We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel - a little overpriced though”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chaiin Hotel - Dongmen
Ranked #142 of 573 Hotels in Taipei
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Good budget hotel - location was fab right next to Dongmen metro station. Very quiet. Breakfast was really good. It's a bit like a Travelodge with no windows for those in the UK. W stayed in another hotel for a lot less that offered bigger rooms with a window so I I'd think it is a little on the pricey side for what you get.

Room Tip: Our 'standard room' didn't have any window and was pretty small so the Feng Shui wasn...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelgolightly_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
There are newer reviews for Chaiin Hotel - Dongmen
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 93 of 180 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2014

Fantastic place, very new and clean, modern interior, well appointed bathroom, good shower pressure, hot water never runs out, floor-to-ceiling window providing unblocked view of Xinyi road. Plush pillows, comfortable/cosy bed. Even the hair-dryer worked very well. Breakfast included in the room rate in a nice little restaurant with a decent spread. Great location, just above the central Dongmen MRT station which is a few stops away from 101, central station, Ximending, Sun Yat Sen Memorial Hall. Miss the place after I left, as it provided such good respite every night after spending the whole day exploring the energetic city. Most importantly, great value for money as I only paid about 100USD a night.

Room Tip: High floors facing Xinyi road for an unblocked view.
Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
4  Thank Jewel099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

The location is good, as the hotel sit right atop the MRT Dongmen Station (Exit 8, turn right; note that Exit 8 only has an elevator but no escalators), and you can get to Taipei Station in under 10 minutes. It is also right across from a famous restaurant street and dumpling/dim sum place. The room I stayed in was quite small, with a bed (no frame) on a raised platform, Japanese style. There was a sink at the entrance (see my photo), which was a bit weird. The divider between the toilet and the shower was a transparent glass wall—probably not a helpful feature if you are traveling with a regular friend. Be aware that it has few amenities and the sole elevator is painfully slow (take the stairs next to the elevator if you can manage). If you want to work out, there is a public city gym about 15 minutes away by foot; fifty Taiwan dollars get you an hour of using all free weights and cardio machines. The hotel staff was nice enough; got a bit flustered when they had to speak English. My reasonably cheap stay included free breakfast which was, while not sumptuous, quite adequate. I would not choose this as a vacation hotel to stay in, but it is a good place to crash for a night or two.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SP W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I stayed there for three nights and it was a really nice experience. I did not spend a lot of time at the hotel since I was mostly out exploring the wonderful city, but Chaiin hotel provided a cosy and safe environment for me to rest after a whole day of adventure. It is extremely convenient, less than one minute walk from the MRT exit 8 to the lift lobby. The Dongmen station was newly constructed and there is a lift taking you from the station to the ground floor so don't worry about the luggage. I have read reviews before complaining of the lack of signage and apparently the hotel did take the advice and added a few signs so it's very easy to locate it now. Just turn right and go into the alley when you get out of exit 8, the lift is on your right.
The staffs were polite and friendly. You can store your luggage if you arrive early or have a late flight.
My room was located on the top floor (12/F) and it is with windows. It was cleaned up nicely every day and they refill the water/snacks promptly. The room was a bit small for two person if you both bring a big suitcase. Nevertheless, it is well-equipped with mugs, electric kettle, hair dryer, shampoo, hair conditioner, cleanser, body lotion, shower cap, comb, toothbrush set and many towels. There's also a very cute map drawn on the wall introducing numerous restaurants and cafes. The hotel is just opposite to Yongkang Street which is famous for its numerous good food. This map helps a lot in choosing which one to visit. Some of them are not introduced in tourist guide so it's helpful in discovering new stuff too.
I had breakfast there for the last two days. It wasn't particularly outstanding, but it wasn't bad either. Just don't expect a full range western and chinese breakfast served in big brand name hotels. Mostly chinese breakfast is served, like fried noodles, vegetables, Chinese style omelette etc; but there are also cereals, salads, sausages and toasts. I love the coffee machine which you can get either hot chocolate, cappuccino or americano. You can definitely choose to get your breakfast at the Yongkang street opposite the hotel. Larger variety of choices.
Overall I am satisfied with my stay here at Chaiin hotel and would definitely recommend everyone visiting Taipei to try it out. It provides great service with a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travel-fun-ex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Was looking for a small boutique style hotel with a good location and affordable rate at the last minute. Booked Chaiin Hotel the day before arrival.

Great choice. Entrance is on a side street, just off the main road, lobby is up a lift and located on the 3rd floor of the building. Despite late evening arrival, receptionist was friendly and efficient.

Location is excellent, entrance to Dongmen metro right next door, bus stop just opposite, and easy to get cabs (driving east only). Yongkang street is only a minute walk away with the original Din Tai Fung, and a range of little restaurants, cafes and shops, including a small supermarket. Saw three 7/11 stores nearby. Daan Park is about 10 min walk away, nice for a stroll and has an extensive kids playground area, good for families.

Hotel is not huge, but that's not what we were looking for. Didn't need and didn't want to pay for all the extras like concierge, gym, etc. Room we had was either a Deluxe or Executive (7th floor). Was small but had a clever design so that it didn't feel cramped. Fine for 2 people. Floor to ceiling windows, good curtains (lighter one to let in light, heavier one to block it out), big bed, space to put 2 suitcases, bathroom designed to take up less space (sink outside, toilet & standing shower only). Good water pressure from shower and well sealed glass door so water didn't leak outside. First hotel I've seen that included facial cleanser as part of their amenities. Only annoyance is that you have to put toilet paper in the bin, instead of toilet, but have come across this before in Taipei hotels. Would suggest the hotel adds a few more hooks to hang bathtowels, handtowel, or clothes etc.

Included breakfast was in a light cheery modern space next to reception. Limited choices, can get some toast, congee, asian selection, and self-serve coffee machine. Would have preferred some fruit instead of the salad. Skipped it on the 2nd morning to get breakfast along Yongkang Street instead.

Overall, really happy with this last minute find. Would definitely recommend for those looking for a modern, no-fuss, budget boutique option in Taipei.

Room Tip: Prefer higher floors, but only 1 small elevator so was a bit of a wait during busy times. Ask for a...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whereiszd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Chaiin Hotel is a very comfortable and convenient place to stay in Taipei and a great value. First, the hotel is new and its very existence apppears to have been planned around the extension of Taipei's MRT metro system. The hotel is located right above the recently completed Dongmen MRT station. As of this month, the new extensions of the red and yellow MRT lines are in full service, so Dongmen MRT is at the intersection of two of the most important MRT lines in Taipei, which allows you to get from the hotel to just about anywhere in the city either directly or with at most one transfer. In addition, the local neighborhood is commercial and lively without being excessively so. The famous Din Tai Fung and the other Yongkang St restaurants are right across the street. Second, the hotel is new, stylish, modern, and spotlessly clean. The rooms are not large, but they are well thought out and very well appointed. My executive room with window (about €75/US$100 per night for 7 nights) was on the 10th floor. It had a double bed, lots of light and decent views with huge windows (and good curtains), and was probably about 16-17 m2 (180 sq ft) including the bathroom and dressing area---more than enough space for the business traveller or a vacationing couple. It had every amenity that one could want and did not feel crowded because the space was well organized. My room rate included an excellent breakfast buffet including western items but with the best variety and quality on the Taiwanese side. The food was truly excellent. Every day, there seemed to be at least the following: a sauteed vegetable such as water spinach or other spicy greens or sauteed cabbage, some dish involving stir fried soft tofu & vegetables, omelet, fried rice, battered taro or sweet potato, fish balls or pieces of fish, different types of sausages, and congee. The hard part was not filling up too much, because there is a lot of good food to try inn Taipei during the day. Finally, the staff were all very professional, friendly, and helpful and all spoke good English. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: The hotel occupies the 3nd through 12th floors. Some of the rooms on the lower floors may not have w...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mulsone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Great location, just a min walk from the Dongmen MRT station with the famous DimTaiFung just across the road!! The rooms are small but very clean, quite and new! I love the the hotel and the area, there are many nice and quite cafes, delicious foods and nice shops in the area. A great place to walk around and enjoy the foods.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank l0vetravelling82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel 73
Hotel 73
#22 of 573 in Taipei
928 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dandy Hotel - Daan Park Branch
0.3 mi away
Rido Hotel Taipei
Rido Hotel Taipei
#98 of 573 in Taipei
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Chaiin Hotel - Tzung Tung Fu
0.2 mi away
Citizen Hotel
Citizen Hotel
#157 of 573 in Taipei
80 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Biz Taipei
Royal Biz Taipei
#117 of 573 in Taipei
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaiin Hotel - Dongmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaiin Hotel - Dongmen

Address: 3-12F, No.163, Section 2 Xinyi Road, Zhongzheng District, Taipei 100, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 573 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range: $64 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chaiin Hotel - Dongmen 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chaiin Hotel - Dongmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing