We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taipei Gala Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Taipei Gala Hotel
Ranked #88 of 565 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed 10 & 15 to 20 March 2013. Room 2611 & 2711. Due to mix up with booking did not have early check-in on 10th when we arrived 0800 but after we had breakfast room available 0930. Very friendly front door staff, particularly Jason. Well appointed clean good size rooms both times. Particularly liked the hot water urn that allowed hot water on demand. Enjoyed breakfast in hotel but restaurant was not big enough when large numbers of group travellers turned up at same time. After 6 days in total, the limited food selection became monotonous. Turn left when leaving hotel short walk 7 eleven shore, Starbucks, cross street or underpass to Xingtian Temple MRT station (note if coming back after using MRT use exit 1 to Gala hotel). Turn right from hotel pass lots of banks with ATMS (24 hour) turn right next corner (Chang Chun St) cross over lane 124, turn right into Ji Lin Road (there is sign saying Gourmet district) There you will endless restaurants, try No 79 where you can see actual food and you can pick and chose. Overall a very good hotel for comfort & location made more enjoyable thanks to Jason, Fanny & Celine.

Room Tip: try to get room facing street. No noise heard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul_Joseph_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celine B, Responsable relations clients at Taipei Gala Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Gala Hotel!

Thank you so much for choosing The Gala Hotel Taipei and for taking your precious time to share such a wonderful review and precise tips with us, that can also help others customers. We are pleased to know that you appreciated our overall service, especially the rooms and the service provided by our doormen/women. Your comment regarding the food served during breakfast was passed on our chef. We will try our best to improve it that our guests could enjoy every single day by having a less monotonous breakfast.

Thank you once again for your review, we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back at the Gala Hotel in the future.

Celine BERCHOUX
Guest Relations Officer
The Gala Hotel Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    174
    38
    7
    2
See reviews for
70
63
40
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Raymond the manager of the hotel was extremely helpful. So friendly . He helped plan our roadtrip down the east coast.
Lent us their road atlas and plotted our route for us.
They kept our luggage safe until we returned.
Our room was huge and spotless everyday.

Raymond even came and directed us to park our rental car.
The staff asked us every day about our adventures.

What an amazing experience:)

Room Tip: Ask for a non smoking room far from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RozanneWhyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celine B, Guest Relations Manager at Taipei Gala Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Gala Hotel!

Thanjk you for taking the time to share your review. The entire Gala Hotel team is sincerely pleased by your comments. We value very much your support as well as your suggestions regarding the rooms tips. We are also glad that your interactions with our staff satisfied you.

Thank you again for choosing The Gala Hotel during your stay in Taipei and we are all looking forward to welcoming you soon again!

Sincerely yours,
Celine BERCHOUX
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

This hotel is a nice neat and tidy together, reasonably priced. The location is excellent. There are numerous convenience stores, coffee shops and restaurants nearby, and its only about 100 metres from the entrance to the subway. The staff were friendly, although we didn't have a lot of interaction with them. There is free wifi, and they provide bottles of water daily which are complimentary. All in all we enjoyed our stay. We didn't have any meals at the hotel, it was quiet, there is double glazing which means its quiet.

W would stay again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norfolkjill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuenen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
315 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed at the Gala 2012 October 5-7 and again 12-15. Nicely located in the centre of town at a short walk from MTR. Good middle class hotel, clean, wifi, water kettle, safe, good beds and fine breakfast. Friendly and efficient staff. Two Seven-11 shops in vicinity, the one at a couple of walking minutes to the north at same side of the road is cheaper than the one across the hotel. Newspapers in the lobby. Recommended.

Room Tip: 507 is a bigger room than the one at same location at the 10th. Obviously there a changing modules...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank n_wiedenhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
139 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed at the Gala Hotel in September 2012, using it as a bookend coming and going to Bali. We spent 3 nights each time.

I have to say that, from our perspective (American tourists), this hotel would earn its best marks from business travelers or from Japanese/Chinese tourists. From our American tourist perspective it left a bit to be desired, hence only an "average" rating from us.

The hotel is very convenient to the financial area of Taipei (lost count of the number of nearby banks) but not particularly close (ie. walking distance) to Taipei's more interesting tourist sites (there is a temple about a 10-minute walk to the north). Fortunately the metro stop is close (if you're brave) and taxis are incredibly inexpensive (but the drivers don't speak a word of English, kind of like Seattle).

The biggest barrier for us was the lack of English spoken by all staff. You get a "hello" or "room number" but we encountered no-one, either at the door, at the front desk, or in the restaurants (there's two) who could string together a 3-word or greater sentence. This made ordering meals in the restaurants, giving directions to a cab driver, or even trying to get a restaurant recommendation elsewhere pretty much impossible. In fairness, English would be a third or fourth language for many of the staff but given that the USA has been a huge trading partner as well as national defense provider to Taiwan for years we were expecting a little more (also, having an English name as well as literature led us to assume that it was spoken and understood). So readers might just say "well, learn some Mandarin" but remember, it's a 4-tonal language so trying to say "I'm hungry" might come out as "you're blouse resembles a slime mold" if you're not careful. Didn't want to risk an international incident on such a short stay (especially since it'd be our 5th language).

The language thing meant we also had to put up with both our rooms' biggest failing, their beds. The mattresses were as hard as marble. Maybe they're suited to Asian taste but they left us with bruises. Our makeshift solution of sleeping on the comforter didn't really solve the problem. As there was no-one who could understand our issue we just put up with it. Room #2 was maybe 5% softer (soapstone vs. marble) and a little more bearable. That electronic toilet seat, noted by an earlier reviewer, is just plain weird.

Breakfast is served buffet style and is kind of divided up into Asian and Western sections. There's little variety in either but hey, in Paris you'd just get a croissant and coffee. The meats seem somewhat undercooked (especially the bacon). They were willing to have a few slices sent back to the kitchen to be grilled longer, thankfully. Again, probably a cultural preference...

The business center is small but functional and comes complete with a computer that has an English keyboard but defaults to Chinese commands and websites. You can work around it...

Overall the property is clean and nicely maintained but again, more suited to business or SE Asian travelers. If we go to Taipei again we'd probably choose somewhere else to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the street, it's a major thoroughfare. If you want to make sure your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank themolitors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

As you know, Taiwan is not one of favorite countries around me in Korea. After deciding to take the first trip to Taipei, Taiwan, I have met a lot of problems. That is why there are few informations and books about Taiwan.

The most serious one is which hotel is recommendable and economic to me. While considering to solve it, I come across "Tripadvisor". Tripadvisor maked it clear that Gala Hotel is the best one to me. Good reviews on Gala Hotel maked me confirm it as my hotel in Taipei.

" To see is to believe." Yes, the proverb may be the best way to proceed your plan, especially trip to not-wellknown place. However, Gala Hotel will be the safeguard against fears from unclear situation. I really satisfied with this hotel, Gala Hotel.

1. Good location to make you comfortable with MRT(Subway) all over Taipei. The nearest station is Xing Tian Temple. Transportation from Tao Yuan International airport to Gala Hotel is very easy if you get on 5201 Evergreen Bus.

2. Good Communication in English. Taiwan does not speak English as common or second language. Except for Information Center or Hotel, English does not make easy conversation with Taiwanese. For example, I made a reservation for dinner(a hot pot restaurant in Ximen) with the help of its staff. There may be few troubles in communicating most of hotel staffs in English.

3. Clear and cozy room to make me at home. Small space of room and its facilities was not problem at all. All the worries that I had in planning this travel got blown away as soon as taking a step into my room.

4. Morning buffet regarded as a benefit. A good taste of various foods made me energetic and refreshed every morning. It was a good present to me, although it is not luxurious and high quality.

A short trip to Taipei must be unforgettable owing to Gala Hotel. I would like to stay there with my family if I had another chances to be in Taipei. Thanks a lot. GALA!!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Laonsummit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
96 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights on business. Hotel location was along sung chiang road so its like right in the city. Comparing to other hotels in Taipei I think this is an average small size hotel. Plenty of tourists from Japan and Hong Kong.

Restaurant breakfast was nothing to shout, I didn't like it when I compared to similar Taipei hotels. Bearing in mind most hotels serves mainly local fares ie porridge and condiments. Baked beans was consistently bad daily. Dinner was buffet but I just have to say their restaurant is not their strong point.

Room is generally small even though I had an executive room. Decor was ok and relatively up to date.

I would not return to the hotel for leisure but for work, its right next to my office but still, I would probably go further distance.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SporeSamSeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.3 mi away
Golden China Hotel
Golden China Hotel
#107 of 565 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.8 mi away
Imperial Hotel Taipei
Imperial Hotel Taipei
#63 of 565 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
1.1 mi away
Santos Hotel
Santos Hotel
#130 of 565 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Royal Seasons Hotel Taipei Nanjing West
0.5 mi away
Gloria Prince Hotel Taipei
1.2 mi away
Cosmos Hotel Taipei
Cosmos Hotel Taipei
#36 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taipei Gala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taipei Gala Hotel

Property: Taipei Gala Hotel
Address: No.186 Sung Chiang Road, Taipei 10467, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Taipei
#40 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Taipei Gala Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Asia's most dynamic exciting, and influential metropolis, Taipei offers visitors the unlimited city experience, with exclusive shopping, great dining, and never-ending entertainment.Perfectly situated for the business and leisure traveler, Gala Hotel's distinctive address is midtown Taipei on Sung Jiang Road is in the heart of Taipei's most prestigious shopping, cultural, and business neighborhood.The business traveler will find the financial district right next door, and most midtown business are within walking distance from the hotel.Established in 1980, Gala Hotel has more than 30 years of experience in the hospitality industry and has been presented with numerous awards by the government as well as compliments from customers.Gala Hotel remains a state-of-the-art facility by renovating and innovating. Recently remodeled. Each guest room has been completely renovated and refitted to continue to meet the modern traveler's needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Taipei Gala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gala Hotel Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing