We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive Stay”
Review of Santos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Santos Hotel
Ranked #121 of 585 Hotels in Taipei
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I attended a conference in Taipei and the hotel was chosen from the conference host. The location is very good. The airport bus drops you off at the opposite side of the hotel and the bus stop to the airport is next to the MRT station which is very near. The place is quiet (I got the room at the rear section). The room is clean. You can just walk to the MRT and it will take you anywhere in Taipei with 20-25 TWD.
I arrived on my birthday around 23.30. After checking in, a hotel staff was knocking on my door to say happy birthday and give me a present. And the next two days after I came back from the conference. An operator called to say happy birthday (again!) and brought a cake to my room !!
I was very impressed on how they pay so well attention.
Overall, I really like this hotel. The only downside is their breakfast. I agree with previous comments that the breakfast is quite tasteless. I had it at the first morning and skipped them for the rest of my stay (I stayed there 5 nights). The hotel should attempt to improve the quality of breakfast as the issue keeps recurring. Anyway, my colleagues were fine with the breakfast, though they didn't find it impressive.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Check R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantosHotel, 公關經理 at Santos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear Check R,

It's glad to know that you are satisfied with our special birthday service. As our goal is to make our guests' stay enjoyable especially on their birthday. Your comment is truly a great encouragement to all of us. As for our breakfast, we were deeply regret to hear that you were disturbed by this issue. We will look into this matter and seek further ways of improvement. Thanks for your valuable comment. Look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (447)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 33 of 447 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2013

It is in quiet area right on a major road. It is about 5 minutes walk to MRT. There is a local night market one stop away by MRT
We stayed on 9th floor and still could hear a little bit of traffic noise but it did not bother me.
The clientele is more toward to Asian market especially Japanese. The room is clean and the bathroom is clean. Nothing is fancy. In general, . I would stay here again

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lillianchengo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantosHotel, 公關經理 at Santos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review of Santos Hotel.
It is our pleasure to know that you are satisfied with our convenient location and clean environment.
Thank you for choosing Santos Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stay there for one night , last minute walk in
Quite impressed as the toiletries are all LOCITANE
And room rate are affordable if compare with nearby hotel , just location too quiet
7-11 just next door and opposite road also got , means 2 7-11 for
Your choice
Only breakfast variations are
Not competitive , need improvement ,food taste bad
Except for breakfast overall including front desk and receptionist ,security cleanliness are worth for value
Most likely to stay there again .

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeslyn80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantosHotel, 公關經理 at Santos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review of Santos Hotel.
It is our pleasure to know that you are satisfied with our service.
However,we were deeply regret to hear that you were disturbed by breakfast.
We will try our best to improve this situation regarding to your feedback.
Once again, thanks for your valuable comment.
Look forward to your next visit to see the changes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is a good solid tourist hotel, the tourists in question being almost entirely Asian. I was the only white guest in the 4 days I stayed here.

Good points:
1. Near an MRT station - Minquan West MRT is at the junction of two major lines and it is only a short walk along the main street to the hotel. Use exit 1 rather than the closer exit 5 to avoid a lot of stairs - exit 1 is the main exit and has easier access.
2. Clean and well maintained.
3. Security conscious - you need to use your electronic key card to use the elevator to go up
4. Helpful staff - happy to organise a pack breakfast for us the day of a long excursion - ready at 5:30 am.
5. Quiet location despite being on a main road.
6. Next to a 7-11
7. Bi-lingual staff - the 2nd language being Japanese NOT English. Some staff spoke English.

Bad Points:
1. Boring, repetitive, low quality breakfast. This was true for both Western guests (me) and Asian guests (my partner). That stuff is NOT coffee as we know it.
2. The rooms and facilities are aimed at Asian guests - ie small gowns and slippers. Though the furniture / beds were fine
3. Some might say that no mini-bar in the room was a bad thing but I do not care about that.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StewieTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantosHotel, 公關經理 at Santos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear StewieTokyo,

Thank you for taking time to leave so many detailed reviews of Santos Hotel.
Your feedback encourage us to improve better service for each guest.
Looking forward to see you again!

Best regards,

Public Relations Manager
Santos Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

The staff at the hotel are really helpful & friendly. Its official rating is a 4 star hotel but it is probably closer to a 3 star. It is reasonanbly close to most amenities and at least it is close to the rapid train station. The rooms are a little bit outdated but comfortable. The TV choice is not that good if you only speak English. The price was probably high for what you get, and interestingly it was a similar price to what we paid at the Sheraton Hotel the previous evening (the sheraton being in a different league). Overal the experience was not bad.There is no mini bar for that mdinight orange juice.The worst part is the free wi-fi. The signal is very weak & often disconnects (my colleague next door had the same issue - 12th floor). The breakfast is below par and the eating hall on the 2nd floor, feels like a boarding school mess hall. For a 1 night stay the hotel is sufficient enough.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rainer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantosHotel, Public Relations Manager at Santos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Rainer S,

Greetings from Santos Hotel.

Thanks for your stay at Santos Hotel, and your comment truly means a lot to us.
We feel sorry to hear about the unpleasant inconvenience caused during your stay,
we will improve the quality of service in the future and hope to see you again.

Best Regards,
Public Relations Manger
Santos Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located nearby MRT train station. It takes us only 2-3 mins to arrive at the nearest MRT train station and 15 mins walk to the closest night market (Ningxia night market).

Hotel room is clean & comfortable. Bath room is clean with good supply of toiletries. The towels are clean but seem dated. Could consider bring your own.

The free wifi inside guest room works exceptionally well. And the buffet breakfast is plentiful and delicious.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank D_and_G_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantosHotel, Public Relations Manager at Santos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear D_and_G_2008,

Thank you very much for taking your value time to share your experience with us.

We are very happy to hear that you were satisfied with our room comfortable and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Taipei.


Bes regards,
Public Relations Manger
Santos Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Great wewlcome from the staff really friendly and helpful but whilst showing us to our room the veil began to drop. No gym (OK maybe we should have checked more) but worse still no bar and not one even within walking distance around the hotel.

OK moving on to when we got in after dinner, as there was no bar, went to the mini bar (fridge) in the room and had a Mother Hubbard experience in finding that the cupboard was bare. Phoning the front desk at first I was told to go to the nearest convenience store but eventually they brought me up a couple of cans for solace.

Now the issue with the fridge doesn't end there as even though it was empty it was still turned on and it is obviously not very efficient as it keeps turning itself on and off all night disrupting sleep which would otherwise be OK in a fairly quiet part of town and on a highish floor. Anyway the fridge wasn't the only criminal in sleep prevention as the paper thin walls meant you could listen to everyone elses conversations and movements in the adjacent rooms. And don't get me on to the state of the mattress......

Morning calls and going for a shower.....if one is greater than 1.85m tall then you cannot stand in the bath for a shower without your head hitting the ceiling - not the best way to wash your hair and body crouching down. If I get a bad back I'll sue.

Frankly the rooms are tired and are in dire need of an overhaul, whilst at all stages the staff were perfectly accomodating this place wasn't worth the money. I've stayed in better B & B,s (but without the staff attention).

Room Tip: Wait until the hotel is renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HKPlum_Bum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantosHotel, 客戶關係經理 at Santos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank for your staying at Santos Hotel and taking your precious time to share your comments with us.

We sincerely appreciate you for your opinions and feedbacks so that we serve our guests better in the furture. Thanks you once again for your review.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Santos Hotel next time.

Best regards,
Guest Relations Manager
Santos Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.8 mi away
Royal Seasons Hotel Taipei Nanjing West
0.4 mi away
Imperial Hotel Taipei
Imperial Hotel Taipei
#76 of 585 in Taipei
847 reviews
0.6 mi away
YoMi Hotel
YoMi Hotel
#51 of 585 in Taipei
1,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Taipei Gala Hotel
Taipei Gala Hotel
#60 of 585 in Taipei
402 reviews
0.6 mi away
CU Hotel Taipei Branch
CU Hotel Taipei Branch
#67 of 585 in Taipei
370 reviews
1.3 mi away
Caesar Park Taipei
Caesar Park Taipei
#105 of 585 in Taipei
1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santos Hotel

Address: No.49 Section 3, Chengde Road, Taipei 103, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
Price Range: $63 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Santos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Taipei City on Chengde Road, Santos Hotel has been dedicated to providing not only exceptional quality services to travelers with warm hospitality, but also personalized touches in making every guests' stay a memorable experience since 1979. This 4-star rated 287-room hotel is the perfect accommodation choice for the first time as well as returning visitors to this cosmopolitan city. Within 3-minute walking distance to the nearest Minquan West Road MRT station, Santos Hotel is also close to popular and must-see points-of-interest including Shilin Night Market, National Palace Museum, Beitou hot spring, Confucius Temple, and Taipei Expo Park. Our service staffs, proficient in English and Japanese, will ensure your needs are met to your satisfaction. Free high speed wireless Internet access is available both in room and throughout the hotel. For added luxury, flat panel LCD TV with satellite channels including HBO and CNN, and in-room safe are standard in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Santos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santos Hotel Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing