We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very central, excellent service, but tired. OK for 4-star (just)”
Review of San Want Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Want Hotel
Ranked #100 of 573 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This hotel is located in downtown Taipei, in the middle of the premier shopping district, close to the subway. Location-wise, it cannot be surpassed. The service is excellent and fast. Breakfast is good, but the selection of western food relatively meager (especially bread and fruit). The rooms are spacious, the beds comfortable and big. Toiletries are ample and varied. What drags the hotel down a bit is that its decor is rather tired, and the bath/shower showing clear signs of age and wear and tear. The hotel is due for modernisation. Our Air-con was rather weak and a bit noisy, but we were lucky that the weather was fairly cool (Nov.). This could prove a problem in the summer. WiFi is free, though we found connection intermittent. Overall, a reasonable 4-star (at the lower end of this category)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikeleschziner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (582)
There are newer reviews for San Want Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

159 - 165 of 583 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed three nights in San Want last month when we visited Taiwan. The hotel is in a very convenient location. The subway station is just one block away. There are also very clear sign in the subway indicating the exit to the hotel. Many shops and good restaurants around, including Ding Tai Fong. As far as the room itself, I could only say it is an average room. Probably a three stars hotel, not even comparable to an average Holiday Inn or Hampton Inn level. The bath room tile had some mildew. The cleaning crew needs to pay more attention to it. We had a two queen beds room and it is very small. Wi-Fi was free but sometimes signal was weak. We had to ask serviceman to fix the router in our room. The front desk staffs were very helpful and serviceman very efficient. The staffs spoke fluent English and Japanese.
Breakfast was included in the room rate. The food was OK with many Chinese and Western choices, but nothing special. It is very easy to get good foods on the street in Taipei. If I had a choice I would rather explore different eating places than eating in the hotel every morning.
The registration was on the fourth floor and the first three floors were restaurants. We did not get a chance to try the restaurants but the menu looks good. The bakery down stair was very good. If you need gift to bring back home, the pineapple cake was one of the best after tasting several famous bakery stores.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orien2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Pros: Great staff, super friendly, speak fluent English, eager to help in every way. Free Want Want crackers and sweets, and tea in the lobby lounge all day. L'Occitane amenities and fluffy slippers. Hotel very near good restaurants, supermarket just across the park. Free wifi in hotel. Love the free fruit peeling service. They also prepared breakfast for one morning when we had to leave super early to catch a train.

Cons: Road works right outside the hotel for 2 months (I just returned after a 2 week stay and the road works just started) - a bit of noise (I could hear jack hammering from 9am on the 7th floor) and inconvenience because if you are arriving by cab, you have to stop behind the hotel. Rooms on the small side and towels a bit worn -- fraying at the sides. Location a bit far from subway station - about 800m (pleasant walk if not raining). Gym is but a store room - 2 treadmills, 1 cross trainer, 1 bicycle, and 1 stepper - closes at 9pm. The hotel is non smoking throughout but there's a perpetual smell of smoke in our room.

Conclusion: The staff make us want to return...

Room Tip: Pick room on high floor, away from elevator, facing the park.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SG_Travelbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We are10 nights here,very well located to shops,malls MRT Station.Upon arrival well greeted promptly dealt with.BUTour original room 1210 was VERY ordinary,upon advising them of the issues we were promptly moved ,but room was smaller ,but good for sleeping great bed .Hotel has buffet breakfast which is mainly Asian orientated and is very good for what is offered.Very friendly staff .STRONGLY suggest to book Deluxe Room if you like space.Would we stay again YES you should try its not "POSH" but worth a try

Room Tip: ch eaper rooms are small rooms with great beds,book deluxe for plenty of room
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dal15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed at the San Want Hotel for three days in October. Hotel is located on a busy street with many shops and eateries nearby. Plus the MRT station is like 10 steps away!

I reserved a deluxe suite, which has a separate living room. I checked in very late, as my flight arrived at 10:00pm local time, but my reserved room was still available and ready for me when I checked in.

Door man was always very nice when I came and went, always saying "ni hao"!

Front desk staff was very nice, and helped me in securing transportation back to TPE.

Room on 12th floor, faced the main street, but on the end and it was very quiet. The best part about the room: the bed. Yeah it was a little hard, but it was huge! Big bathroom with tub, shower and toilet all in same room, with a separate sink.

Not sure what people are talking about in regards to the old TVs, the TVs in my room were both flat screen and new. The decor was typical of a Chinese or Taiwanese hotel, not that big of a deal. If you're somewhere on vacation, why should it matter what the decor of your hotel room is?

Buffet breakfast was ok, I'm not much of a breakfast eater anyway, but there were a decent amount of choices. Fried egg, sausage, sandwiches, fruit, yogurt, juices.

Good hotel, great location, decent food choices. Recommend!

Oh and the bakery next door (go out, turn left, it's before you cross the street), is really good. The cheese garlic bread is delicious!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank goalie2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Had 2 nights here when staying in Taipei. The hotel is central and a 4 star meaning the breakfast was included with a buffet setting. The room i got when i arrived dident meet my standards, it was mold in the ceiling and i changed it quikly for a room that had clean air. Noe thing i have learned from travelling is to be more critical when it comes to what You par for. Mold is dangerous and should be avoided at all times. I asked for a room on the higher levels to have a better view and this i got when i came, the reception straff where vert friendly and helped me out when i needed guidens. Would go back here if i come back.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank gobystolsvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The hotel is in an excellent location [Taipei's dong-qu) and you have all your popular resturants such as dazzling cafe, dintaifung, shin-yeh etc around the area. The subway is maybe 10 steps to exit 4 and 20 steps to exit 3 of zhongxiao dunhua stop.

Hotel reception is located on the 4th floor of the building.

I enjoyed my stay in the hotel - the service was excellent from the conceige on the first floor, to the reception on the 4th floor. Nothing was too difficult for them. I had requested for them to make some last minute reservations to some very popular rest and they did it very willingly and when the slots are all taken up, they had assisted on some alternatives.

the downside was the hotel looks tired but the rooms are clean. Think they would do great with some renovations. The other thing is that if you are taking the airport bus from san want to Taoyuan airport, you would have to go one stop to zhongxiao fuxing.

ps they have an excellent rest on the 4th floor which i tried the previous time i was in taipei called sumie - very very nice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rentaplace22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Park Taipei Hotel
#61 of 573 in Taipei
657 reviews
Songshan District
Ambience Hotel
Ambience Hotel
#7 of 573 in Taipei
1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Want Residences
#19 of 573 in Taipei
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Want Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Want Hotel

Address: No.172 Section 4, Chung Hsiao East Road, Taipei 106, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 573 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range: $95 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — San Want Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your San Want Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Want Taipei
Hotel San Want
San Want Hotel Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing