We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
RF Hotel - ZhongXiao
Ranked #335 of 571 Hotels in Taipei
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

This hotel happily surprised, considering it is classified as a 3 star hotel.

It is in a good location. just off the main street and away from the noise (I was on the third floor and had no noise), and a couple of minutes away from Zhongxiao Dunhua metro and one minute away from a convenience store.

The wifi reception was strong.

The daytime reception staff were very helpful and very willing to assist guests with ideas as to where to visit and tips as to how to reach these places.

After reading previous comments I can advise that my room (a twin) and bathroom were not small in area. The interior was clean, reflecting the renovations that others have commented on as well.

The breakfast was adequate including items like bread, jam, coffee, orange juice, two types of meat (eg sausages, meat slices, bacon etc), broccoli and a variety of Chinese buns.

The areas I experienced which were not brilliant were a low bathroom ceiling and a sliding bathroom door (but then this is a good space saving initiative). Also, whilst the reception staff during the day were fantastic, if you require assistance from the night reception staff then bring your Mandarin / English dictionary with you.

Finally, someone commented on the security guard on the ground floor. True, the guard exists, but don't expect him to be awake the whole time of his shift!

That said, would I stay there again? Definitely!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellingWomble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    39
    27
    5
    5
See reviews for
9
21
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

This is my 2nd review for this hotel.

I left my some stuff in this hotel & wrote to them on 26/02 but get no response.
I wrote again on 27/02 & this time they replied saying will check with their post office on the courier charges the next day but no reply.
01/03, I wrote again. They replied say will check on 03/30 as 228 is their public holiday but till today they still havent reply me.
I'm so upset with their service. Now I begin to doubt are they serious in returning my stuff.

Room Tip: I will never come back given this kind of lousy service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ericachua2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Taipei hotels

Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Seriously, this is the best 3* property I have ever stayed at.
The room may be small BUT the comfortable bed, the hot shower, free wi-fi, the cleanliness of the room and shower/toilet and also the fact that they replaced the room amenities in the bathroom everyday is definitely a winner in my book (even 5* hotels don't do that...) so the size of the room didn't even matter anymore.

Breakfast choice was minimal but then who cares for hotel breakfast when you are literally smack-bang in the middle of a shoppers and food district, we didn't even have breakfast in the hotel.

We wish nothing but all the best and lots of success for RF hotel. You have made my husband and I very welcome and comfortable to stay in Taipei.

Room Tip: we stayed in an economy double room. It was big enough for two but if you're bringing heaps of l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank m699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

It is conveniently located near exit 2 of zhongxiao dunhua metro station. It is located in a commercial building though. Not to worry, there is a security guard guarding the premises 24hr a day. If you stay on floors other than 3rd floor (the reception floor), you would need to tap your card in the lift in order to access that floor. Do note that there are rooms located on the reception floor as well.

Stayed in a standard twin room for the 1st night. Room was really small, tight for two people. However, I guess if you won't be in your room the whole day, the space would be enough just for sleeping at night. Toilet was clean and of a good size. One regret is that the room had no fridge. Went out of Taipei for 2 subsequent nights and back to RF hotel on the fourth night. Was "supposedly" upgraded for the fourth night to seventh night. However, my friend and I were a little upset when we realised that we were upgraded to a business queen room (this room did not have a fridge either). Not that we mind sleeping on the same bed, however, we would really appreciate it if the hotel informed us beforehand that they were upgrading us to a queen room.

No problems finding food as there are convenience stores located nearby and hey you are in taiwan! Also, if you walk towards zhongxiao fuxing metro station, there are lots of restaurants (eg the famous dazzling cafe) in that area. Dong Qu (eastern area of Taipei) is also famous for the nightlife. :)

Overall, quite a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olivia_Ong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Conveniently located close to the MRT and local shops. Hard to find though. Rooms were smaller than website photos. No fridge but fast wifi, good air conditioning, large TV, electronic safe, free daily breakfast and a large SOFT bed (rare in Asia)! The room was small. The bathroom was super small and the bathroom door was simply a sliding door with no lock and plenty of gap between it and the wall (ie. not much privacy). Reception staff could have been friendlier - all we got when we checked out was an "okay"; not even a good bye. Overall, this place felt like it had the extras but lacked some basics like a fridge and a smile. Overpriced. Unlikely to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vsazn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Location is great. Close enough to subway line, but still tucked away of main drag. Instant access to a host of fantastic little bars shops and restaurants.

The rooms and even the hotel itself are very small. Spending too much time in the hallway can give you claustrophobia and you have to take an elevator to third floor where there is breakfast area that also feels a little cramped. (Food selection is limited )

Interior very clean and updated

Service was fantastic and the staff was quick to respond with a smile. As it is on the smaller side you will see individuals again, and they will remember you if you stay for any extended amount of time.



Its not absolute budget, but for the money- the location and service make it a good
value.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mephisto25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

First off, wifi is very fast and strong. Beds are comfortable and some rooms even have tubs (but have no views0. Location is central as it is around 2 blocks from a blue line station (dunhua). At the back alleys are good restos from western cuisine and of course the famous taipei dumplings. It's safe as their is a guard at the lobby (though reception is at the 3rd floor).

Breakfast is poor and the dining area is small that you have to queue to get a table. Food is the same everyday.

Still it's worth the price.

Room Tip: Higher floors are less nois and get the one on the right wing of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim28Manila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Taipei Morning Hotel
#43 of 571 in Taipei
384 reviews
San Want Hotel
#96 of 571 in Taipei
576 reviews
Eastin Taipei Hotel
#207 of 571 in Taipei
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
United Hotel
#180 of 571 in Taipei
296 reviews
Pacific Business Hotel
#52 of 571 in Taipei
612 reviews
Xinyi District
AT Boutique Hotel
AT Boutique Hotel
#285 of 571 in Taipei
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RF Hotel - ZhongXiao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RF Hotel - ZhongXiao

Property: RF Hotel - ZhongXiao
Address: 3F. No.235, Sec4,ZhongXiao E.Rd, Taipei 106, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #335 of 571 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — RF Hotel - ZhongXiao 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 75 rooms come in different levels inspired by the classes in aircraft cabins: Economy Rooms, Business Rooms and Deluxe Rooms. The rooms come fully equipped with a safety box, complimentary broadband Internet access, a 42-inch LCD TV and a spacious bathroom. The bright color scheme of your business hotel keeps you connected to the vibe and vitality of Taipei. Conveniently located between the famous SOGO Department Store and the Xinyi Central Business and Shopping District, the RF Hotel is easily accessible by public transport (and Taipei’s affordable taxis of course). The nearby shopping and culinary options add to the value of your staying experience with us. Whether you’re traveling for business or pleasure, the competitively priced RF Hotel makes for a convenient and contemporary home-away-from-home in Taipei. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your RF Hotel - ZhongXiao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing