We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beitou Beauty”
Review of Solo Singer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Solo Singer Hotel
Ranked #4 of 258 Taipei B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I recently stayed at this little hidden gem tucked away in a small alley in the hot spring town of Beitou (just outside Taipei). I had planned my road trip down the east coast of Taiwan and Beitou was to be the first stop where I would meet up with my friends from other countries before setting off down the coast. By arriving a couple of days earlier than the rest, I gave myself a chance to to explore this charming little town.

Solo Singer Inn was the perfect place to stay. Not only did it provide an experience of what it was like in the past, with its well preserved furniture and fittings, but it also was a quiet little place of respite where I could unwind from the faster pace of life that I had become accustomed to back in a big city. I took the top floor room closest to the common living room that opens out to the open air balcony. I was told that all the rooms had been designed by local artists and that my room was the work of a local novelist. That was clear to see as my charming room had walls that were lined with books and inspirational photos taken by the author.

One of the great things about Solo Singer Inn is the staff. As I made the final arrangements for the road trip, they were always on hand to give advice and to help make reservations for me as my Mandarin had become a little rusty over the years. When I wasn't planning the trip, they pointed out cool palces to visit, whether it be the local market place for a bite to eat, the artisanal coffee shop around the corner, or a nice place for a jog in the later afternoon.

Overall, this is very much an ideal base from which to explore Beitou. It's a different experience, akin to a boutique hotel (but more honest to its local roots), and will provide the traveller looking for something other than a generic tourist hotel a pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

75 - 81 of 170 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

I spent one night at this boutique hotel with my friends late May, before we started our week long driving trip down the east coast of Taiwan. The place far exceeded any of our expectation. After pushing our luggage through small alleyways that our taxi could not drive into, we were welcomed to a warmly lit living room decorated with furniture from the 50s and 60s serving as the "reception" of this little gem of a hotel. While sipping tea and browsing through the many local magazines and books, the gentle reception staff checked my friends and me into our rooms, each one designed by a different local friend of the owner (if I remember correctly, a mix of writers, artists and teachers). The rooms are relatively simple but they are all very clean and comfortable, and you can feel the personal touch of the owner and the decorator in each of the rooms. There are also two great common areas - my friends and I chatted over drinks in the alcove on the ground floor in the evening and had breakfast in the living room on the top floor next to the roof garden (simple but delicious local food from nearby restaurants rather than the standard hotel fare). All in all a lovely experience that differs from the flashy modern fashion boutique hotel or luxury hotel chains. The sleepy neighbourhood is great to explore on foot. There are good coffee shops and snack stalls nearby. Get the staff to explain to you the interesting history of the hotel and the glorious past of the town. Great for a short stay.

Room Tip: Each room differs in size and decor. Some "single" rooms are relatively small. There is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikTHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Every room has its own style, simple and clean. I like the ramdom breakfast they provided from the neiborhood, it surprised m e and tasted good. The only problem is that it's not so easy to be found, but I think that's why makes it so quiet, which is the point that I like the most. I strongly recommend it.^^

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlbertLee1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

It is just like a warm home with great hospitality and a wonderful fusion of the modernity and the past.
Actually we were going to find a hotel with hot spring, but accidentally came to this boutique hotel. They story of this hotel is very enchanting. The small alley resembles Hudong in Beijing. You will never have a chance to savor this beautiful lifestyle from the past of Taipei if you are not staying in Solo Singer.
The location is kind of hard to find and a little bit far from the city center, but I think it is definitely worth it if you are looking for an unique experience of the "real" Taipei.

Room Tip: the room at the 3rd floor is awesome and very closed to the public balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cat428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I wasn't sure where I was headed when I boarded my taxi. In fact, the taxi driver himself seemed rather concerned and perplexed that he couldn't find the place. It wasn't until I wandered down the small alley that lead to the hotel that I felt like I had entered a tranquil oasis. Here the past comes alive as the hotel staff have taken care of every detail to preserve the history of the space and meld it with their concept of giving it life as an artistic space. Each room is a masterpiece and each moment spent there is to be cherished. This is not your average bed and breakfast. You will likely never forget your stay there. Thanks to the incredible staff who were kind and extremely helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kartikeya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Solo Singer Inn is well located in a non-touristy area that has lots of restaurants and local eateries. It's only a five-minute walk from the metro which will get you anywhere around Taipei.

The staff couldn't be nicer and more helpful. They always had a smile and were eager to make our stay memorable. They are exceptional and go out of their way to make you feel like friends. They don't even wait for you to ask questions. They ask you what you need, where you'd like to go. When it was time to set out, they would help you plan your day wisely and give you directions on how to use the metro to find the way. When you returned after a long day of sightseeing, they also recommended places to eat within a few blocks of the hotel for dinner.

Our room was a bit small, but bright and charming with a nice comfortable bed, and a nice bathroom. There were always little snacks and coffee in the common area, it makes you feel appreciated. They have a great Taiwanese breakfast every morning - would highly recommend Solo Singer Inn.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
4  Thank trickmiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I really had a great stay in Solo Singer. I stayed their for four days. Beitou is a very nice part of Taipei and close to Tamsui and Shilin night market. The hotel has a great atmosphere and the staff is very friendly.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
7  Thank Dennis216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
6.3 mi away
Colormix Hotel & Hostel
Colormix Hotel & Hostel
#1 of 258 in Taipei
264 reviews
8.0 mi away
Formosa101 Hostel
Formosa101 Hostel
#6 of 258 in Taipei
187 reviews
6.2 mi away
Taipei M Hotel Main Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Next Stop Taipei
Next Stop Taipei
#5 of 258 in Taipei
140 reviews
6.2 mi away
NYS Loft Hotel
NYS Loft Hotel
#8 of 258 in Taipei
52 reviews
6.3 mi away
Energy Inn
Energy Inn
#12 of 258 in Taipei
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solo Singer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solo Singer Hotel

Address: No.7, Lane 21 Wenquan Road, Beitou District, Taipei 112, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 258 B&Bs / Inns in Taipei
Price Range: $82 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Solo Singer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To lose one’s way is to begin a journey.To empty one’s mind is for containing more blessing. It is a renaissance project of a small old Taiwanese hotel. It is a hotel in the hot spring area without hot spring, but embedded in the history and traditional lifestyle of an old Taiwanese neighborhood. There won’t be any televisions to disturb your time when pausing to enjoy the quietness and inspiration away from the bustling life. Pick up a book if you want and find your favorite corner for reading. The speed of reading is what we believe to be the best speed for experiencing the traditional Taiwanese lifestyle. Solo Singer Inn is in a small hidden alley too narrow for cars to enter and is off Beitou Wenquan Road (Hot Springs Road) where a group of passionate travellers and artists started the renaissance project of a three-story inn over 60 years old. This new beginning introduces the spirit of Taiwan’s local alley culture to international travellers. Solo Singer Inn has preserved the characteristics of Taiwan’s traditional inns. All of the guest rooms are different in layout. The team has tried as far as possible to preserve their original characteristics; the sloping walls, the narrow staircases and corridors. Every inch is a precious memory of Taiwan’s old inns, standing witness to the rise and fall of Taiwan’s indigenous culture and half a century of Beitou’s history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Solo Singer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing