We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location with excellent accessibility to transportation and shopping”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cosmos Hotel Taipei
Ranked #39 of 571 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Location with excellent accessibility to transportation and shopping”
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

This is my 2nd stay in Cosmos and came with my family this time round. We booked a family room and it was more spacious than I expected. I requested and was given room located at one corner of high floor, so it was pleasant and quiet.

Breakfast was good but can get very crowded after 830am and you might be asked to dine with other guests on a big round table.

The hotel is very accessible (Exit M3 from taipei main station) to the transportation and shopping hub and would recommend to families with young children.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank skyebread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmosGuestRelations, 業者 at Cosmos Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear skyebread,

Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to post your review. I am thrilled that our superb location and the comfortable room met your expectation. There is no doubt that our location is a wonderful benefit for our guests and I am very glad that you were able to see much of Taipei during your stay.

I would like to apology for the inconvenience caused regarding the breakfast. Also, thank you for your comment so that we have the opportunity to improve this issue. Your comment will be taken seriously by our management team. Guest’s feedback is extremely important to us as we constantly strive to offer our valued guests the excellent service.

We look forward to giving you a new memorable experience next time and also hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Tseng
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,668
    1,264
    192
    20
    8
See reviews for
1,443
540
254
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed in Cosmos hotel 7 nights in early Dec. The hotel is very conveniently situated very near the Taipei Metro station. The M3 entrance to the Metro station is less than 2 min walk from hotel without the need to cross any roads. As the Taipei Metro station is linked to the Taipei High speed railway station and the Taipei Train station, the hotel's close proximity to the station thus gives easy access to the 3 types of transport systems - metro, high speed railway (HSR) and normal railway (TRA). Not only that, the few underground shopping streets linked to the Taipei Metro station meant that shopping and dining is very convenient. Although there is no shuttle service from the airport to the hotel, a short 50min - 1h bus ride on bus no. 1819 will bring you to the bus stop outside Taipei Train station from where the hotel is easily visible and within walking distance. Besides the good location, the hotel is very well furbished despite being one of the older hotels in the area. The rooms are very spacious, even for the triple sharing that my family booked, and the staff are friendly. All the modern facilities such as TV (that has a very wide range of channels), safe and wifi were available in the room. The WIFI is sometimes unstable, but I have encountered worse connectivity problems in other hotels, so I find Cosmos' WIFI still satisfactory. Lastly, our booking also included daily breakfast buffet that has quite a good spread (mainly Western, Chinese and Japanese dishes) and generally delicious. We particularly liked the porridge . To conclude, for the location, facilities and service, this hotel is definitely a good one to book. If I should visit Taipei again, I will book this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeZhiying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmosGuestRelations, 業者 at Cosmos Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear LeeZhiying,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience during your stay. It is wonderful to hear that you liked the location and overall feel of our hotel. That is exactly our promise to the guests, from service to amenities and product.

Thank you for listing all of the amazing nearby locations—we hope it helps future travelers who may not know the city quite as well. The limousine service from hotel to airport is provided. You could book it at tour counter. Regarding the WIFI’s connection, you could borrow the router which can make the signal stronger at reception. We are also delighted that our breakfast and staff service met your expectation

Once again, We appreciate you writing such a great review and sincerely hope we have the opportunity to serve you again when you return to Taipei.

Sincerely,

Kevin Tseng
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Stayed here summer last year, and i had a great experience. I really love the location, it's right next to Taipei Main Station. Very convenient for you who travel depending on public transportation. Something i can't forget is the buffet for breakfast was full with all kind of foods. Only finished the half of it. I also love the design, very bright with the red and gold scheme.
I will go back here next time I visit Taipei.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gentur W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmosGuestRelations, 業者 at Cosmos Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear Gentur W,

Thank you for your comment regarding your stay at our hotel. I appreciate your kind comments regarding our abundant breakfast. We will continue to add new diverse style of food in order to satisfy the needs of customers.

Our location as you mentioned is extremely convenient; with easy access to all of the shopping mall and sightseeing. Once again, thank you for your high recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back to Cosmos Hotel.

Sincerely,

Kevin Tseng
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed in Cosmos hotel for 6 nights from late Nov to early Dec 2013 and travelling aound the hotel is really great as it is located at a very convenient location with great food and shops. The Taipei Main Stn is where you have all the other trains connection from MRT, TSR and TRA so the location is Excellent! Service from the front desk staff is great and they seems to be very helpful to all their guests.
Breakfast is always packed and for 2 occassions, we have to share tables with another family.

The walls are thin and there is lots of noise generated in the nearby rooms and whenever people pass by the room.
Overall is a very nice hotel to stay and will definitely book again when I visit taipei the next time round.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgitan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmosGuestRelations, 業者 at Cosmos Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Georgitan,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Cosmos hotel and for taking the time to share your feedback. I am thrilled that you are satisfied with our convenient location and also thank you for your kind comments regarding our front desk team and their efforts to ensure you have a memorable experience.

I also apologize that you were inconvenienced regarding the breakfast and the wall of room. We gladly welcome both positive and constructive feedback. I have noted your suggestions and will share them with our management team as the opportunities for improvement.

We certainly hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Tseng
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Stayed in Cosmos Hotel from 6 - 8 Dec. It was a pretty standard hotel, with comfortable and clean rooms. The best part is its location, which is right next to Taipei Main Station. From here, you can access most of the sights in Taipei via MRT. It is also really convenient if you are taking the High Speed Rail to Taipei, and immediately getting off to go to your hotel, it's great that it's just next door!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darthfurbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmosGuestRelations, 業者 at Cosmos Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Darthfurbz,

I really enjoyed reading your comment and can not thank you enough for sharing such a positive review.

I am pleased that you are satisfied with our convenient location and comfortable room. We always welcome feedback as it helps us continue to strive for excellence.

We look forward to welcoming you back again and hopefully it will be in the near future.

Kevin Tseng
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Traveling around the hotel is great, it's located at a very convenient place, next to Taipei Main Station. Staffs are friendly and provide good service. Their restaurant is also very crowded during breakfast, thus they often run out of coffee cups etc.
However for families traveling with small children if you wish to share bed with your child, do opt for 2 single bed, as they double bed is really very small. Double bed room is also much smaller than 2 single bed room.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank trizia68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmosGuestRelations, 業者 at Cosmos Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear trizia68,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed the convenient location and service. Your feedback is very much appreciated and helps us to continue maintaining our efforts to offer every guest an wonderful stay.

Also, I would like to thank you for informing us of the issue regarding the bed size and the restaurant for breakfast you've encountered so that we can improve it. Your feedback will be placed in our future remodeling .

I do hope to welcome you back to our hotel when your next trip to Taipei.

Sincerely,

Kevin Tseng
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

The Cosmos is a good hotel in a great location. Everything is conveniently within 5 - 10 mins walk away, be it the Taipei Main Station, Taipei Bus Station, Shin Kong Mitsukoshi (新光三越) or 7-11. In fact, you can access the Taipei Main Station using the M3 underpass entrance which is just next to the hotel. It can't get any better than that!

We booked a quad-sharing "Family Room" and I must say that the room quality is good, beds are extremely comfortable, and it gives that cosy "home away from home" type of feeling. Bathroom amenities are refreshed daily. Housekeeping standards are also very high, and we came back to a clean and tidy room, something which we appreciate very much after a tiring day out.

Breakfast was on level 3, and because of the hotel's popularity, the place gets really crowded very quickly. We ended up having to share tables with other guests on a few occasions. Food variety was ok, we had a choice of bread, pastries, porridge, noodles (fried or freshly cooked), dim sum etc. Do note that the toaster heating your bread is set at low heat, so if you want to have your bread toasted well, you need to run it by at least twice. I tried to adjust the heat, but nothing came out of it. Another thing to look our for is the egg counter. The chefs will by default, serve all eggs sunny side up. You have to specifically inform the chef if you like your egg scrambled. And oh, the scrambled eggs come plain, unlike other hotels, where you can have your choice of ingredients. I mentioned earlier that the breakfast room gets crowded very quickly, hence, refills of food items, cups, plates and cutlery can be a little slow sometimes. Not a big issue for my family personally as start our breakfast early at 7.30am. However, for those who came in after 8.30am, food became rather scarce.

Service levels are excellent. The first room which we were assigned had some electrical problems on day 3, and after we complained about it, the hotel immediately assigned a second room to us. All done efficiently and without fuss.

Overall, the Comos is an excellent choice for anyone staying in Taipei, and it will be on my first choice for any future visits.

Room Tip: 1) Ask for a newly renovated room, and preferably with window 2) The ice cream cafe serves really g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 253SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmosGuestRelations, 業者 at Cosmos Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear 253SA,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor and give us such a detailed and constructive comment.

First of all, I am glad that our location and service as well as comfortable room met your expectation. It is our pleasure to ensure your stay is comfortable and memorable.
I also sincerely appreciate your constructive comments regarding the breakfast. Your comment have been shared with our management team so we can take the corrective measures c to improve it.

Once again, thank you for your detailed review and look forward to welcoming you back to the Cosmos Hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Tseng
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Caesar Park Taipei
#95 of 571 in Taipei
1,478 reviews
Taipei Garden Hotel
#23 of 571 in Taipei
1,558 reviews
Songshan District
Ambience Hotel
Ambience Hotel
#7 of 571 in Taipei
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palais de Chine Hotel
#44 of 571 in Taipei
1,511 reviews
Just Sleep Ximending
#24 of 571 in Taipei
1,141 reviews
Hotel Relax 2
#38 of 571 in Taipei
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmos Hotel Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmos Hotel Taipei

Property: Cosmos Hotel Taipei
Address: No.43 Section 1, Zhongxiao West Road, Zhongzheng Dist, Taipei 100, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 571 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cosmos Hotel Taipei 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1979, Taipei Cosmos Hotel is located right next to the M3 Exit of Taipei Main Station and has a great geological advantage as it is a transport hub where MRT (Mass Rapid Transportation), THSR (Taiwan High Speed Rail), Taiwan Railway, bus, and public transportation meet. Dedicated in offering friendly, thoughtful and professional services for many years, Cosmos Hotel Taipei is preferred by international tourists and businessmen and a designated gathering place for many organizations and agencies with its stable and committed food and beverage quality. Tourists or businessmen will feel right at home while staying at the Cosmos Hotel Taipei. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Priceline, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cosmos Hotel Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing