We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wait for a Good Show”
Review of Fine Arts Museum

Fine Arts Museum
Ranked #47 of 566 things to do in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The twentieth-century collection housed at this art museum nestles chronologically between the ancient works in the National Palace Museum and the new works in the Institute of Contemporary Arts.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The permanent collection is a real mixed bag. So strange to see such masterful stuff on the wall next to clumsy looking student art. How great your visit is here will depend on what's showing.

Thank Aaron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

122 - 126 of 260 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2012

I've visited this museum twice now during visits to Taipei, and while it is fairly small, as other reviewers have noted, the quality of the changing exhibits is very high and I always find some interesting items here. It is very inexpensive (NTD30), and besides the musueum itself, there is a lovely park area surrounding the museum as well, which is a very nice place to pass the time in good weather.

Thank lovinglifeinasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

The museum itself is neither here nor there, just a plain shell for the art it houses. We loved the Ai Wei Wei exhibit with installations and photographs of Ai and his artist friends taken over several decades. Museum entry is free (except for special exhibits).

Thank MakiWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

After reading a book review of this Museum, my wife & I were eager to visit but, unfortunately, found only a limited number of exhibits. The top floor was inaccessible due, we presumed, to a future exhibition being assembled, leaving only 2 floors & the basement. The most interesting exhibits for us were the 'Circle of Animal/Zodiac Heads' in the Lobby & Ai Weiwei Absent, where 'Forever Bicycles' - a display piece of more than 1,000 bicycles standing 10 metres high, was outstanding. Unfortunately, we found little of interest in the photographic exhibition that was on display at the time, while the basement is largely devoted to a cafe & several shops.

1  Thank Agfox46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

For the past 2 years I visited Taiwan every few months. One of the reason was the exhibitions held at this Museum.

Transportation - the Museum is easily accessible by underground train (Yuan Shan Station) and then 10-15 minutes walk. During exhibitions they even provided shuttle bus from Yuan Shan bus terminal ouside the station to the museum, although infrequent.

Fee - Admission is free-of-charge. A fee will be charged for special exhibitions such as paintings of Monet or other masterpieces.

Exhibitions - We've travelled a long way from Hong Kong and paid visits to paintings of artists, the latest being Monet (april 2011), Gauguin (february 2011), Manet /Picasso etc (august 2010) etc. Given the money that we paid for the flight tickets and hotel accommodation, we considered the trip to Taipei Fine Art Museum super value for money. Few of the Art Museums in Asia would hold so many exhbitions of the masters at such frequency. Other exhibitions/seminars on art (local artists) are also worth a visit.

Souvenirs - Plenty of exhibition related souvenirs at very reasonable price on sale at the venue.

Coffee Shop - the coffee shop is comparable to a canteen which serve bread, snacks and beverages. Not too artistic in any sense.

Taiwan is doing very well in the promotion of art and culture. We will continue to support the Taipei Art Museum.

3  Thank Bunnysnaky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fine Arts Museum also viewed

 

Been to Fine Arts Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing