We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cosmos Hotel Taipei

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cosmos Hotel Taipei
Ranked #36 of 566 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Cheonan, South Korea
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

I stayed in Cosmos Hotel for three nights in March 2012 with my friends.
The location is so great. It's very close to subway station.
We stayed in triple room. It was good and large enough for us to use.
The breakfast was good. You can also eat japanese style dishes.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeong-mi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmosGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Cosmos Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear valuable guest, dear Jeong-mi,

thank you for staying with us at Cosmos Hotel - Taipei! We are delighted to read that you had a memorable time in our hotel and that the triple room you booked for you and your friends was spacious enough for your taste!
We are also glad that you enjoyed the breakfast selection as well as the japanese dishes in the buffet.
On behalf of the entire Cosmos Hotel team I wish you all the best and we are all looking foward to welcoming you again soon!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,473
    1,157
    174
    19
    8
See reviews for
1,286
491
228
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Spouse and I stayed at this hotel from 25-28 Feb 2013. We wanted to stay at the Taipei Main Station area and found this hotel highly recommended from tripadvisor reviews - thanks to all contributors who made this decision very easy for us.

The check-in was fast and efficient - we were in our room within minutes. Staff were very polite, obliging and very willing to assist in every possible way - like pressing the lift button for you. The room was clean, tidy and spacious enough to relax from a hard day of shopping. Buffet breakfast was part of the package and food was good with a large variety of western and taiwanese dishes - try the passion fruit if they have them.

The location is just 30m from the M3 entry/exit to the underground MRT and malls. It is very convenient to travel around Taipei using this MRT. There are many nice local eateries along a food street off the GongYuan Road (this is just accross the road from Cosmos hotel). Enter the M3 and exit using M8 (i.e. you are crossing the road using the underground). Upon emerging, walk along GongYuan Road (towards the Museum), the food street is on the right side of the road - 40m away from M8.

Getting to the Hotel from the Airport - its very easy:
Follow the directions in the Airport to the bus station. Go to the ticket counter and tell them you want to take bus #1819 to the Taipei Main Station. It will cost $125/person/trip. They will ask you to wait at bay #1. Bus is every 15 minutes. Luggages are stored in the luggage compartment below the bus and you get an identification tag. The express journey is about 45 mins with 2 (hotel) stops before cosmos. The driver will announce in both chinese and english - Taipei Main Station. You get down and look around you. You can immediately spot the M3 sign (40m down the road, and in the direction of the bus). If you are in doubt, ask the driver. Hotel is round the corner after you reach M3. [ thanks to a fellow reviewer- kokonuk for the tips and heads-up before my trip- it was really very helpful]

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay at the Taipei Main Station area. Thanks Cosmos for a most enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gemsfinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmosGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Cosmos Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear valuable guest, dear gemsfinder,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us a complete describtion of your stay at Cosmos Hotel! It is with our greatest pleasue to read that you have an enjoyable time at our hotel.

First of all, we are thankful to all the contributors that convinced you to choose Cosmos as your home-away-from-home in Taipei.
Also, we believe that your complete explanation about the different possibilities to access our hotel will help our next guests as well. You are definitely right, both Exit M3 and M7 are the shortest way to arrive to Cosmos Hotel from the Taipei Main Station.
Finally, I would like to thank you one more time for giving us that great motivation to pursue our quest of constant improvment in order to satisfy every single one of our guests!
We are looking forward to welcome you again soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

This is the most convenient hotel ever! Taipei train station right next to the hotel. Never ending Underground shopping with lots of good bakery and food! Since I was traveled with my mom and not having to walk too much to shops and restaurant is very important. If we need to get a taxi, there are always trustworthy taxi right in front of the hotel and the staff will help us to explain to the driver where we need to go and I think they also record down which taxi the hotel guest got into. So, we felt very safe! The hotel is clean and prior to the trip when there were people heard that we will be staying at Cosmos, the reaction is that, "Oh! It is kind of a older hotel!" So, I was nervous but I told them convenient is very important! So, when I got to the hotel, the service was great and courteous! Staff are very polite and helpful. I think the hotel has been remodeled, although it is not like a chic and hip hote, II actually like it and you do have a sense of a very proud hotel with their own tradition. It is clean and that's very important. The breakfast was great! Fresh ground coffee perk me up every morning! Free wifi. Nothing to complaint!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank osaka2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmosGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Cosmos Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear valuable guest, dear Osaka2010,

Thank you very much for giving us the 5 stars Award! This is a great motivation for all of us at Cosmos Hotel!
We are delighted to read that you and your mother enjoyed your stay in Taipei very much. Since our hotel is strategically located, our guests definitely do not need to worry about walking too much.
Regarding the hotel itself you are right, we have been, we are actually still currently conducting some localised renovations in order to increase our facilities and rooms quality.
Once again, I would like to tell you how happy we all are to read about your kind comments and are all thanking you very much for the great motivation you are providing to all our us!
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
115 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

This is one of the few hotels we managed to find in Taipei that has room for 4 persons.
Thumbs up for the cleanliness, the hospitality, the cool interior design.

They provide free Buffett breakfast (western) and you can oversee nearby streets while having breakfast.

Located very near a train station, five mins walk from hotel and a few stops to xi men ding, one of the popular places to shop.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N1t3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmosGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Cosmos Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear valuable guest, dear N1t3,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback about your last stay at Cosmos Hotel - Taipei.
We are glad to read that you find at our hotel a room that is suitable for 4 people, and which also met your design and cleanliness expectations!
We therefore hope to have the chance to welcome you again soon!
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

My latest stay in Taipei, and this is the hotel I'll come back to next time. Impossible to fault the location, 2 minute walk to the MRT and 2 minutes more to Taipei Main Station, so getting in from the airport by High Speed Rail is easy.

The hotel is definitely international tourist class. Service is impeccable, we were very well looked after. Rooms clean and of good standard of decor. Quiet, and comfotrable bed, very good night's sleep. There's not a lot to see in grey Taipei from most hotels, but take a high room for a good view of the city lights at night.

Huge buffet breakfast, with plenty to satisfy my Taiwanese partner and Me (English) - a good international spread, and all fresh.

Following on from other comments here, wi-fi is provided free throughout; if I have any slight winge it's that many Taipei hotels subscribe to a service that enables them to provide visitors with a password for free wi-fi across the city, Cosmos doesn't, but it's so much less important than all the things they get right.

We stayed 5 days, then to Tainan for a couple of days and back here for one final night, and they upgraded us, nice touch to ensure we come back, but we would anyway. I know Taipei well, and for the money you're unlikely to get better.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil_Nightingale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmosGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Cosmos Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest, Dear PhilNightingale,

thank you for giving us the ultimate 5 Stars rating! This is always a great honor to receive such comments from our guests.
We are really delighted to read that you enjoyed our different facilities and the view from your room.
As we are doing our best for east to meet west in our breakfast food selection, we are happy to read that you are also satisfy with the food provided.
Regarding your suggestion about the public wifi access, we are investigating this proposition, and will eventually offer it in the future.
On behalf of the entire staff, I send you our utmost sincere wishes, and hope to have the chance to welcome you again soon!
Sincererely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Loved this hotel! The staff were amazing, so helpful with great english. Nothing was a problem.

The room was gorgeous and the shower was Amazing!

The location was perfect! Close to the train station, bus station, metro line, shopping, shopping mall, super market.

I would recommend this to anyone. I wish we had stayed longer!

The breakfast was very authentic (just a heads up)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bree S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmosGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Cosmos Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest, Dear Bree S,

Greetings from Cosmos Hotel - Taipei!
Thank you very much for the kind comments regarding our staff english abilities and kindness! We are also very delighted to read that you enjoyed the room decoration and the large shower head that provide rain-like water.
You are right, we, at Cosmos Hotel are proud to be authentic and traditionnal. At the same time, we are doing our best to adapt to our guest's latest demands and needs in order to ensure the most enjoyable and memorable stay as possible for all our guests!
Once again, we are proud to read that you have experienced a great stay with us! We are all looking forward to welcoming you again soon in Taipei!
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
100 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Conveniently located so close to the Taipei Main railroad and subway station that it has its own entrance nearby. Free breakfast, free wifi, free ethernet access also. This is the kind of high-rise hotel that's been near train depots for decades, with a busy large lobby, several restaurants, room service, all the services that make you feel like you're in the center of a large city. It's got an old-fashioned ambience but it's been well-maintained and modernized. The 3 beds in the triple room are small but comfortable. Room size is adequate. Bath is well equipped with all the toiletries, the deluxe Toto toilet, and a huge shower-head. Flat screen TV had about 40 channels including HBO but was missing some of the international channels on the hotel listings. I did hear some noise from adjoining rooms and hallways. Helpful staff gave me the best advice to use the nearby airport express bus for my early flight. I enjoyed my stay here and would be happy to come here again.

Hotel rates are a bit murky: the hotel's website lists one rate for locals and says out-of-towners can expect to pay "additional charge" upon check-in. Why? However I did not get any extra charge so I can't complain. Cosmos Hotel requires cash, no credit cards, but this is made clear on the hotel website. There's an NT$500 additional deposit which is understandable but also should be made clear on the website and it's not.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkLBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmosGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Cosmos Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear valuable guest, dear MarkLBoston,

Thank you for taking the time to write a complete review of your stay with us at Cosmos Hotel - Taipei. We are really happy to read that you enjoyed our hotel atmospher. We are indeed a traditionnal hotel with a long history which gives us a major experience in the service industry.
Also, we would like to thank you for the suggestion regarding our price communication on our website. We have passed the message to the adequate department in order to improve our information and therefore clarify our price policies!
On behalf of the entire team of Cosmos Hotel, I wish you all the best and look forward to serving you again soon!
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.1 mi away
Caesar Park Taipei
Caesar Park Taipei
#95 of 566 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ambience Hotel
Ambience Hotel
#7 of 566 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
1.0 mi away
Taipei Garden Hotel
Taipei Garden Hotel
#22 of 566 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Palais de Chine Hotel
Palais de Chine Hotel
#49 of 566 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
0.7 mi away
Westgate Hotel
Westgate Hotel
#41 of 566 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Relax 2
Hotel Relax 2
#33 of 566 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmos Hotel Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmos Hotel Taipei

Property: Cosmos Hotel Taipei
Address: No.43 Section 1, Zhongxiao West Road, Zhongzheng Dist, Taipei 100, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 566 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cosmos Hotel Taipei 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1979, Taipei Cosmos Hotel is located right next to the M3 Exit of Taipei Main Station and has a great geological advantage as it is a transport hub where MRT (Mass Rapid Transportation), THSR (Taiwan High Speed Rail), Taiwan Railway, bus, and public transportation meet. Dedicated in offering friendly, thoughtful and professional services for many years, Cosmos Hotel Taipei is preferred by international tourists and businessmen and a designated gathering place for many organizations and agencies with its stable and committed food and beverage quality. Tourists or businessmen will feel right at home while staying at the Cosmos Hotel Taipei. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Cosmos Hotel Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing