We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“san want hotel”
Review of San Want Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Want Hotel
Ranked #106 of 582 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2013

i stayed in a 5 persons room, with 2 king size bed and a single bed in the room. room number is 1029. good location and veri friendly staff. lots of eateries and local mrt is jz outside the hotel. though inerior deocos outdated and need refurnish to keep up to date.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trudy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (609)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

199 - 205 of 609 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

Very nice hotel, not the most modern but very nice for the price. Staff was always very polite and helpful. Breakfast buffet was nice, and included in the rate of the room. Located near many shops, very convenient. Starbucks accross just in case.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frederic P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Probably thinking my rating is a but harsh but it's influenced by the fact that the hotel needs a facelift. It's acceptable in its present condition, my point is that they could do better.

Service is acceptable although trying to grab the attention of the staff at breakfast involves mind games and a need to waive endlessly, an no I wasn't wearing my Invisible Cape!

Location is fine and prices reflect good value for money

Happy I recommend but I leave the review as feedback for the owners that its time to make an investment!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I have traveled Taipei recently for an Auto show and stayed in this hotel.
The hotel is really very well located in the Taipei city which makes it convenient to move around within the city.
Nice hotel with well placed rooms.
The food in their restaurants are served to your taste though I had only breakfast there.
Overall its been good experience staying with them.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PradeepC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The hotel is, as other reviewers say, in a great location in the centre of the city on a major shopping street. It is also close to a Starbucks, Mcdonalds, iPhone store and next to a Metro station.

The hotel is dated and could do with a refurbishment. When you get to the lobby you are directed to the 4th floor where reception is located. The room I had was average.The room overlooked the main shopping street and I was kept wake at night by the noise and then woken at 4am by druken people in the street shouting and singing.

There is a lack of westerns TV channels. Clearly it does cater more for locals and I saw few westerners in the hotel.

Quality is average for the price. You can get better quality at a cheaper price elsewhere in the city. If you do not need to be in the centre I would suggest you avoid this hotel. I certainly will not return.

Room Tip: Insist on a room at the back of the hotel to avoid the noise of traffic and drunks on ther main road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nemo149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed here for our Taiwan trip. The hotel is a bit dated but still one of the best maintained in Taipei. The location was perfect as just below is the Metro station and just across and on the sides are some quality brand shops. Also nearby are food shops like the famous Din Tai Fung. The rooms are spacious and the breakfast is good as well. The staff is very helpful and will assist you with almost anything. Overall and so far, this is my favorite hotel in Taipei.

Room Tip: get a room facing the front for a good view of Zhongziao st.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael_Asombrado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is in a great location in downtown Taipei, and the rooms are a pretty good size. I wouldn't say that they cater to "westerners", but enough people speak english there, so you'll be fine. The free breakfast buffet was good as well.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gavin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Park Taipei Hotel
#60 of 582 in Taipei
679 reviews
Songshan District
Ambience Hotel
Ambience Hotel
#6 of 582 in Taipei
1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taipei Garden Hotel
#22 of 582 in Taipei
1,803 reviews
Caesar Park Taipei
#102 of 582 in Taipei
1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Want Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Want Hotel

Address: No.172 Section 4, Chung Hsiao East Road, Taipei 106, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 582 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range: $70 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — San Want Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your San Want Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Want Taipei
Hotel San Want
San Want Hotel Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing