We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for hot spring experience”
Review of Spring City Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Spring City Resort
Ranked #198 of 573 Hotels in Taipei
Reviewed March 21, 2013

First of all, I've never realized Taiwan has such active hot springs and used to think it's just marketing gimmick. How wrong am I!

So apparently Beitou is the place to for hot springs if you are in Taipei area. It is easily accessible via transit (MRT). And this particular hotel is at the new Beitou station. The hotel offers free bus ride from the station to the hotel. Buses run on schedule, but call ahead to make one is sent.

If you've been to most hotels in Taiwan, you know the services are awesome (mostly).This is no exception. Courteous staff. Breakfast included. Not much needs to be said there. It's good. Room is comfortable and spacious. Bathroom has hot spring channeled in so you can enjoy hot spring in your room at your own leisure. The tub is nice for hot spring bathing, not like your common household tubs.

Now on to the real stuff. The real reason why you would come here. The hot springs. Although you can enjoy the hot spring at your own leisure at the privacy of your room, but why would you do that? We stayed overnight here on the weekends at the beginning of March, and the hotel had just the right amount of people. It has quite a few different public open-air springs set up to satisfy your hot spring needs. Bubble jet, floating tub, etc. And the area is pretty big. We might have had to share with, at most, 3 other people. So 5 max. But there are plenty other ones we can move to. The environment is pretty nicely done. From what I understand, this is a middle-upper class hotel so maybe that's why it wasn't crowded. Overall, my wife and I really enjoyed it. Would've love to be there when it's even colder.

Other aspects. There is a little distance between the hotel and station, but it's really not that bad. We walked to areas around the station for dinner, plenty of traditional Taiwanese street vendors plus restaurants. It was actually a nice stroll back to the hotel after meal. Along the way, there are hot spring valley (free, go take a look. You'll believe the hot springs are for real.), a public park, a hot spring museum, and quite a few public spring baths that have been there for years. And here's another thing that I wish we had done..: Along the walk from hotel to station, there is a river that flows the hot spring water, so on a good day, you can actually go down and soak your feet in the river. It seems pretty cool.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gt6707a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
There are newer reviews for Spring City Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 235 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

The good:
Private hot spring in deep and good, water fills up fast. Great for a soak. Can fit 2 adults.
The outdoor hot spring with a variety of pools to choose from.
The shuttle bus that goes to the nearby MRTs is on time, clean and well organized.
Many TV channel

The bad
Pillows are too soft!
Buffet breakfast was blend with no international variety
The rooms are not anywhere close to the beautiful photos on their website or brochures..we were given a small room when we arrived with noisy air con vent. We asked for a change and was given a bigger and newer room, which led us to realize that room types are not the same for the
same price ...
Check in was not speedy even though we were the only ones

The ugly
Small lifts that can be slow at peak hours
Nothing at all in the vicinity making guests completely reliant on the shuttle which has limited seats or taxi
Leaves that litter the outdoor hot spring pool

Conclusion:
We chose this hotel over others based on the 5 star rating by on online agent websites such as
agoda and the description on rough guides that this is the top class hotel at Beitou, on top of the hill. In actual fact, the hill turned out to be little view, did nothing extra to enhance our stay and only made the location more inconvenient than others. The 5 star and top of the range description is not accurate, at most 4 star and certainly not the best in its class! For it's published rate of NTD 7200 per room, I would not choose this hotel. It is more. NTD 4200-4500 per room standard for the experience, without breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuAnn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed in a "Classic Twin" room for 1 night. The room was clean and tidy and had all of the necessary amenities. It's definitely not a luxury resort, but I would still recommend it for a mid-range hot spring hotel experience. The spa only really fits 1 person at a time, and there are no views from the spa in the "Classic Twin" room. There is free wireless internet in the room, slippers and japanese style bathrobes are provided. The included buffet breakfast is pretty good. It had a large selection of western and Taiwanese style foods.

The public hot springs areas is quite large and has several pools and therapy areas. I would recommend packing your swimmers for use at the public area as we didn't and regretted it immensely!

The hotel also has free shuttle buses from nearby MRT stations which makes getting there very convenient. We also dined at the on-site Japanese restaurant and the food is reasonably priced and very tasty - I would recommend the restaurant if you like Japanese food.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zigletta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Excluding the private spring pool inside the room, all the other facilties are quite standard. I recommend this hotel should perform the renovation soon, because the interior decoration for the lobby, room, dining room are outdated, and aging.

Room Tip: Excluding the private hot spring pool inside the room, not are standard....
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maxwongwk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

This is a mid-grade resort that is very popular with locals, including many with children. Because it is only a short drive or train ride from downtown Taipei, Spring City is a good stopover. The Japanese restaurant is excellent; the downstairs buffet is quite good and displays English names for many of the dishes. The springs here are sulfurous. (They smell like volcanoes.) That’s a smell we like, but if you do not, then this is not the place for you. Our room had a tub for two with a bench seat and a faucet that brought in pure hot spring water and also a cold water faucet for moderating the temperature. The outdoor area is a bit shabby but still great fun. It features a variety of soaking pools of varying temperatures plus sprinkling fountains and waterfalls that fall with massage force. Nights are cool and the room windows open so you can enjoy the night air.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TalltrekkerTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

If you are looking for a place to relax, good food, and hot spring experience; this is the place for you. There are over 9 different multifunctional hot springs spas, must try the hot stone spa. Some of the rooms also have your own private hot spring available. The food were very good, a lot of selections and beautifully presented.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank acli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

My group of 6 - 2 elderly and 2 young kids (3 and 5 years) - was visiting Taipei for the first time in early Oct. I researched the web for a hot spring which was family-friendly, clean, permits swimwear and hopefully not too expensive. Found Spring City and I'm glad we made the trip. I didn't make any booking - just walked-in. I chose the outdoor spa (NT800 per adult, unlimited time - we stayed about 1.5-2 hours at the resort in the end). Kids below 140cm get in for free.

My two little boys, who had their first taste of hot spring (soaking their feet!) by the riverside on our way up to the Resort, were apprehensive at first, but left with all smiles on their faces. The adults enjoyed it too, although some pools were a tad too hot (for amateurs like us, I suppose). There are 9 different pools with different 'themes', but 2 were closed when we were there. No complaints from us, cos we stayed most of the time in the two pools which were about 38 degreeC. It was also not crowded with only about 8 to 10 others in the compound. The female locker rooms were clean, neat and spacious, and everything (big and small towels, slippers, 'shower cap') is provided in a little carry-basket - so you can just bring yourself.

A small shuttle-bus ferries the resort's guests to Beitou and XinBeitou MRT station every hour or so, but the resort staff will remind you to 'reserve' your seat beforehand by informing them of your intended departure time, so it's important to take note of the time as you enjoy your soak in the hot spring. It's amazing what a good soak in the hotspring can do - My boys fell sleep on the MRT train on our way back to Ximending at about 6+pm, and slept through till the next morning without dinner. :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank plhuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Beitou District
Hotel DOUBLE ONE
Hotel DOUBLE ONE
#55 of 573 in Taipei
381 reviews
Golden Hot Spring Hotel
#102 of 573 in Taipei
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Gaia Hotel, Taipei
#77 of 573 in Taipei
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spring City Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring City Resort

Address: No.18 You Ya Road, Beitou District, Taipei 112, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Taipei
#71 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
Price Range: $147 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Spring City Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spring City Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spring City Hotel Taipei
Spring City Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing