We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cosmos Hotel Taipei
Ranked #35 of 578 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 5, 2013

As commented by others, location is excellent. Train main Station, Bus Main station and MRT are all within walking station. MRT exit 7 is less than 30 meters away from the hotel. Hotel staff are attentive and service is superb. Generally, the hotel staff service are above average making our stay a very pleasant one. From Taoyuan airport, for the 4 of us, we paid NT$1,000 to the hotel and the cab driver said he will charge us NT$800 for the return trip to Taoyuan airport. Bus would be NT$150per pax one way.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seekingadvice2410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmosGuestRelations, 業者 at Cosmos Hotel Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Dear seekingadvice2410,

Thank you for choosing the Cosmos Hotel and for taking the time to write a review. It is wonderful to hear about the incredible service that you received from our team members during your stay. I am also glad to hear that you enjoyed our superb location. Our goal is make every guest joyful and pleasant during their stay at the Cosmos Hotel. We are honored to provide you with accommodations that did not disappoint.

We appreciate you writing such a great review and sincerely hope we have the opportunity to serve you again when you return to Taipei.

Sincerely,

Kevin Tseng
Guest Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,386)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

741 - 747 of 3,386 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights
The breakfast have a good spread but after 3 days we realised we are eating almost the same thing every day
It is crowded almost every day as they were fully booked and that food run out very fast but the staff will be so busy clearing the tables so the food take a long time to get replenish especially when your come down at 9am though breakfast end 945am
The aircon in the room is abit on the cold side n though can be adjusted but make no difference at all That means the aircon is not HOT enough
Love the heated toilet bowl very much But the ceiling in the bathroom is on the low side so do take note if your are a TALL person
Staff are friendly and helpful espcially the housekeeping department
Location is very convienient n easy access for free and easy tourist like us
Overall will come back again and do hope they will change their breakfast menu more often !

Room Tip: IF you stay on the higher floor (eg 16th floor) do be prepared that the lift will stop almost at eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CuteCuteMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmosGuestRelations, 業者 at Cosmos Hotel Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear CuteCuteMommy,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comment. I'm very sorry you had a disappointing experience about the breakfast and air conditioner during your stay and I have addressed these issues with our management team. Thank you for informing us of the issue you've encountered. Exceptional guest service is the foundation of our promise and your feedback will help us improve.

Also, I am thrilled that you enjoyed our location, and our friendly staffs made you feel comfortable. We truly value our guest and strive to meet the needs of each individual.
Thank you again for your review and we hope you will consider staying with us again.

Sincerely,

Kevin Tseng
Guest Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed at Cosmos Hotel for 7 nights on the 8th floor. The room was very roomy and the beds are comfortable. The hotel is right next to the MRT and Taipei train station which makes daily commute super easy. The bus station to the Taoyuan Airport is also about 8 minutes walk from the hotel. There are many restaurants in the train station and if you are into shopping, the MTR has underground shopping. The hotel staff are friend. We did not use their service for sighting suggestions so can't comment on that. I did have couple email communications with them and every time they replied promptly. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveling B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmosGuestRelations, 業者 at Cosmos Hotel Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Dear iting,

Thank you very much for taking the time to complete your review after your recent stay at the Cosmos Hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our great location, comfort of the room as well as the friendly staff. It was precise and inspired us to keep striving on great service and going that extra mile to make sure that our guests are happy.

Thank you for your recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Tseng
Guest Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

There is many of this type of hotels in TPE, 3 star bit dated but well maitain..but this one definately has one of the best location.. if you travel often to TWN, you know how covenience is to be located near a MRT -This one actually is next to the Taipei Main Station-quick access to HSR too. You are surround by shops , restaurants and near mayor attractions in TPE. The room are smaller size( they did upgrade me to a room with living room..still consider small, the decorations and furniture already went though their glory days but is cleam and well maintained, the bathroom well equipted but tinny (ceiling bit too low). The staff are very friendly and attentive, room rate is well priced for the location and quality of the hotel. This is a good choice for any traveler with budget in mind.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MALIAC88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmosGuestRelations, 業者 at Cosmos Hotel Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear MALIAC88,

Thank you for staying with us on your trip to Taipei. We appreciate you taking the time to share your great feedback. I am glad that our location and great service impressed you.

As you mentioned in the comment, our location allows every guest quick access to the airport and other area attractions as well as being walking distance to restaurants and other services in Taipei city and our staff strives to welcome all our guests and show our appreciation.

Also, I appreciate for your suggestion about the room. I’ve noted your comment as opportunities for improvement. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Taipei

Sincerely,

Kevin Tseng
Guest Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

The room which i shared with my friend though small but cosy and comfortable. The housekeeping department of the hotel has done a very good job! Every evening we came back, the room was kept very nice especially the bathroom. I will defintely come back to this hotel again.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Alesha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmosGuestRelations, 業者 at Cosmos Hotel Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear Alesha L,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Cosmos Hotel. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your room, and also I am delighted that you were satisfied with the housekeeping department. Our main objective is to create wonderful memories for our guests.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the Cosmos Hotel in the future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Tseng
Guest Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed in a double double bed room during our stay at Cosmos. Having read previous review I specifically requested for a Central Station facing room which turned out to have an a reasonable view of Taipei city.
The hotel location was superb. Next to the Taipei main MRT which runs the normal train, as well as HSR and also buses. This allowed us to conveniently travel to other Taipei cities for 1 day tours, such as Sun Moon Lake and Hualien for Tarako Gorge. The ground floor of the MRT has heaps of cakes and dessert shops. The Breeze at first floor also has many places to eat including both food courts and proper dining.
In term of the hotel itself, although decor dated, it is actually kept quite clean. All staff was extra friendly, from the cleaning staff, concierge to the manager.
Now to the negatives:
The bed was hard but not at all that bad as other reviewers have complained.
Buffet breakfast - I only tried breakfast one morning and decided to eat elsewhere for the rest of my stays. It was that ordinary. The dim sum tasted like frozen types reheated. Other foods was also not so good. The orange juice was not fresh. We did not try the Jade restaurant after that experience. However the good thing about Taipei is you can get very good food everywhere and also cheaper.
REALLY MUSTY SMELL - The hotel has a very unpleasant musty smell. It gets worse in the room. I suspect maybe because of the old carpets or dampness of the place. We had to buy deodorant to try to get rid of the smell and it was still there. Maybe the staff are used to it but for new guests I am sure the smell is very apparent. The hotel management should consider treatment of this musty smell as it can be bad for guests health.
However on a brighter note, the staff are very well trained and their friendliness is the best!

Room Tip: As for MRT facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lvan888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmosGuestRelations, 業者 at Cosmos Hotel Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear lvan888,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We love hearing about the things you enjoyed, and we also really appreciate you letting us know about the things that went wrong, so we can improve them.

First of all, I am glad that you enjoyed the hotel’s location and thank you for listing all of the amazing nearby locations—we hope it helps future travelers who may not know the city quite as well!

Aslo, I am thrilled that the service of our staffs impressed you. We strives on great service and going that extra mile to make sure that our guests are happy.

Otherwise, please accept my sincere apologize for the problem you encountered with the musty smell and breakfast. Your comment is very important to us and it will be reviewed by the management team. Please know that we sincerely care about the experiences our guests have, and we hope to host you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Tseng
Guest Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Location: Excellent. Just a few steps beside Taipei Main Station, and a few streets away from train station. Food is conveniently located nearby, 7-11, MCD, local taiwan breakfast, restaurants, plenty of food options within 5 mins walk.

Room: Decent size. Clean and good for couple or family stays. During reservations, do indicate if you need extra bed because certain room sizes are not able to accommodate extra bed. One really drawback is the hairdryer - while I do not require a professional hairdryer, I will imagine a hairdryer that wouldn't keep stopping every 2 mins is fitful of such a hotel. When I called front desk, they response is that the hair dryer overheated and will resume once it cools off. It felt like they didn't think that it is an inconvenience. It took me more than 5 minutes to dry my shoulder length hair, which feels quite absurd.

Internet: Free wifi BUT feels like none. It appears as a secured network and need password to access but each time we try to connect, it's a weak signal and drops off every 30sec. Both secured and open network are weak signals. Perpetually nil access. It was frustrating.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cryst_clear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmosGuestRelations, 業者 at Cosmos Hotel Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Dear cryst_clear,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with the feedback about your stay with us. I am very disappointed to learn that your stay was less than excepted. Please accept my sincere apologies for the unpleasant experience you had.

We apologize for not providing you with a memorable stay because of the issue regarding the hairdryer and WIFI connection in your room. Our guests’ comfort is very important to us and I’m sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. Your constructive comment give us a opportunity for improvement. I will be sure to share your comment with the management team involved. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the Cosmos Hotel in the future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Tseng
Guest Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Caesar Park Taipei
#97 of 578 in Taipei
1,532 reviews
Taipei Garden Hotel
#23 of 578 in Taipei
1,653 reviews
Songshan District
Ambience Hotel
Ambience Hotel
#5 of 578 in Taipei
1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palais de Chine Hotel
#39 of 578 in Taipei
1,673 reviews
Just Sleep Ximending
#16 of 578 in Taipei
1,306 reviews
Hotel Relax I
#49 of 578 in Taipei
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmos Hotel Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmos Hotel Taipei

Address: No 43 Section 1, Zhongxiao West Road | Zhongzheng Dist, Taipei 100, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 578 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range: $110 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cosmos Hotel Taipei 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1979, Taipei Cosmos Hotel is located right next to the M3 Exit of Taipei Main Station and has a great geological advantage as it is a transport hub where MRT (Mass Rapid Transportation), THSR (Taiwan High Speed Rail), Taiwan Railway, bus, and public transportation meet. Dedicated in offering friendly, thoughtful and professional services for many years, Cosmos Hotel Taipei is preferred by international tourists and businessmen and a designated gathering place for many organizations and agencies with its stable and committed food and beverage quality. Tourists or businessmen will feel right at home while staying at the Cosmos Hotel Taipei. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cosmos Hotel Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing