We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lousy”
Review of Taipei York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Taipei York
Ranked #419 of 574 Hotels in Taipei
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lousy”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Hey... I would like to share my view. Taipei York was horrible to stay. I am glad my seven days are over.
Below are my feedback:
1) baby cockroaches are all over.
2) room is very worn down.
3) no cleaning up of room unless you are willing to pay.
4) did not clear your rubbish bin.
5) no auto top up of tissues and toilet roll.
6) rooms are very dirty.
7) there is no phone in the room, each time if there is a need to get help from their staff, you got to use your own phone to call them. You have to pay unnecessary for international call.

If there are no elderly with me I will definitely ask for a refund and find myself a better place to stay. I have been travelling and this mingsu is the worse I have ever stay and was very unhappy with their service

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xue30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    9
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

we stayed at the one in xi men ding, a couple room with Greece theme. Nice room, clean, spacious, tv, toilet attached, refrigerator..a little living hall is available for sharing with other guests and it has washing machine (must pay), magazines, postcards, umbrellas, water dispenser...

staffs are helpful and they will arrange for a cap to airport upon request....

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SamanthaCYL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

It was a nice location as it was just a 5 mins walk from Ximen station exit 1. And 7-11 just below the apartment. What I was happy about this apartment is that, only those who has the card can access our room level, having washing machine and clothes dryer, cozy and home feel and cheap! But what I was not really happy about is that, the clothes dryer is quite noisy, our room are really small and the extra bed given was not comfy to sleep on, and sound of drilling from the above floor early in the morning. Other than that, I find this apartment quite cozy to stay. They don't have a lobby or reception area so anything you would need to contact Mr York. Overall is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Xiaohae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I was looking for a minsu (homestay) instead of a conventional hotel when I found Taipei York's website (http://tw.myblog.yahoo.com/taipeiyork). While Mr York's not operating a minsu, (breakfast and meals are not provided), his apartments are spacious and comes with the previous amenities that I can't do without : Hairdryer, toiletries, kettle, tv, WIFI, water heater, and even a few extras like the washing machine (with instructions in mandarin), and humidifier. I also got a kick using the key card each time i opened the door, it rings "开门了" (door open) and "鎖门了" (door locked) in a lady's voice! Cute!

We stayed in the k and O room. Really reasonable rates. NTD 1530 / 1620 per night.

We just took a 7 mins walk to the right of the exit and reached the Red House Theatre, ximending shopping district and the Ximen MRT. There is a "7" (eleven) just downstairs, for all your late night hunger pangs. Just before the Red house theatre is Fong Da Coffee, renowned for their house coffee, recommend that you drop in and have a cuppa. If you prefer tea, there's a bubble milk tea shop along the way. 王記府城肉粽 renowned for their bak chang, is also nearby.

Room Tip: Room O much prettier and the water pressure was much better compared to room K. Mr york has Whatsapp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank suite001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We took 2 rooms, #12 and #13 during our 4 night stay in taipei. Cheap, convenient and safe area. There were lots of shops (some even opened 24 hours) around the vicinity, so don't worry about late night hunger. And the hostel is located just above a 7-11. Another note worthy part about the hostel is that there is an access card for the lift so not everyone could actually access the floors. Note that this hotel does not really have a lobby, so you need to confirm with Mr York upon your arrival so that he could pick you up at the first floor. Hostel is equipped with toiletries, bathing equipments, hair dryer, water heater, etc2... Owner was also pretty flexible with your requests. The bedsheets in room #13 was originally black, we had it changed to white. Relatively clean considering the price, a bit dusty if you look too hard into the surroundings.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sn0flake88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Found out about this accom through some forums. The owner Mr York displays all pictures of his available rooms on his website in Mandarin, with no English info but you can easily use Google Translate for that.

I did my booking via email in Mandarin but I think Mr York can understand English as well. He gave detailed instructions on how to find the accom, and you can call him when you are nearby, for him or his staff to meet you and bring you up. They were very nice to wait for us when our arrival was delayed.

We were very happy with the location. It's a 5min walk to XiMen station exit 1 or to XiMenDing itself. It's in the same building as one of the ECFA hotels and near 2 other hotels (King Shi Hotel and Han She Hotel). There are multiple convenience stores just downstairs, and a bakery nearby. The building facade and 1st floor lobby look a tad run down, but it's totally different (in a good way) when you arrive on the 8th floor.

I stayed in the 3-pax J room (1double bed and 1 single) on the 8th floor, which does not share a common area unlike some of his other rooms. The 8th floor requires a keycard to access. The room was well appointed and had an induction cooker and a washing machine for long stayers. The bathroom also had a rain shower which was great! Do note that towels are changed daily and bins emptied but there is no daily cleaning services. Sometimes they forgot to replenish the towels but a quick SMS to the boss solved the problem quickly.

It's more of a self catering studio but for the price we paid (NTD2000 per night) and the fab location, we were very happy with the place and won't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank summerly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Wanhua District
Muzik Hotel - Ximending Xining Branch
E-House Xining Branch
#502 of 574 in Taipei
8 reviews
Taipei Milla Hotel
#442 of 574 in Taipei
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ECFA Hotel Kunming
#455 of 574 in Taipei
23 reviews
Good 9 Stay Inn
#199 of 574 in Taipei
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taipei York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taipei York

Property: Taipei York
Address: No.132 Kunming Street, Wanhua District, Taipei, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #419 of 574 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Taipei York 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Taipei York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing