We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of East Dragon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
East Dragon Hotel
Ranked #185 of 585 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2013

`Booked the hotel stay online for 7 nights , prices was pretty reasonable, location was pretty good as it is near to Ximending & Taipei Station just across the road it will be Ximending with lots of goodies & shops around you.

Room size is pretty average with quite a spacious bathroom with bath tub as well. Hot water has to be collected outside our room but it is very near. Budget constraint travellers can consider this hotel, cozy hotel I would say.

Skip the breakfast provided not much of variety at all, we only tried twice & the rest of the days we went out exploring for food.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Esther2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 79 of 154 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

booked fr east dragon online, their service is good. ask em to arrange a taxi to send us to the hotel fr the airport, and the driver is v courtesy n greet us!!! went w my baby who is just turn 1 yr old, like this hotel cos is clean and the people are all so happy go lucky! they r v nice, told mi tt it will raining so ask mi to brg baby sweater for my baby... cos it will be cold. been here befre and this is my 2nd time ... still clean as always ... found that the dining room has been renovated before , cos it nt like in the past. (1st visit was 2010)


everything is perfect, the location is near mrt.. many shopping at xmd...

the cons : breakfast is served the same everyday.... which is abit boring to eat the same every mrn....

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yannfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

GOOD:
· The room was clean with hot shower, shampoo/soap/toothbrush amenities, refrigerator, tea/coffee and drinking water facilities, free wifi, AC, TV(~25 channels),safe at reception, 8 storeys, in a quiet area of Ximending. Short distance to MRT Ximen and Taipei mainstation.
· friendly staff
· The transport was good on the Bus 1819, 230,- returnticket. only a few stops between the airport and Taipei mainstation.
·
NEUTRAL:
· the breakfast consists of tea/coffee, juice, 1bread, scrambled eggs, 1 slice of ham.
BAD:
· nothing
CONCLUSIONS:
· a good place for staying in relation to the price. Coming back? TAIPEI: YES; HOTEL: YES.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank coralkong502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Location was excellent, a stone away from Xi Men Ding main shopping and food haven. Amenities in hotel was basic, a little old and dull. But cleanliness was good. A good choice if you don't expect yourself to be staying in and you want to reserve more cash for shopping and feasting.

Room Tip: No heater available so it might get utterly cold for the cooler weather
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JovialAce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I have been to Taipei for more than 5 times but this is my first stay with East Dragon.
As there are many hotel choices in the same vicinity I like to stay at a different one each time so that i can do a comparison. East Dragon is in a prominent location but yet enjoy the quiet side as it is off the street of Xi Men Ding. The food street is right across the hotel - lots of nice breakfast shop in this area!


Check In:
Check in time was 1400 hrs and don't expect any hour earlier. I reached the hotel at about 0800 hrs via early morning flight. I asked them if i could book a room for now as i am really tired - they said no i can't as they will only have "visibility" of available rooms at 9:30 am. I asked in this case, can i have an early check in if the room is ready? She said that 1330 hrs is the earliest which the room will only be ready. She suggested that i can go to a 24 hrs MOS Burger restaurant to rest. At 1300 hrs, i came back and asked if the room is ready? The staff said no. Another staff added that i will have to "pay additional charge" to request for rush cleaning job. Eventually, i got to check in at 1350 hrs.

WIFI in room:
Please do not be happy about the "Free Wifi" in rooms because for my 3 nights stay there, i didn't get any access at all. The staff explained that because there are a lot of guests on the same floor using the same network hence internet receiption is very weak.

The Room:
Bathroom is big with a nice bathtub and shower. Room is basic and comfortable for me. You can hear people talking in the lobby all the time, i think it is better to suggest for a room not near to the lift. My room was actually at the far end and i can hear people talking outside my room all the time. So i think it would be worst if the room is near to the lift.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mngedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

A friend recommended this hotel on my recent trip to Taipei. It was an excellent choice. The rooms were clean, friendly and helpful staff helpful. Would agree with another reviewer that the fridge needs to be unplugged as it is kind of noisy. Sound proofing of windows could be better as you can hear noise from the street but it does quieten down or you get use to it. I didn't sleep well the first night but had no problems the other four nights.

Breakfast is standard every day (juice, coffee/tea, rolls, eggs and ham). Booking is still old fashion and you have to complete a booking form, they send a room confirmation and you provide card details. But the replies are fast and you can also call and talk to them. It's not a massive hotel so you avoid large tour groups staying. Location is fantastic. The MRT station is 5 min walk and there is food and shops all around the area.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gabchong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Located just across ximending, the hotel is simple but has everything needed for a pleasant stay. The staffs were friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and fairly spacious. The breakfast menu has only 1 menu but there is a food stall nearby which serves some great local breakfast. Would definitely be the hotel of choice if ever going vacation in Taipei again

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChnYFng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Wanhua District
Muzik Hotel - Ximending Xining Branch
Hotel Puri Ximen Branch
#111 of 585 in Taipei
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wanhua District
W5 Best Hotel
W5 Best Hotel
#289 of 585 in Taipei
43 reviews
Swiio Hotel
#30 of 585 in Taipei
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Dragon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Dragon Hotel

Address: No.23 Section 2, Hankou Street, Wanhua District, Taipei 10842, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Taipei > Wanhua District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 585 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range: $56 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Dragon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your East Dragon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Dragon Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing