We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Santos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Santos Hotel
Ranked #111 of 585 Hotels in Taipei
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed 1 note as part of last week's Taiwan 7 days visit. Clean decent room and despite my room is faces the main road, it is not noisy. Mediocre breakfast. Someone commented that there's a famous cake shop nearby. My say on this cake shop (Vigor) is the cakes (particularly pineapple cake/tart) are only so so, tourist prices ordinary quality.

This hotel is near the MRT and there are quite a few tea shops around.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Myspaghettimonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

37 - 43 of 434 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2012

We are a tall (1.86 m) European couple. The 2 important 'comfortable indicators' for us are: 1) is the bed long enough 2) is there a showerhead where we fit under. Both answers are YES.

Despite the old building, we were pleasantly surprised by the room. We stayed in a renovated room on the 15th floor which was clean (also in closed and nightstand) and spacious enough (in terms of a big city perspective). The decoration is a kind of modern minimalisticstyle in white and sand colors. There is comfortabel bathroom.

We experience the breakfast erea as very noisy and restless. The selections on the buffet was good, although there is very minimal Westernstyle breakfast.

Good walking distance (max 500 meter) to subway and airportbusstation. Friendly frontstaff. No nice bars and/or restaurants near hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated non-smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Good things:
Reasonable rate
Centrally located, less than 5 min. walk to metro, near airport bus stop
Friendly service

Bad things:
Room desperately needs updating, everything is outdated, furniture is too big for the size of the room
Not very clean room (found hair in bathroom)
Small room size
Smoke smell in the room
Breakfast is limited in selection
Sauna and spa area is men only!

Room Tip: High floor quiet room without smoke smell
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chufa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

This is one of the old hotels i encountered in Taipei, fortunately the room was not too shabby and quite spacious though!
The locations is near nowhere Taipei's nightlife epicenter! The only thing you could find nearby this hotel is Taiwanese famous cake shop, Vigor Kobo, which well known for its pineapple cake, also 7/11 is also in the proximity.
The wifi only available at the lobby, yet it's extremely hard to connect and horribly slow...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liandy_Vu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Room is of good standard. Spacious room, clean, and comfortable.
Location wise its so-so, not much f&b choices available. Its a stone throw away from the MRT station where you could access to all the attractions in Taipei.

Breakfast buffet offered is of taiwanese style which is of acceptable standard.

The standard of the room couls well compensate the location of the hotel making it a recommended hotel to stay in in Taipei.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siang123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

The hotel is 2 minutes' walk to underground train, and next to a convenient store. Rooms are OK on the whole but need a bit touch up. Breakfast quite good. Afternoon tea buffet value for money. The only thing that I need to highlight is the customer service - On one occasion, I requested the receptionist to confirm the flight tickets for me and she refused, stated bluntly that I could use the in-room phone myself and the charges incurred would come under my account. On another occasion I spilled some coffee on the floor and requested the waitress to wipe it, without a word she stared at me. Overall the hardware is quite good but the hotel management need to provide customer service training to the staff.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bunnysnaky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2011

This is a traditional Taiwanese hotel with very nice staff who made us feel welcome. As it is in the business district of Taipei, there aren't many bars or restaurants nearby. In fact, Taipei seems to have more coffee houses now than bars so there are plenty of them. The breakfast buffet was more orientated towards Chinese guests but I didn't notice too many Westerners staying there. Perhaps the rooms, especially the bathroom, could do with a bit of renovation.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richmondlady06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.4 mi away
Imperial Hotel Taipei
Imperial Hotel Taipei
#70 of 585 in Taipei
814 reviews
1.1 mi away
Taipei Gala Hotel
Taipei Gala Hotel
#85 of 585 in Taipei
351 reviews
0.6 mi away
YoMi Hotel
YoMi Hotel
#47 of 585 in Taipei
1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Royal Seasons Hotel Taipei Nanjing West
0.6 mi away
Gloria Prince Hotel Taipei
0.6 mi away
CU Hotel Taipei Branch
CU Hotel Taipei Branch
#41 of 585 in Taipei
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santos Hotel

Address: No.49 Section 3, Chengde Road, Taipei 103, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
Price Range: $61 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Santos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Taipei City on Chengde Road, Santos Hotel has been dedicated to providing not only exceptional quality services to travelers with warm hospitality, but also personalized touches in making every guests' stay a memorable experience since 1979. This 4-star rated 287-room hotel is the perfect accommodation choice for the first time as well as returning visitors to this cosmopolitan city. Within 3-minute walking distance to the nearest Minquan West Road MRT station, Santos Hotel is also close to popular and must-see points-of-interest including Shilin Night Market, National Palace Museum, Beitou hot spring, Confucius Temple, and Taipei Expo Park. Our service staffs, proficient in English and Japanese, will ensure your needs are met to your satisfaction. Free high speed wireless Internet access is available both in room and throughout the hotel. For added luxury, flat panel LCD TV with satellite channels including HBO and CNN, and in-room safe are standard in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santos Hotel Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing