We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good if you really enjoy Hot Spring”
Review of Spring City Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Spring City Resort
Ranked #184 of 570 Hotels in Taipei
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good if you really enjoy Hot Spring”
Reviewed July 25, 2010

This was recommended as the best place in Beitou for Hot spring. The room is cozy, a little small though. Breakfast is good, a lot of healthy food and greens. They are many different hot springs here to spend your entire holiday detoxifying. The whole place is beautiful, has a Zen feel with nice trees and fogs( from the steam) , very good for relaxing. For me, i cant stay in the hot water for more than 10 min, so i didnt really use their facilities too much. Good for couples

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyChew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    87
    55
    20
    11
See reviews for
76
74
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

After reading the reviews on this site we booked one night at the Spring City Resort. Based on the various internet reviews which told us that one has to go there with an agenda we reached there all geared up to hit the place and try everything. When we reached the hotel, (mind you I am using the word hotel and not resort) we were quite taken aback. It is one small 6 story building, with 7 small hot spring pools outside. They have a club house with a Gym and swimming pool but children are barred inside the swimming pool. The hotel supposedly has private hot spring pool for which you have to pay extra. Since kids were not allowed in them we did not try it. Also to enter the club house which houses the Gym and Pool one has to pay extra.

The rooms are small but nice and adequately furnished. The bathrooms have a small (with enough place for one to sit only) sunken place which they call private hot spring bath.

Finally, if you speak very little or no Mandarin, this resort is not a place to go. No one, apart from one staff member at the front desk speak English. Even the instructions in the room is written only in Chinese. We live in Singapore, and I speak basic Chinese but I struggled to explain to the waitress at the breakfast table that we want fried eggs. I did not even bother to explain that I want them well done.

The breakfast was inadequate. There were not even omelets on the menu. Its was much skewed to Sino tastes. My husband and I are very open to different cuisines but we could not find much at the breakfast buffet. In the evening we were told that the restaurants close at 9 PM so we didn’t try the dinner also, though we wanted to try the Japanese food which is so much written about. We thankfully headed to the Shilin night market for dinner where we had some decent food without having to tear our hair off trying to explain basic stuff to the service staff.

So in a nutshell at almost US$ 150 plus service charge I am sure there are other options available. The hotel definitely does not cater to families with children also it is teaming with day guests and so the hotel guests are left jostling with several others. I will definitely not go back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Buddhakkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Taipei hotels

Hong Kong
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights and I have to say we enjoyed our time here on the whole. The main feature of the hotel is the outdoor hot spring facilities which are excellent although they do get slightly crowded sometimes when groups of non-residents are allowed in and as such the whole thing loses an air of exclusivity which one would have hoped for in the room price.
The room itself, although not particuarly big and only a standard double bed is adequate, but the best feature being the deep hot spring bath. My major complaint about the room was the thickness of the walls. One night we were unfortunate enough to have a very loud couple return to their room late at night and proceed to make a lot of noise which unfortunately we were privvy to every detail if you know what I mean.
The location is good for exploring the environs around the edge of Taipei and there is a good shuttle bus service to the MTR. However I would warn against the taxi driver's who even though were waiting outside the hotel did not know where we wanted to go (my partner is Chinese so language was not an issue) even when shown the written address. We later found out that we had been ripped off by this driver as he had driven us half way around Taipei to get to our destination which could have been reached in half the time. Fortunately when we complained to the hotel about it they were good enough to refund most of the excess we had paid. As an aside, taxi driver's having no idea where you are asking them to go was more the rule than the exception during our time in Taipei.
In summary, good facilities, good location and travel links, helpful staff, mediocre breakfast, rooms could be improved.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HKPlum_Bum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights between business meetings and were looking for a place to get away from the hustle and bustle of central Taipei.

This hotel is one of the most expensive options in Beitou, but it is worth spending the extra if you're looking for a place to relax and unwind rather than race around seeing the sights.

Spring City is easily reached on the MTR from Taipei Main Station. Once you reach Beitou, a free shuttle runs from the terminal to resort every half an hour. Otherwise, it's a cheap taxi ride up the valley to reception.

On arrival, we were upgraded - at no extra cost - to an absolutely enormous room. We're pretty sure it was because we stayed longer than the average guest (most only stay one night).

The room was very comfortable with a very large bed, lounging area, dining area and bathroom with it's own hot spring bath (one of the advantages of this place is that everyone gets their own in room bath, regardless of the room you book).

The hot springs facilities were good, although not exceptional. We've stayed in hotels with more swish public springs areas in the south of Taiwan, but Spring City does have a good variety of pools including cool, warm and hot with vigorous bubble action, mild bubble action, waterfall massage style pools and no bubbles at all. Also a marble bath area to relax on between soaks. Bliss!

The Japanese restaurant was one of the highlights - the food rates as the best meal we've had anywhere in Taiwan. Extremely fresh Sashimi and excellent menu choice.

Staff here were also very good; English is spoken proficiently.

Fitness centre, massage and beauty therapy all available on site.

If you do decide to venture out of the resort, within easy reach of this resort is a great little Folk Arts Museum, the beautiful Yangmishan National Park, Aboriginal Cultural Arts centre, Beitou Hots Springs Museum and plenty of walks. The National Palace Museum can also be easily reached on the MTR and bus.

A great choice if you're looking for somewhere to relax in Taipei...highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OutdoorFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2008

Stayed 2 nights, checked in on a Sunday, and out on Tuesday. Checking in was horrific- the lobby was jam-packed with people (day-trippers and also staying guests), but to be fair, the staff remained polite and more or less unfazed. No-one was around to help us with our bags, which was surprising for a hotel of this class.
The room itself ("Romantic King") was the most expensive of the non-suites, and for that you get a decent view of the wooded hills behind, very pleasant. Take note that the area has a huge number of hotspring resorts, standing almost cheek-to-jowl, and not many have unobstructed views. The bed seemed more a Queen than a King. Nice bathroom with your own largish tub that you can fill with either standard hot and cold water, or natural water from the hot spring.
Room service is limited to specific hours, although exactly 2 dishes are offered 24 hrs. We tried the in-house Chinese and Japanese restaurants, and weren't impressed. The service was acceptable, but ambience was sadly lacking, and both were just far too crowded to be comfortable. We had a far more memorable meal in another hotspring resort in the town center.
Breakfast was the same story: a decent buffet, but the restaurant was so full that we had to wait in the lobby to be assigned seats.
Everything was quieter after the weekend hordes checked out on Monday, but then most of the attractions in the area were also closed.
Outdoor hotspring pools: pleasant, although a couple of the tubs felt rather slimy.
Overall, it was a nice couple of days, but we'll try another resort the next time round.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Too crowded; restaurants lacking in ambience
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NotRoughingIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2008

Spring City Resort is located in Bei Tou, (not far from Taipei city). Nice and spacious room with a spectacular bathroom - personal and private "hot spring bath". Indeed a good choice for those who wish to have hot spring bath with complete privacy!

  • Liked — Private Hot Spring Bath
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EanNee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2008

Me and my spouse stayed in this hotel for 2D1N simply because we have heard about its famous hotspring. To get there, the resort has a shuttle bus service at Beitou Metro. The bus stop is on the left. Alternatively, you can alight at Xinbeitou and take a slow 20min walk up to the resort. As the resort is located near the top at the end, it gives us a peaceful and relaxed feeling the moment we stepped in. Service was good as the staff was helpful. We booked one of the private hotspring room (they called it royal bathhouse class C) for 2 hours for about S$120. The room comes with 2 pools, one hot and one cold, and TV and a sofa. In general, it's worth the money. There are a lot of nearby such hotspring resorts and hotels but I believe Spring City should be given a try.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeffrey08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Beitou District
Hotel DOUBLE ONE
Hotel DOUBLE ONE
#93 of 570 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Gaia Hotel, Taipei
#88 of 570 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spring City Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring City Resort

Property: Spring City Resort
Address: No.18 You Ya Road, Beitou District, Taipei 112, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Taipei
#72 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Spring City Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Spring City Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spring City Hotel Taipei
Spring City Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing