We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service, far from the Taipei station”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lan Ting Business Hotel
Ranked #358 of 578 Hotels in Taipei
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Although from the website, it claims that the hotel is located near the Taipei station, you actually have to walk for a good 15-20min through the streets and underground mall. It is a family-owned business with unfriendly and untactful senior staff. We did request in advance through email that we would like to have an early check-in but were denied upon arrival. Check-in time was delayed again and again and the staff even openly discussed about our 'inappropriate' request right in front of our ears. We had a Japanese inn style 6pax room which was really small and cramp. DEFINITELY WOULDNT RECOMMEND IT. Not worth the value for the price we paid. No breakfast available too.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank happysingaporean123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 23 of 47 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2013

On the north side of Taipei station in a more residential / local area, the room had only a small window and smelled of mildew but was very clean. However, we were able to hear water noise from the bathroom next door and the occupants talking clearly. Sound-proofing is not up to standard. Staff were very friendly albeit a bit slow to check us in at first. In the morning, since the breakfast sandwich delivery was late, they gave me a voucher for a very fulfilling club sandwich, fried egg, and salad breakfast at an Italian cafe across the street.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hkg2009hkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel for two nights in the standard 4 people room. The hotel is located at 15 mins away from ZhongShan metro station. It's still okay for someone who has a bit of leg problem. We stayed at the highest level and totally have no problem of with the soundproof even through the lift was just right beside the room.

First of all, the room size is just nice! The room is exactly like the photos on their website. The beds are comfortable and the air-con is cold. We brought two luggage there and there were still plenty of walking space. Next, the restroom in the room does not exactly has a door. The layout goes like this: No door -> Washing basin -> Frosted sliding door -> Toilet bowl -> Frosted sliding door -> Bathing area (Rain shower and bath tub). No problem with privacy at all. By the way, they do provide bath towel, toothbrush,tooth paste, shower soap and etc,

The hotel area at night can be quite quiet and dark, It would be better to walk with a companion or just take taxi back to the hotel at night.

It is near to the Ningxia night market. A small night market that is filled with more local people than tourists. A nice experience for us.

The staffs are friendly too. And luckily, we did not face any problem with the smoking issue. Almost cancelled my booking when I saw the review with the smoking issue.

Overall, we have a good and pleasant stay at this hotel and will come back to stay again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank whitecoffee_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Too bad. At the onset, this hotel has the makings of a good hotel stay. New rooms, great location, fantastic price. But...

People can smoke inside the rooms because the owners to do enforce it strictly. My whole floor smelled like a chimney of smoke. When I asked the redemptions I was advised that they'll talk to him. Too late. The whole third flop stunk big time, even after 8 hours. Unfortunately I think they have a common duct so I smell a hint of it. Very unpleasant.

Second. It is run by a family who does not know how to professionally run a hotel. The lobby looks like a stockroom filled with their junk. They dry their towels in the fire escape!

Thirdly, aircon is really warm. When I pointed this out, they just say, this is the way. When I mentioned that the corridor had colder aircon, they just confirmed and nothing can be done.

Not going back here.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bankergirl1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Very good hotel in centre of Taipai. A real recommendation. The rooms are clean and new. On walking distance from main station, metro and shopping area in the city centre of Taipai.
Very friendly and nice owner, willing to help you with questions. Low price hotel for good quality. There is no restaurant, but a good Italian restaurant on the other side of the road. Best value for money. Strong recommendation. Fred Netherlands

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fred J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

This hotel is centrally located near to Taipei train station. The newly renovated hotel is fantastic value. Rooms are clean and well appointed. The staff are extremely helpful and one speaks excellent English. I have stayed in a number of hotels throughout Taiwan and this particular hotel stands out. I would definitely recommend staying here. Great value for money.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
5  Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

This hotel is new, located within 5 min. walking distance from Taipei central train and metro stations. It is convenient to explore anywhere in Taipei or northern Taiwan. Very convenient for business, too. All the rooms are non-smoking and very clean. And the best of all, incredible price.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YE MON C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puri - Taipei Station Branch
0.5 mi away
Dandy Hotel - Tianjin Branch
0.0 mi away
Bayman Hotel
Bayman Hotel
#178 of 578 in Taipei
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
CityInn Hotel - Taipei Station Branch III
0.1 mi away
CityInn Hotel - Taipei Station Branch II
0.3 mi away
Morwing Hotel - Fairy Tale
Morwing Hotel - Fairy Tale
#122 of 578 in Taipei
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lan Ting Business Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lan Ting Business Hotel

Address: No.64 Taiyuan Road, Datong District, Taipei, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #358 of 578 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range: $53 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lan Ting Business Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Lan Ting Business Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing