We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love their quad deluxe room”
Review of San Want Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Want Hotel
Ranked #123 of 587 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2012

My relatives and i stayed in two quad sharing rooms, i was pleasantly surprised to learn that its actually two rooms that were opened up into one room, so it is quite spacious, with one king bed and one queen bed, more than enough for the four of us. With four persons sharing one room, it is more fun, that is, if u dont mind the 4 of you sharing one toilet :)

I read some negative reviews abt this hotel, like having a musty smell since they dont have non smoking floors, luckily we didnt experience it. And also the hotel being quite old and tired, well, it may not be new, but it is well maintained, so it wasnt a problem for me. One local travel agency told me their clients complained that San Want has small rooms, i think that is if you get the economy room, i saw in the pictures it indeed looked quite small and very basic.

As others have already said, their location is really great, with Uniqlo, Net, Esprit, Aldo, Zara and other shops just a few steps from the hotel, and lots of eateries nearby, the back alley, has small cozy cafes that lined the street, really so many choices, so little time to try everything. Not to mention the MRT right outside the hotel, you can easily explore taipei city.

Overall, i would say i am very satisfied with my stay at San Want, at 183 US dollars for the quad deluxe room, the price is a steal. It may not be a five star hotel, but i dont care, i cant afford a 5star hotel anyway, so i will definitely stay here again when i go back to taiwan.

Room Tip: Choose the quad deluxe if u r at least 4 pax. It has the best rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jnsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (622)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

221 - 227 of 622 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

What a great experience. This hotel is in a primo location, so close to many great restaurants and shops. Room was cosy and clean only downside was that the bed was a little hard and duvet thin. Staff were all extremely friendly and efficient throughout (reception, doormen, housekeeping, bar and restaurants). I couldn't have been more relaxed and comfortable throughout my stay. My first and hopefully not last visit to Taipei, such a great city which has stole my heart! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Global_Gatherer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

over all very good hotel.

centrally located close to almost every thing.

there are few Indian restaurent, mc donald and KFC for the non oriantal food.

rooms are excellent.

24 hour tea and coffee available.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deepakk1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The hotel is bit shabby. the towerls and bath robe are old and damaged.

The rooms are full of funny smell, may be because they don't have non-smoking floor.

I will say that they are over-priced and this price range, it shall have some other better choice in Taipei.

However I must say that the staff are friendly and efficiency, they will try their best to help you. The location of hotel is good, MRT exit is right outside the hotel (But Taipei is a small city, most of the hotel enjoy easy accessible location and direct access to MRT)

Also the buffet breakfast is good, but you have wait for a while for a table.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllieChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I had booked this hotel for 8 friends and family that were visiting, so please note I did not personally stay here. However, I was in and out of this hotel on a daily basis for 5 days throughout their stay and here are my thoughts:
1. staff is great. they are friendly, extremely helpful and really just 5 star service
2. location is awesome. you can get a cab within seconds at any time of the day and the MRT is just less than a minute walk away. There are tons of restaurants, street vendors and shopping as soon as you step out the door. You really can't get any more convenient than this
3. it's very obvious that this hotel is O-L-D. While the price, location and staff make up for its aging appearance, I did notice that the hotel and the rooms had a musty smell, or was it cigarette smell? I wasn't sure. Pillows were flat, double bed rooms had twin size beds, but again, it is convenient.

I wouldn't mind staying here myself, but I also would not mind paying a bit more for a nicer hotel in the same location.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank im-missjenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed there recently for work. I have to say that the staff are just lovely. The hotel is really old though and in a desperate need of an upgrade. The breakfast is very basic. The bar is very small. I was with seven other colleagues and we basically filled the bar. I can't recall the barmans name, but he was fantastic.

The hotel is in a great location, but I would only stay there if they upgraded their rooms.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
Thank Welltravelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Near Sogo and MRT station. Easy to hail a cab. Rooms are reasonable, breakfast is decent and service is good. The layout of the hotel is a bit odd with reception on the 4th floor and breakfast on the ground floor. There is a gym on the top floor. Perfectly adequate tourist hotel.

Room Tip: Inner rooms face an atrium but are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arwin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Park Taipei Hotel
#57 of 587 in Taipei
699 reviews
Songshan District
Ambience Hotel
Ambience Hotel
#8 of 587 in Taipei
1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taipei Garden Hotel
#18 of 587 in Taipei
1,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Want Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Want Hotel

Address: No.172 Section 4, Chung Hsiao East Road, Taipei 106, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 587 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range: $99 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — San Want Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Fastbooking, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your San Want Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Want Taipei
Hotel San Want
San Want Hotel Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing