We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected!”
Review of Sunroute Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunroute Hotel
Ranked #105 of 578 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2007

This is a Japanese franchise hotel, where many Japanese business people stay. It is conveniently located near a MRT station and on the main bus lines. While the size of the single room I stayed was ninimum. It had a satellite TV, a tea pot, and free ADSL internet connection. The bath room was so-called a "unit-bath" with a Japanese style deep bath tub, which may not be attractive for Americans and Europeans.

The facility was not impressive, and the quality of the staff was about average with many of them proficient in Chinese, English and/or Japanese. The airport transport was NT$1200 which was much cheaper than similar services offered by nearby hotels.

Taipei has lots of high quality hotels. However, if you just want a decent place to stay, this hotel would be a good choice.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank PaddingtonTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (405)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 34 of 405 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2007

March 9 to March 15, 2007 SunRoute Hotel [--]

Reservation problems:
This hotel’s reservation email is inconsistence and unreliable. I first made email advance room reservation request to [--] shown in their web site [--] Three days later, they replied with NT2350 for single room. I email reply back immediately asking to book room for March 8 to 15 (without credit card).
However, due to involuntary schedule delay (snow storm in NE), I emailed the hotel on March 5 to request arrival date change to March 9. Two days later on March 7, I got no reply. I was worried and called the hotel from US; the lady said they did not receive my arrival date change request email. So, when I arrive on March 9, the receptionist insisted that they did not receive any of my arrival date change email. They asked me to pay for the entire missing dates and airport pickup. I strongly object to this. With broken English, she finally relented because I explained that I had repeatedly sent over 5 email to them to request arrival date change and phone call from California. If I were to cheat them, why would I show up days later, without credit card guarantee?

But I found out in their hotel business card, their email is [--].

Tiny Room:
The single room is tiny 100 square feet. But it is reasonably in budget for Taipei downtown area. It is 2 blocks from Metro subway. I asked for room price excluding breakfast which is NT300 at the hotel restaurant downstairs. There are numerous quick breakfast (Big M) 2 blocks west, near the subway. Room is clean. But the towels smell of cigarette. I asked for no-smoking room but I can smell of cigarette at night when sleeping. I guess a no-smoking floor would be much better. The rooms are not quite sound proof, but other guests do keep it quite. Bathroom is small plastic cubical. If you are over 6 ft 2 and over 200 pounds, you will bump into objects. The bed is on the firm / hard side, and the blanket is much too heavy. I specifically asked for a lightest blanket and got a heavy wool blanket, which is not practical for tropical Taipei warmer and humid weather compare to California.

Everything is written in Japanese. There is ONE free computer in the café smoking area. The screen is few feet from the rest of café customer – no privacy. This computer is set only for Japanese characters, and I was unable to locate the English fonts.

For average size American visitors, not the tiny set, it would be a little uncomfortable stay.

In Taiwan you are not to pay tips at cabs, or restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Young707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2006

We stayed here for two weeks. The rooms are on the small side, but they are very clean and comfortable. The staff is friendly and welcoming. There's a nice Japanese restaurant in the basement of the hotel. The location is excellent as well, near taxis, buses, and the MRT.

  • Stayed: May 2002
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank cat666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yoshikazuo250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank よっしー111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: エレベーターが結構遅いので、地上の騒音が届かず、でも上層すぎない中間階がオススメ。
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank uema_t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank daisuke0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.0 mi away
Green World Hotel Sansui
Green World Hotel Sansui
#161 of 578 in Taipei
265 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santos Hotel
Santos Hotel
#111 of 578 in Taipei
426 reviews
0.1 mi away
K Hotel Taipei II
K Hotel Taipei II
#152 of 578 in Taipei
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel I Journey Taipei
Hotel I Journey Taipei
#150 of 578 in Taipei
47 reviews
0.3 mi away
Imperial Hotel Taipei
Imperial Hotel Taipei
#66 of 578 in Taipei
806 reviews
0.9 mi away
Just Sleep (Lin Sen)
Just Sleep (Lin Sen)
#12 of 578 in Taipei
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunroute Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunroute Hotel

Address: No.9 Section 1, Min-Chuan East Road, Taipei 104, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#63 Business Hotel in Taipei
Price Range: $67 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunroute Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Sunroute Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunroute Hotel Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing