We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very budget and old hotel”
Review of Paradise Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Paradise Hotel
Ranked #442 of 573 Hotels in Taipei
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Be sure to book their new wing! I didn't know about their new wing before i booked so i stayed 2 nights in their old wing. Staffs weren't inviting and my room was old but still forcibly alright as there's still basic cleanliness. Just be sure to hold on to the flush of the toilet bowl long enough for everything could be cleared. Sounds of people flushing in rooms upstairs mine could be heard when i was in bed, so it'll be good if you aren't a light sleeper. Location is also forcibly alright if you like Ximending area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iamanadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (340)
There are newer reviews for Paradise Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 32 of 340 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2013

This hotel is located in the outskirts of the popular ximengding (西门町) in Taipei. Stayed for 5 nights. Rooms are small and kind of not so well equipped. There are no extra power sockets for charging your electronic devices and/or cameras. You have to disconnect one of the appliances in the room in order to get a free power socket to your charging. Flat screen TV and fridge are provided in the room but the bed is too small to accommodate 2 and the best thing is they have extra charge for rooms with twin sharing beds!! Breakfast is provided but not much of changes everyday. Breakfast hours ends at 9.30 a.m., which is a bit early. Hotel location is not very superb and it takes about 10 mins to the nearest ximen(西门) MRT station (捷运站).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mark_wang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

to be honest, the hotel is pretty old. I'd bet that it's even older than my grandmother. The rooms need a revamp, and so are the bathroom. Though the room maintains basic cleanliness, there is always a lingering smell of musk.

The decoration is pretty dodgy, a lot of romanesque statues alongside chinese characters, and the staffs are always sullen with blank stares. I swear i felt as if i am staying in a hotel ran by chinese triads. If this hotel is running for the gangster hotel theme, it would certainly win an accolade if there is one. Breakfast isn't that fantastic, standard taiwanese fare, meaning you get sour veg, boiled egg and porridge.

Even with the minus points i listed above, there is 2 good reasons why you will come to this hotel. First it is close to ximending, which is literally just a stone's throw away from the hotel you can always ask the staff for directions, though sullen looking they are, they will help you as long as you speak basic chinese. There are some staff who can speak english barely, so you hafta bear with it. The second reason, IT IS CHEAP. FOR A HOTEL CLOSE TO XIMENDING. if you're on a budget, go for this hotel. I think that's why tour groups love to use this hotel as well. Beware, mornings can be quite crowdy thanks to them.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We booked 3 rooms and stayed 3 nights here from 24 to 27 Dec2012. Rooms are clean and comfortable. But are not sufficiently sound proof. We could hear very clear TVs sound from other rooms till 1am! Free breakfast provided but not much choices, the food is the same on all 3 days that we stayed.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TMH232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Their lobby area are nicely renovated BUT the rooms are not ! some rooms without windows and most of the rooms are very small and not well equipted. Some rooms air cond not so strong and I remember when we made our first trip in June/July, the lobby no air cond, they on the fans ( probably they were having renovation that time) wow ! the rooms are then hot like burning. Breakfast not much variety. counter staffs not very friendly. location quite fine.

Room Tip: not recommended.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Princess090612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is a very old hotel and it is undergoing renovation
Rooms are small, very old and odd layout. It is just a 2 star hotel, breakfast at basement which is worse than our hawker centre in Singapore. The lobby look accepted but do not being deceived until check into the room. TV is not the plasma but the old bulky model
Amenities is minimal, please bring your own

Room Tip: Try to book other hotel
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

The hotel is situated just outside of Taipei’s 西門町 and the train stations. We liked the location of the hotel as it is not noisy and conveniently located near major shops and eateries.

The rooms are small and most of its fixtures are dated. The toilets are clean but old. It is a place for easy-going travelers seeking purely for a good night sleep. The television reception is average but surprisingly, it has a long list of programmes (free-to-air and cable channels) for a small hotel.

Frontline staff are friendly and helpful. They are very patient in explaining/guiding hotel guests to various destinations.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Sylviagckoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
1.5 mi away
VIP Hotel
VIP Hotel
#333 of 573 in Taipei
116 reviews
1.3 mi away
Emperor Hotel
Emperor Hotel
#210 of 573 in Taipei
166 reviews
1.8 mi away
Leofoo Hotel Taipei
Leofoo Hotel Taipei
#190 of 573 in Taipei
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Unite Hotel
Unite Hotel
#253 of 573 in Taipei
61 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Metro Hotel
The Metro Hotel
#359 of 573 in Taipei
56 reviews
1.5 mi away
First Hotel
First Hotel
#307 of 573 in Taipei
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Hotel

Address: No.24 Xining South Road | Wanhua District, Taipei, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #442 of 573 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range: $49 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Paradise Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Paradise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Hotel Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing