We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Getaway From Taipei City”

Yangmingshan National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$114.25*
and up
Private Tour: Yangmingshan National Park Day Trip from Taipei
More Info
$51.99*
and up
Yangmingshan National Park and Hot-Spring Half-Day Tour from Taipei
More Info
$105.00*
and up
Private Day Tour: Discover North Coast Of Taiwan From Taipei Including Lunch
Ranked #8 of 554 things to do in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Embrace nature and flower gardens with a picnic or leisurely hike up the rolling hillsides of Yangmingshan. The park is accessible by public bus.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Great Getaway From Taipei City”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

It wasn't difficult for my friends and I to get to Yangmingshan, though knowing the schedule of the buses from the MRT stations would mean saving on waiting time. (If not, a 30 minutes wait is highly possible.) Went on a warm, clear winter day in January, and it was a feast for us city people. Not as quiet as I'd wish it to be but the greenery and scenery made up for it. If you can afford the time and energy, spend a full day exploring the place and its various attractions. Also, if you have the chance, visit the eatery near the gigantic flower clock. Best braised pork rice I've ever had.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank attemptingtotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    547
    419
    131
    16
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Big Place”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We went to the park by Bus number 260 from the bus stop in front of the Taipei Main Station Exit North 1. As the park is big and the scenic sites and trails are far apart, we had to take the shuttle bus number 108 to go the sites. One day pass for unlimited trips can be bought at the bus terminal where we alighted from the bus 260. The shuttle bus was not frequent and each trip from one site to another took about ten to twenty minutes hence we spent much waiting for the bus and travelling in it. The bus service ends at 5.30 pm. So do plan your itinerary carefully. We walked the Erziping trail which was an easy walk as the path was flat and well paved. We then went to Xiaoyoukang to climb up Mount Qixing. Along the climb, we could get close to the sulphur rock.
Overall, Yangmingshan is a good hiking place to get away from the city crowd.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank tanjongkatong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Flower festival”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I went to this place during Mar 13. It was the last day of the flower festival. We went on Monday, knowing that there will be traffic jam on weekends. The Hotel 73 staff recommend us to take a public bus there since it is not too far away from town. We did what was been told and never regret. The cherry blossom was awesome. The flowers displays was awesome.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KLPow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Gorgeous view but...”
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Better plan ahead early. The 108 shuttle comes like once in a blue moon. Appx 1 hour interval. We went on a weekday so the frequency of the shuttle might increase during the weekends.

Better get your hiking boots on. We explored yang Ming Shan via it's walking trails. The scenery and a chance to interact with nature was awesome. Quite a few packs of wild dogs roaming around, they weren't aggressive so nothing much to worry about I guess.

Helpful?
Thank Ernie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Rustic charm”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stopped by here on way to airport so was a bit rushed, good gifts at the temple, look out for the flying squirrels.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank RedCentreAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yangmingshan National Park also viewed

 

Been to Yangmingshan National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing