We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the most excellent hostel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homey Hostel, Taipei Main Station

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Homey Hostel, Taipei Main Station
Ranked #28 of 240 Specialty Lodging in Taipei
Hangzhou, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the most excellent hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

I am from China mainland and this is the first time I went to Taiwan. Homey Hostel is my first stop in Taiwan, and when I open the door of Homey Hostel (although it's a little hard to find...) and WOW!!! the dining room is soooo cute, just like our home! It's clean, tidy, warm and sweet!! The stuff here is warm and nice. People from around world living here is sooooo polite to each other!! You can get free toast and Taiwan fruit every morning, and you can use the fridge to maintain your beers and milk(I love to buy a big bottle of milk every other day in 711 and put it in the fridge so that every morning I can drink a cup of hot milk using the microwave oven)...everything here is sooooo sweet and it made my trip to Taiwan an excellent experience!! I will go back here sometime in the future!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sherrylong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    55
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
4
73
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Though slightly on the pricey side among all the hostels we stayed in Taiwan, it was one of the most equipped hostel with very pleasant environment. It was also near NingXia night market and the Taipei main station which made travelling around very convenient. They even had Santa go around the rooms giving out candies on Christmas! =D

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CHI3N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Stayed here for a couple days upon arriving in Taipei. Stayed in a 4 bed A/C dorm on the main floor. Room was pretty basic with no windows but was very clean. Common area was very colourfully decorated and inviting with lots of light.

Staff were extremely helpful and helped organize a car rental for our group. There is no bar on site and the hostel isn't located near the bar district, so take that into account if you are looking for a party atmosphere (although it is located only a couple minute walk from the subway station).

Definitely would stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Devin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

Strongly recommended to anyone intending to backpack in Taipei. Despite being a few dollars more expensive than similar hostels in the area, the central location near the Taipei Main Station and the excellent service standards more than make up for it. We stayed twice there, and checked-in late and checked-out early without any problems whatsoever. They returned us the key deposit a night early once we informed them that we were checking out early. Shower and toilet facilities were clean and well-maintained with free soap and shampoo dispensers. Counter staff speak English, Mandarin and Korean. I would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: The rooms on the 8th floor have a more private shower room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

I traveled all of Taiwan for a month and this was by far the best hostel I stayed in. Located very close to the Taipei Mainstation it was easy to get to and from places and also the staff was fantastic. The staff is a young group of knowledgeable locals that have a great understanding of the area and what people are looking to do in Taiwan. They will even invite you along on excursions and their own events. If you visit request to stay on the main floor where the common room is and ask for a 4 person room as it's more comfortable. Say hi to Kelly and Josh the brother and sister dynamic duo that run the place. They are truly invaluable and the best hostel owners I've met.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank channo21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

This is by far the best hostel we have ever stayed in! It was clean, neat and the staff were helpful. Free toasts and coffee/tea were available for breakfast too. Not to mention it's only 10 minutes away from the Central Taipei MRT and Y Underground Shopping Mall.

The room was equipped with individual amenities for each of us like the useful international power socket and reading lamp. It was spacious and decorated with chic fashion, perfect for us girls who did loads of shopping! What we love most is the big window overlooking Taipei's skyline.

Although the toilets and shower rooms were located outside the hostel (just next to the elevators), they were sparkling clean most of the time and people respect each other in the usage of these facilities. There were more shower rooms available on the next floor too. They are all gender-mixed but it's not a problem for us. It's more space efficient and convenient.

The only thing that disturbed us would be the mosquitoes which could be quite annoying as a few of us got bitten almost every night. Otherwise, it's a perfect place to stay in.

We would definitely come back again the next time we visit Taipei! Highly recommended for all flash packers!

Room Tip: Room has 5 beds, 1 of them is just a mattress, even when checked-in for 4. Not too sure if they woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fujihime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

Strongly recommend this hostel to backpackers, no matter you are alone or in a group. Hostel is just few minutes walking distance to nearby MRT station, environment is comfortable and sweet, rooms are clean and tidy, both toilets and bathrooms are cleans as well. Hostel has part time staffs from different country, they are friendly, helpful and sincere. Definitely will come again in future ^0^

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SophiaQuek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.0 mi away
Taipei City Home
Taipei City Home
#5 of 240 in Taipei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Star Hostel - Taipei Main Station
0.5 mi away
Fun Inn Taipei
Fun Inn Taipei
#10 of 240 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Backpackers Inn, Taipei
Backpackers Inn, Taipei
#14 of 240 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
1.0 mi away
Meander Taipei Hostel
Meander Taipei Hostel
#2 of 240 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.4 mi away
Work Inn TPE
Work Inn TPE
#26 of 240 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homey Hostel, Taipei Main Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homey Hostel, Taipei Main Station

Property: Homey Hostel, Taipei Main Station
Address: 7F, No.180 Chung'an West Road, Datong District, Taipei 103, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 240 Specialty Lodging in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Homey Hostel, Taipei Main Station 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homey Hostel, Taipei Main Station is located at the center of mass transport network, Taipei Main Station. Within 10 minutes of commute due East, you can discover the Zhongshan area which is called girl's shpping heaven. By heading west, you'll have the opportunity to experience the historical Taipei atmosphere. A typical morning starts with our guests sitting in the large common area chatting over a cup of coffee. The friendly atmosphere makes Homey an easy place to make friends with visitors from all over the world. You can enjoy warm toast and fresh fruit prepared by our staff. There's also plenty of natural light from the full wall-to-wall glass windows. Your security is our priority. Every guest has their own key card and locker. There is a security guard on duty 24hr a day on ground floor. There are also security monitors in the common area. We highly value the importance of a clean facility, therefore every bed is sanitized before a new guest checks in. Every bed sheet is disinfected and ironed in the laundry house before delivered to the facility. We have a full time house keeper on staff. If you meet her, kindly give her an encouragement for her hard work. Homey meets the standard of the strict fire regulations of Taiwan. Every room door and wall is fire resistant. There is a smoke alarm, fire escape instructions and emergency announcement systems set up in each room. Furthermore, two escape stairs, fire hose and escape slings are equipped on every floor. We do everything to ensure your safety. 《2015 TRIPADVISTOR CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE》 《2014 BOOKING AWARD OF EXCELLENCE》 《HOSTELLING INTERNATIONAL MEMBER, YHA》 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Homey Hostel, Taipei Main Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing