We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“80% satisfaction”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cosmos Hotel Taipei
Ranked #39 of 571 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Malaysia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“80% satisfaction”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Plus points - location, cleanliness, reasonable rates, lovely oriental ambience, friendly, helpful, nice open air rooftop view, reliable laundry service quality.

Minus points - bathroom ceiling too low, boring buffet breakfast menu, not too 'English-speaking' concierge, rather small lobby, no pool, gym is too basic.

Overall, we don't mind to be back but, if Cosmos' rates be increased, we will definitely go for other hotels' of the same quality but newer hotels ! It's not a problem getting alternatives.

Room Tip: rooms facing Taipei Main Station
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigjewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmosGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Cosmos Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear valuable guest, dear bigjewel,

thank you for taking the time to review your last stay with us at Cosmos Hotel.
We are glad to receive your complete and precised opinion regarding the different good and less good assets of your experience.
The different elements you have underlined have been sent to the adequate departments for inspection and improvments in order to make your next stay with us a 100% satisfaction experience!

On behalf of the entire staff of Cosmos Hotel, I wish you a great time back home!

Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,081 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,630
    1,234
    188
    20
    8
See reviews for
1,410
528
247
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
manila, phil
Level Contributor
217 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Hotel location is very important when travelling so we were very pleased that Cosmos Hotel allowed us easy access to the places we wanted to visit. We took a bus from the airport and got down behind the hotel. The M3 exit of the MRT Taipei Main Station is right beside the hotel.

We got the deluxe family room which was quite spacious compared to other hotel rooms. Toiletries were of good quality. Bed and pillows were okay too. Free Wi-fi was available in the rooms.

The hotel staff was very helpful. They helped us plan our sight-seeing, telling us which trains to take, what exits to use, what restaurants to check out. Especially helpful were Lydia, Gilles and Kiki, although all of them were very friendly and eager to help.

Buffet breakfast was included in the room price. It was made up of the usual buffet breakfast spreads found in most hotels.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay in Cosmos Hotel. If we find ourselves in Taipei again, we would certainly go back there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gafrancomd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmosGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Cosmos Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear valuable guest, dear gafrancomd,

we are delighted to read that you and your family has an enjoyable stay in Cosmos Hotel.
The deluxe family quad room is indeed very convenient for families looking for staying in the same room while keeping some privacy.
On behalf of the entire staff of the hotel, I would ike to thank you for the nice comments regarding our service!
I wish you a great time back home and we are all looking forward to welcoming you soon!

Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
94 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The appearance of the hotel Cosmos in Taipei is more oriented to the Chinese taste rather then the Western one. Lot of shiny surfaces are welcoming you when entering the lobby.
Staff is very friendly and service minded. We arrived one day later then foreseen due to a cancelled flight. I did send them a notice not to cancel my booking, which they confirmed promptly. When arriving , I had to pay for the night I did not use but did get an upgrade.
Rooms are spacey and comfortable with everything available to get a good & quiet night sleep. Also here a lot of bling bling.
Breakfast provides a lot of choice… if you like Chinese food in the morning. Otherwise, choice is too limited and what’s available is dry and tasteless.
The major unique selling point of the hotel is the location, just next to the Taipei main train station and with a subway entrance just next to the hotel.
In summary, it’s not a top end hotel but I would recommend it if you want a decent hotel to explore Taipei and further on Taiwan and don’t want to spend top money. If you want a better breakfast, a even more luxury and/or the boss is paying, I would suggest to go for an extra star.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christof V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmosGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Cosmos Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear valuable guest, dear ccverb0100,

thank you for reviewing your last experience with us at Cosmos Hotel - Taipei!
First of all, we are glad to read that you apprecied ou were satisfied with the room you received. Also, your nice comments regarding our staff attitude and effectiveness are a great motivation for all of us at Cosmos Hotel.
Regarding the breakfast, I have passed your feedback to the department in charge for direct improvments as we are doing our best to provide as much choice for both western and eastern tastebuds.
On behalf of the entire staff of the hotel, I wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
301 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We were delighted when the Hotel upgraded us from a standard twin room to a suite.
The suite room is tastefully furnished. We love the chandalier in the living room.
We felt very relaxed and decided to spent more time in the hotel room rather than shopping aimlessly around.
Hotel serves a wide spread of international breakfast - salad, waffle, different types of bread, cornflakes, sushi, porridge, tim sum, etc. But be aware that the breakfast ends rather early @9:45am.
The Hotel is conveniently located at M3 exit of the Taipei Station. There are a few underground shopping malls with reasonably priced goods such as shoes and clothing. Food outlets are also everywhere. There are also many shops selling gaming stuff. Very interesting place to shop. But do go early as shops start to close around 9:30pm.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZhaoXiuMei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmosGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Cosmos Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear valuable guest, dear ZhaoXiuMei,

On behalf of the entire team of Cosmos Hotel, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your last stay at our hotel. Also it is a great honor to receive your ultimate 5 stars rating!
We are glad to read that you fully enjoyed your room as well as the breakfast spread composed of both western and eastern food!
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon in Cosmos Hotel and we all wish you a great time back home!

Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This is the place you want to stay at if you want to explore Taipei. Its located just next to the train station and you can access anywhere from here. The room was a little small but it had all we needed. Fast Wifi everywhere, Cable Tv, Comf bed and also not a bad spread for breakfast. We also loved that there were so many places to eat just a station away at Ximen or travel a little further Shilin night Market just 4-5 stations away. The bed was quite comfy and the check in and out was very fast too. We left our luggage for 1 night and travelled to Juifen and that was really helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dah85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmosGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Cosmos Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear valuable guest, dear Dah85,

thank you for reviewing your last stay at Cosmos Hotel - Taipei!
We are glad to read that you took full advantage of our location. Both Ximen and Shilin are great places for eating and shopping and are conveniently located on the same MRT line than our hotel!
We would like to thank you also for your nice comments regarding our room facilities.
All our guests are more than welcome to store their luggage for free in our hotel if they plan to spend one more night away from Taipei. We are happy that this service was helpful for you!

We are looking forward to welcoming soon in Cosmos Hotel!

Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We visit Taiwan every April and have chosen to stay at Cosmos for more than 10 years. My last visit was from 15-21 April 2013

I have to admit that the rooms at Cosmos before were a bit dated, they looked and felt old. We would still book our rooms at the Cosmos because of two things: the location is just great and the staff really takes care of you. We have always felt safe in the property. I forgot to say that the rooms were also very affordable and very clean.

I am writing this review because of the recent upgrades that the property is currently finishing. The rooms are now brighter. The toilet has this electronic Toto bidet thing. The shower curtain at the tub area was replaced by a glass enclosure (spotless). The free toiletries in large refillable containers were not some generic hotel issue (I guess it is more environmental this way, forgot the brand but some Italian body wash and lotion). The rooms also have free wifi access.

The best upgrade would be the pillows and the bed! The pillows were soft enough but also firm enough. I don't really know how to describe it but I really liked it. I don't know if they replaced the mattresses but they have this foam thing placed on top of the mattress that is memory foam-like. Like the pillow, it was soft and yet firm. I had restful sleep there, night after night.

I will recommend the Cosmos for the following reasons:

the location (Taipei Main Station Metro stop, exit is M3, centrally located)
the price (value for your money)
the wonderful staff (polite, can be trusted)
the bed and the pillows
the clean rooms

The rooms can be improved if they can install a thermostat in the rooms instead of just having a low medium high selection for the airconditioning unit

Room Tip: ask for a newly renovated room with windows facing the Taipei Main Station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AAng_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmosGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Cosmos Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear valuable guest, dear AAng_88,

we were delighted to welcome you back in Cosmos Hotel. Thank you so much for the kind reviews regarding our newly renovations and improvments.
Just to give you a little complement of informations, we are currently working on providing a thermostat in every rooms, as well as finalising the renovation as soon as possible while keeping the confort and related disturbance as low as possible.
We hope that your next stay with us will be as surpriseful and enjoyable as your previous one!

On behalf of the entire staff of Cosmos Hotel, I wish you all the best.

Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stayed at the Cosmos Hotel in early April 2013 for two nights and had both the Executive-Deluxe and the Deluxe-Family room. Stayed earlier in the week at the Caesar Park which is just about one block away and found the Cosmos to be a much better hotel for the price. [Refer to my CAESAR PARK HOTEL review regarding the savings.]
The Cosmos has an excellent location just steps away from one of the Taipei Main Station. The lobby is small, but laid out well and inviting. Plus for the kids was that there was a pretty good ice cream parlor next to the lobby and it was open late for their late night sugar tooth cravings.
The rooms in the Cosmos were modern and very clean. The Executive-Deluxe room was well furnished, but was quite small compared to other single bed hotel rooms we've stayed in and the king bed took up a large portion of the room. If you have more than one piece of large luggage, this would be somewhat of a tight fit. The Deluxe-Family room was spacious and an excellent deal in that the two beds are actually separated by a wall and door, so parents and kids can have their own private sleeping area. Each area had its own tv and fridge, but the bathroom can only be accessed through one of the areas. The bathroom included a sizeable shower / tub combination and a washlet toilet (bidlet attachment to the toilet), but a small sink countertop area.
The windows in both rooms were double paned so street noise was nicely muffled, and we had an upper floor room with a nice view of downtown Taipei. Both rooms' air conditioning units always worked well, but on the highest setting, was a bit chilly.
The buffet was part of our package and was average and crowded. Both days, we had to share our table with other families, which we didn't mind as it gave us a chance to talk to others for travel advice. We also ate dinner at the restaurant where buffet was served and the food was good and relatively inexpensive for the quality, but the service was slow.
Altogether, we really enjoyed our stay at the Cosmos. As mentioned in my Caesar Park review, we preferred the Cosmos due to the nicer rooms (divided family room was a nice plus), nicer amenities (rooms were more updated and cleaner at the Cosmos), and we had a much less expensive bill at the Cosmos.
For a future trip to Taipei, the Cosmos will be at the top of our list.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HCL-Davis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmosGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Cosmos Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear valuable guest, dear HCL-Davis,

On behalf of the entire staff of Cosmos Hotel - Taipei, I would like to thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your deluxe family quad room, which is indeed very convenient for families and friends in need of some privacy.
Your comments regarding our breakfast are catching our attention and have been passed to the department in charge for immediat improvment!
We sincerely hope to have the chance to welcome you again very soon!
Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Caesar Park Taipei
#94 of 571 in Taipei
1,464 reviews
Songshan District
Ambience Hotel
Ambience Hotel
#6 of 571 in Taipei
1,335 reviews
Taipei Garden Hotel
#21 of 571 in Taipei
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palais de Chine Hotel
#51 of 571 in Taipei
1,444 reviews
Just Sleep Ximending
#24 of 571 in Taipei
1,101 reviews
Hotel Relax 2
#23 of 571 in Taipei
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmos Hotel Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmos Hotel Taipei

Property: Cosmos Hotel Taipei
Address: No.43 Section 1, Zhongxiao West Road, Zhongzheng Dist, Taipei 100, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 571 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cosmos Hotel Taipei 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1979, Taipei Cosmos Hotel is located right next to the M3 Exit of Taipei Main Station and has a great geological advantage as it is a transport hub where MRT (Mass Rapid Transportation), THSR (Taiwan High Speed Rail), Taiwan Railway, bus, and public transportation meet. Dedicated in offering friendly, thoughtful and professional services for many years, Cosmos Hotel Taipei is preferred by international tourists and businessmen and a designated gathering place for many organizations and agencies with its stable and committed food and beverage quality. Tourists or businessmen will feel right at home while staying at the Cosmos Hotel Taipei. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cosmos Hotel Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing