We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location, Staffs very helpful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cosmos Hotel Taipei

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cosmos Hotel Taipei
Ranked #36 of 565 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Location, Staffs very helpful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

Excellent location, just next to MRT exit, staffs were professional & helpful, clean room and very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ypcathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,468
    1,150
    173
    19
    8
See reviews for
1,284
487
227
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

This is my 7th trip to Taiwan in the past 5 or 6 years. For my past trips, I have stayed in XMD (Royal Castle Hotel & Rainbow Hotel) and near Taipei Main Station (Miyi Hotel and Keymans Hotel). In fact, I have stayed in Keymans Hotel thrice because of the excellent location. This time round, I booked Cosmos Hotel as the room that I wanted to book at Keymans Hotel was not available for my period of travel.

I decided to expand my budget substantially and booked Cosmos Hotel. The location of Cosmos Hotel is great, very easy to travel around by MRT, TRA or HSR. I booked the Deluxe Single Room. The bed is big and comfortable. Room size is small but acceptable. For the price that I paid, I do not find it very worthwhile versus Keymans Hotel. Internet is via LAN Cable in the Cosmos hotel room, Keymans Hotel provides Wi-Fi which I very much prefer.

Some Hiccups:
As per what a previous reviewer pointed out, certain channels do not transmit properly. On our first night at the hotel, at around 5am, the lights and air-con went on and off intermittently automatically. That woke us up and we could not stop the automatic on-and-off phenomenon. We called the front desk and the staff and a technician came to check the switchboard. After re-setting some switch, they told us everything should be alright. After they left, a few minutes later, the automatic on-and-off phenomenon returned! We called the front desk again. The technician changed the whole switchboard, did not work, checked the card insertion slot (for triggering electricity), did some repair. Finally, the problem was resolved after half an hour or so. Very disruptive.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurong, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

Chosen to stay in this hotel solely due to it's strategic location being one of the nearest hotels to Taipei Main Station, near to Bus interchange that have buses coming every 15minutes interval starting from 4.30am morning onwards to Taoyuan International Airport.

As I'm travelling with my mom who dislikes to walk long distances to take transport, hence it is just a straight walking across 2 traffic light to reach that bus interchange, recommend this hotel to those who dislikes walking long distances with their luggages.

We stayed in a no window double room, like it's brightly-led lightings, the best cleaned hotel other than royal castle hotel at Xinmending which I have went previously, although interior style a bit dated but nice and cozy. However, I seriously think that there is no need for the bellboy to help us carry the luggage up as we could handle it ourselves.

There is a couple of restaurants bulit-in the hotel but I didn't get to try it, perhaps next time, especially one that's at level 1 serving ice-cream and main course. The reception lady who served us is of the least helpful as she didn't even bother to tell us if there is a bus nearby that can lead us to Taoyuan International Airport and immediately divert us to go ask the tourist centre personel who's just next to the reception counter.

Also, I do not understand there is a need to produce them with a NTD500 deposit which would be returned to us when we check-out, as carrying the NTD500 when we check-out may mean that we may not even get to use that amount for shopping or exchanged back into cash of our country as Foreign currency exchanges usually do not accept any coins.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamcraze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
139 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

The location is great, more than great, especially when we were there during the brief rainy season in May. Apart from easy accessibility, the sheltered links to Taipei MRT, Taiwan Railway and Taiwan High Speed Railway spared us from getting wet when we dragged our luggage/purchases around.

Service wise, it's good except for a hiccup at initial check-in. We booked our rooms through an internet hotel booking service provider. When we arrived, the hotel was unable to find our booking records and we've to wait quite a while at a passageway with limited chairs. The hotel later explained that their system showed our booking as a month after and they will sort it out with the service provider. The hotel lobby restroom is dark and crammed, but it is ok since we only used it on first and last day. Otherwise, service is good. Prior to our arrival, we emailed some queries to the hotel which was attended to promptly by Ms Milly, the assistant sales manager. We split our stay in Cosmos Hotel as we went to Hualien for two nights. The hotel provides breakfast from 7 am whereas our train departed for Hualien at 720 am. The hotel informed that they could pack some breakfast for us and we took up their offer which saved us some time.

Breakfast spread is ok. If you want variety, there's a wide selection of food at the underground mall of Taipei Main Station.

Most likely will stay there again because of the good location.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simply1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nonthaburi, Thailand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

Environs:
The hotel is very conveniently located on Zhongxiao West Road, next to Taipei Main Station and Taipei MRT Station. Many MRT exits are within walking distance with M3 closest to the hotel (1 min). Transfer from Taoyuan International Airport to the hotel by Kuo-Kuang Airport Express Bus brings you to Exit 3 at Taipei Main in a little over an hour, depending on the traffic though. From E3 it takes about 2 min walk to the hotel. Parking space is available. Hotel has 3 elevators. Recommended tourist spots, shopping malls or night markets are all within easy reach since MRT central station is only a few minutes away. If you plan a day trip to nearby towns, you can just walk to Taipei Main for Taiwan trains or if you go by coach, then Taipei Bus Station is about 10-15 mins away.

Room:
The superior twin bedroom I stayed in was recently renovated on a non-smoking floor. It’s quite roomy and has windows. Both the room and its bath are clean. What I love about the bathroom is the modern Japanese toilet that comes with seat warming! Bathroom amenities are disabled-friendly; some have Braille texts. There’s no separate shower cubicle, only a bath tub with shower. Due to limited space, you have to take great care in getting in and out off the tub. LCD TV, DVD player, phone, fridge, safety box, coffee/tea, and two bottles of drinking water are part of room amenities. The only downside is you can hear noises from the hallway through the door.

Breakfast:
Room rate includes buffet breakfast which is served daily from 7-9.45 am. The buffet line though ample but is the same every day. The restaurant is quite spacious but is also crowded especially on weekends. The captain will take you to your seat which means you have to share the table with other guests.

Final words: If I have a chance to visit Taipei again, I will surely choose Cosmos for our stay.

Room Tip: ask for newly renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank agingduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
172 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2011

The Cosmos is in a great location right next to Taipei Main Station. The rail system is really easy to understand and gets you to most places. Get an Easycard and make the most of it. The NT$100 deposit and any unused credit is refundable.

The hotel is a bit dated - decor is quite amusing in some areas! The rooms are small, but very clean. The daily cleaning of the room was better than most places we've stayed. The bed was like a rock, way too hard - if you've got a back problem this may make it worse!

Currently they are renovating/replacing windows on the front of the hotel, so ask for a room at the back.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scopes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2011

located in the heart of the city, very convenient to go anyway because it just next to MRT, Bus station, Train station. helpful and friendly staff, room are clean and comfortable. Toilet bowl was equip with Auto water cleaner and warmer, you were appreciate it during cold weather. Recommed

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tlycwk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.1 mi away
Caesar Park Taipei
Caesar Park Taipei
#93 of 565 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ambience Hotel
Ambience Hotel
#7 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
1.0 mi away
Taipei Garden Hotel
Taipei Garden Hotel
#22 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Palais de Chine Hotel
Palais de Chine Hotel
#47 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
0.7 mi away
Westgate Hotel
Westgate Hotel
#41 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Relax 2
Hotel Relax 2
#32 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmos Hotel Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmos Hotel Taipei

Property: Cosmos Hotel Taipei
Address: No.43 Section 1, Zhongxiao West Road, Zhongzheng Dist, Taipei 100, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 565 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cosmos Hotel Taipei 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1979, Taipei Cosmos Hotel is located right next to the M3 Exit of Taipei Main Station and has a great geological advantage as it is a transport hub where MRT (Mass Rapid Transportation), THSR (Taiwan High Speed Rail), Taiwan Railway, bus, and public transportation meet. Dedicated in offering friendly, thoughtful and professional services for many years, Cosmos Hotel Taipei is preferred by international tourists and businessmen and a designated gathering place for many organizations and agencies with its stable and committed food and beverage quality. Tourists or businessmen will feel right at home while staying at the Cosmos Hotel Taipei. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Cosmos Hotel Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing