We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Great Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Okura Prestige Taipei
Ranked #30 of 575 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Okinawa, Japan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Great Hotel!”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I'm an platinum member with Intercontinental hotel and Diamond member with the Hilton. This hotel by room standards beat the ones I stayed at before and I'm a world traveler. The rooms here are FIRST CLASS! Talk about modern and fancy. I love the bath room with rain forest shower tv in bath tube and everything else to quality doors wooden floors and a tolite from the future. I mean when you open the separate bathroom for the tolite. The tolite lids opens atomic (wow) and all the functions this tolite does to your booty (: Yes, I'm a guy and with this thing I like to sit and pee now.

Location is pretty good with shops/restaurants all over and a Starbucks right outside. Staff is super. Got a upgrade as it was my anniversary.

Bottom-line, you gotta try this hotel. You will enjoy.





Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Aero09053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    707
    249
    50
    10
    6
See reviews for
367
203
60
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limassol, Cyprus
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I must admit that this hotel has impressed me for its beauty and the courtesy of the staff. It is brand new, and this may explain some of the glitches that I experienced. But it is really a splendid hotel. Upon arrival I was upgraded to a room which while not a suite, it was large and perfectly designed (room 1820). I enjoyed every moment of it. The toilet (sorry but it's true) game me some moments of fun while I tried to understand how it worked, being iper technologic (and I run an IT company!) to the point of intimidation..... But everything was beautiful: the furniture, the bed (extremely confortable), the way the room was partitioned, the barthroom, the shower and bath tub area, with a buil-in-wall TV... all splendid.
The hotel coomon areas are also very nice, with important marble status, beautiful sofas and a very nice breakfast area which also becomes the buffet type restaurant for lunches and dinners.
The fitness centre was good, even if as it often happens even in modern hotel the gym area was not big and lacked the crunch equipment. I did not see the swimming pool but one colleague informed me it was good.

So, let's come to the glitches: the TV system is slow, very slow.... not very nice to work with.
The laundry service, probably because it is part of such new hotel, did not work properly: I left my laundry in the morning, was not returned in the evening as expected. No problems, but the day after, when I was about to leave the hotel, the laundry had not arrived yet. I called, they could not understand well (they spoke little english), anyway I thought they understood. Half an hour later, room service arrived asking if I had laundry to give. I explained no, I have laundry who I should get back. It finally arrived again half hour later, when I was about to leave the room. I must say though that when it arrived it was perfectly presented.

The last glitch: the hotel Japanese restaurant on the 5th Floor: Yamazato. Super expensive, and not the right quality for the price I paid. Yes, ingredients were all good and the Teppanyaki service and presentation perfect. But at 180$ per person, I expect absolute perfection, and something which makes me faint (not the bill, which effectively did make me faint. Btw, Yamazato sounds like Ammazzato, which in Italian means "killed"... I wonder if it is correlated with the bill....).

The above said, I will definitively be back.

Room Tip: My room 1820 was really great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GPS001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Spent 2 nights during the Mid-Autumn Festivals, i.e. end of September. The door-men were very friendly & gave you their kind attention when needed, One of the place I'd like to spent after a long day was at the Creation Club, even just for a short period of time. The staffs are very helpful. This made the whole atmosphere very warm for guests. We like the design of the separation of toilet with the bathroom, yet they can be put together as one because of the smart designed partition. The downside was 2 single beds too close to each other, leaving a gap of about 2 inches only. And, there is not any airport bus services directly reaching this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guominer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Was my first time in Taipei. Was unsure where to stay. She ended up booking me at The Okura Prestige Taipei and The Okura Prestige Bangkok, both brands were unfamiliar to me, but she was spot on. Service is seamless. Rooms are impeccable. Real elegance to the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SavyTravelerNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.1 mi away
Regent Taipei
Regent Taipei
#22 of 575 in Taipei
1,984 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei
Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei
#49 of 575 in Taipei
893 reviews
2.4 mi away
Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Taipei
2.8 mi away
W Taipei
W Taipei
#12 of 575 in Taipei
2,377 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palais de Chine Hotel
Palais de Chine Hotel
#43 of 575 in Taipei
1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Okura Prestige Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Okura Prestige Taipei

Property: The Okura Prestige Taipei
Address: No.9 Nanjing E. Rd., Sec. 1, Taipei, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 575 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Okura Prestige Taipei 5*
Number of rooms: 208
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Okura Prestige Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing