We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Generally nice and new hotel, just don't stay there in Winter”
Review of Simple+ Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Simple+ Hotel
Ranked #114 of 570 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Generally nice and new hotel, just don't stay there in Winter”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

They do not have central heating and I was unfortunate to be staying there during a cold front in late Dec last year. I had to beg them for a portable heater, otherwise it was really unbearable as the cold air kept going into the room. It was less than 10 degrees outside at night. The location was OK, about 5 mins walk to the subway with plenty of food options around. Room was also generally dark as they do not have much lighting within the room.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scumdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    89
    15
    6
    2
See reviews for
27
47
32
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed there for 4 nights. The room is nice - simple and clean. I love the balcony of the room, even though we did not get too much time to sit outside and enjoy the balcony. Staff are friendly and polite, but not very helpful. Like what the previous reviews say, the room is very dark and the hotel should consider putting some lamps inside the room. Very close to the subway station (although the station is not on a main line), and it is easy to arrive at the hotel from the airport (1 bus ride - Evergreen bus).

We emailed the hotel a week before arrival to ask for a quieter and brighter room. Their response is quick and polite. They arranged us a room on the top floor. Very quiet and the room is very bright with natural sunlight in the daytime. We stay in a bigger room, so size is pretty ok for us.

However, the wifi signal is really weak inside our room, we can barely get connected. We told the front desk on the first night about the wifi problem. They apologized and said they ran out of router, and they suggested us to use LAN (wired) connections. Their suggestions did not help at all, as we were using Ipads and smart phones to stay online. We told them and they said they would try to reset the current routers and it might strength our room's reception. No improvement at all. We asked again on the second night, and they again said they had no more routers. They apologized again, saying that the weak wifi signal is due to the design of the room. Then, we asked again on the third and fourth night, and we ended up opening the door and standing in the hallway to check our emails. We do appreciate the staff's politeness and patience, but staying there for 4 nights, I would expect them to give me a router at least on the final night. As we observe, most people stayed there for only 1 or 2 nights. The hotel should therefore be able to give us a router when someone checks out. I felt like I have paid for the wifi service (as part of the hotel fee), and I could not get the service even though wifi is almost my most important criterion when choosing a hotel.

The price is ok, although you can find way cheaper options in Taipei. We went there around the Chinese New Year, so I would say the higher price would be reasonable as well.

Room Tip: Avoid the x05 rooms if wifi is really important for you. The 05 rooms are bigger than the others, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CisiW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

I am trying to find the good hotel in Taipei I can use when my family/friends visit me. Simple Hotel is "Almost" perfect.

Considering their price, amenity, room, breakfast… their quality is more than enough.

One minor problem is, they don't have the parking lot. I think this depends on your style how to use this hotel. There is one parking 50m far from this hotel (but it closes at night and open in the morning around 9am. If you want to leave the hotel early, you can not use this option.)

One major problem is, their air-conditioner is very noisy. So my sleep experience was not good…

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mucchiyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn, nyc
Level Contributor
46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

The name says it all - simple and pleasant accommodations in Taipei. The location seemed quite convenient. We are able to flag a cab quickly off the main street, but the hotel is tucked into a smaller street for quiet, restful nights. Right around the corner there is a 7-11, and the subway is also nearby. The service was good - English is spoken. The front desk was able to write directions in Chinese for us to give to a cab driver. The amenities include a gym, laundry and a roof deck. We used them all! The rooms i thought were quite small, but very efficient. If i came back here, as a couple, I would upgrade to a larger room if you are used to more spacious layouts.

Overall a great stay. Recommended if you're looking for a convenient place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dailln4n4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Nice clean hotel with ample amenities, reasonable rates and fair sized rooms. Pleasant staff always there to provide help. Nicely located to afford easy travel around Taipei. Good selection of breakfast buffet. Would stay there again....

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank k9team
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
133 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 661 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The hotel room we received was huge! The bed was giant, we sleep on a queen mattress in America and this one is way bigger than the king Mattress, feels even larger than a California King. The hotel is located on the residential block, but a short 1 minute walk you are outside to the commercial district. It is super close to the MRT, and from Taoyuan Airport, just take a bus to SongShan Airport and take the Brown line to NanJingDongLu.

The room was comfortable and clean, and the staffs were friendly and knowledgeable. There is a small night market near the hotel on LiaoNing Street which was great for late night dinners. Also Brother Hotel is a block away, they have one of the best DimSum in Taipei, at least that's where my parents used to take me when I was little and lived in Taipei.

From the hotel you can get to anywhere in Taipei via MRT and Bus. During this trip we made it to Beitou Hot springs and YangMingShan via public transport.

The hotel provides daily breakfast but we never made it. The whole point of Taiwan is the food. We refuse to waste our time in the hotel for none traditional breakfast. I think the hotel should get rid of free breakfast and changed it to a free snack bar instead. Such as free fountain drinks, cup of noodles, cookies and chips. It will force the guest to go out and try the cheap and fantastic Taiwanese breakfast. There is no point going to Taiwan if you are not going to eat the hundreds of different style Taiwanese food that's only available in Taiwan.

Anyhow, the hotel is added to our must be back list since we come back to Taipei once a year.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimpleHotel, Assistant manager at Simple+ Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you so much for staying at our hotel while you are in town. We look forward to having you here with us soon in the future and please let us know if there is any request that you would like to ask us and we will do all we can to make your stay more comfortable.


Sincerely yours
Simple+
Luke Chang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indonesia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Stay here for one night only on the 21 of December.Book directly from their website and got a very good price.It's a very new and very clean hotel.it's located in a quiet street but there are some good restaurant around also 7-11.
The hotel is not far from MRT station (Nan Ching station) it's around 5 minutes walk.
Only small rooms type have balconies but not for the bigger room type.
On the top floor there is a small gym,also a washing machine and they provide a detergent too which is good for a long term traveler.
The only negative point is a bit dark in the room.Free Wi-Fi and free breakfast is a value added for this hotel.
Overall it's a very good hotel and I'll stay here again when I'm going back to Taipei next year.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beatrice390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimpleHotel, Assistant manater at Simple+ Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for staying at our hotel and the important information you showed us. We have already added more lighting in some of the rooms to make it brighter at night. Please let us know if you have anymore requests and advises and we will do all we can to provide you all your needs during your stay.

Sincerely yours
Simple+
Luke Cahng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Forward Hotel - Songjiang
#146 of 570 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
HOTEL QUOTE Taipei
#40 of 570 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Songshan District
Brother Hotel Taipei
Brother Hotel Taipei
#118 of 570 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Horizon Inn
#70 of 570 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Hotel B Taipei
#136 of 570 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simple+ Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simple+ Hotel

Property: Simple+ Hotel
Address: No.52, Ln. 4, Dunhua N. Rd., Songshan Dist.,, Taipei 105, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 570 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Simple+ Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all new independent hotel brand from the Taipei forward Hotel group. we created a brand-new hotel image with a style of being young and free. We also hope to fit the word " simple " in your journey and " + " is to enrich your experience while you are here. Simple+hotel has been working with the humanistic art groups to bring you a new way of thinking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Simple+ Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing