and KFC were nearby.
(2) No heater. The rooms were a little cold during our stay in winter.
(3) No airport transfer. Need to self-arrange.
(4) Occasional noise, e.g. chair dragging noise (as we stayed at 2nd floor which was near the breakfast corner) or from the road (windows were not sound proofed). We were not ight sleeper and so it wasn't much of an issue.
(5) WIFI only available at certain floors. We managed to get some on the 2nd floor but was not stable. Do request for the floor with WIFI if required. If not, can access at the lobby (get password from the staff).

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank oliviamummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2010

We stayed at East Dragon for 6nites. They allowed us to leave our luggage with hotel when we travelled to Hualien for a day. Rooms are standard. However if they change new carpets, might look even better.
Hotel is conveniently located within walk to MRT station (Ximending). Busy bustling area with nearby restaurants and lots of shopping and eateries.
Hotel staff pretty helpful and friendly, speak some English. Breakfast not too great unless you like ham and eggs everyday. Their coffee is great though. And you do get wireless in hotel lobby.
Good value for money if you book online direct. Overall I must say reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jessietan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2010

Booking:
Booked through email and stayed in East Dragon Hotel for 8 nights in May 2010. The email replies are prompt and they will send you a reservation form to fill in. If you need to use free wifi in the room, remember to state it in your reservation (not all levels have wifi access) and confirm with the staff again before you check-in. They also took the trouble to call my Singapore no. to confirm the booking one day ahead and check my arrival time as well. You don't have to give any credit card details for the booking until you check-in so there are no cancellation charges to worry about.

Getting There & getting out:
From the Airport, Freego bus will bring you straight to the hotel (and several other hotels in XMD area). There are several timings for these buses - 7pm, 740pm (if you are flying from Singapore by Jetstar). The Hotel is conveniently located at the end of the XMD 小吃街 (lots of local food ard even late at night), 5 min walk to XMD station & 15-20min walk to Taipei Main Station. XMD is a very lively area even at 11pm =).

Getting to the Airport:
Getting to the Airport is more tricky than it seems. Freego DOES NOT pick you up at the hotel and send you to the Airport direct. Instead, you need to make a phone call to Freego and book a timing and they'll pick you up along the road opposite the hotel in a small bus (more rundown than the public buses) that does not have any luggage compartment, limited seats and severely overloaded with people from previous stops and their luggages. Then they'll drop you off at their terminal at 行天宮 about 20min later and you need to transfer (yes, carry your heavy luggages too) to a proper coach to the Airport (another 50min ride). If it's a peak timing, the coaches are very full and you may have to wait for the next one in 30-60mins. Hotel staff recommended we take a cab to the Airport straight from the hotel (costs NTD1200, around 50min ride) but we already bought return Freego Tix. So for those expecting to have lots of return luggage, it's more wise to take a cab instead of Freego to the Airport.

The Rooms:
We got 2 rooms on the 7th floor. The twin room was upgraded (free of charge) to a triple room with a queen bed and a single bed. The double room was a corner room with a large balcony - a little more outside space. The views are not spectacular though. The triple room is spacious and the double room was ok (but the balcony made up for it). I liked the cosy room and lots of tv channels to choose. Bottled Drinks are replenished daily and there's a hot/cold water dispenser on every floor. Rooms are well maintained and very clean and comfy. Lighting is nice and cosy. I love the free wifi cos the iPod Touch can surf internet everynight =)

Beds:
Yes, they are pretty hard like what alot of reviewers have said. But we got accustomed to it on the second night and had really good sleep every night (maybe we were just tired from all the travelling). Not a big problem in my opinion =)

Service:
The hotel staff are friendly and helpful. The counter will keep your room keys for you everytime you leave the hotel - good cos you don't have to worry about losing the keys. The staff will also give you suggestions on how to get to your destination and where are the good food nearby. There is also a free service to look after your luggage before/after check-in/check-out and they will gladly help to carry your luggage to where you wait for Freego.

Overall, it's a wonderful experience and East Dragon is a great choice for a hotel with reasonable price, good room & good location.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jennis_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2010

I travelled to Taipei with 8 other friends and I booked the hotel easily by emailing the hotel and also secured an alright priced airport-hotel-airport transfer, which made our arrival and departure smooth and easy.

The hotel was extremely conveniently located right next to Xi Men Ding, a youth shopping district in the heart of Taipei. Check-in was easy and the staff were friendly. Although the hotel has a rule of leaving your keys at the desk when going out, it was alright because the staff remembered your faces and happily welcomed you whenever.

The rooms were alright and the usual things were available, like the fridge, hair dryer, bathtub, toiletries, tv etc. There were no boiler provided but there was a hot water dispense on ever floor, which in my opinion is even more convenient. Bedsheets and towels are changed every day. My girl friends and I received a room that had no window, in which we were told was because we requested to have an extra bed added to a standard room. Our other guy friends who had no special requests got normal rooms with windows. It was a little bit of a bummer but the windowless-room was alright so it was ok with us. Air-con is provided 24/7 so the air circulation was ok anyways.

There was also breakfast provided every morning but it was always the same american breakfast. It's a filling breakfast but if u are looking for more variety and something to the local taste you can just ditch the hotel's breakfast and there are quite a number of local breakfast shops available right outside at cheap prices.

Our departure flight was at 6pm in the evening and we had to check out before noon, but no worries, because they actually have a service where you are able to leave your luggages with them and return for them only when you are leaving for the airport.

Overall the stay was comfortable and the hotel is definitely value for money, with each person paying around 700 TWD per night, which is about US$22.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ShenJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2010

We took the Free-Go bus from the airport directly to the hotel. The room is really well-maintained, spacious and clean. They also provide some bottles of free mineral water everyday which I really liked. The location is also very good, just a few minutes walk from ximen MRT station. The only downside is that they serve the same breakfast every day. But you can always find other food in the nearby shops if you get tired of the hotel breakfast. Generally a good stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank euniceps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2010

Good location as it is within walking distance to Ximending shopping area and Ximen MRT Station. The hotel is dated but the staff at the reception and the bellboy are friendly and helpful. They always greet you with a smile. The room allocated to me was small but my sister's was big as hers was at the corner. So I guess it depend on when you check in and the availability of rooms. However, the room has no safe deposit box and the TV is the old 20" type. The toilet basin does not have space for us to place our toilettries. The bed is rather hard. The housekeper on my floor is lazy. The breakfast served is the same everyday, bread, ham, 2 eggs and coffee/tea. We only had it one day and rather had breakfast at Ximending. I don't mind staying there the next time I visit and hopefully I'll get the corner room.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purplecat1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Wanhua District
Muzik Hotel - Ximending Xining Branch
Rainbow Hotel
#274 of 576 in Taipei
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Puri Ximen Branch
#109 of 576 in Taipei
535 reviews
Green World Hotel Zhonghua
#121 of 576 in Taipei
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Dragon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Dragon Hotel

Property: East Dragon Hotel
Address: No.23 Section 2, Hankou Street, Wanhua District, Taipei 10842, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei > Wanhua District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #178 of 576 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Dragon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your East Dragon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Dragon Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing