We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel located at Ximending”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Via Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Via Hotel
Ranked #50 of 565 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly hotel located at Ximending”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful.
Drinks and snacks are provided free in the lobby.

Hotel was clean and comfortable.

Not easy to locate the hotel at first, just look for starbucks and 7-11 then you will see the hotel in the alley.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AndrewGoh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    184
    31
    3
    2
See reviews for
111
119
28
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

4 of us stayed in a double room for 2 nights. The double room was big enough for us (and our cabin size luggages) and had plenty of walking space.

As the hotel is really new (slightly more than1 year old?) , the rooms were clean and in a good state. The beds and pillows were really amazing!

Service members are really friendly ans helpful. Some speaks English. The breakfast was complimentary - nothing traditional. They had bread and coffee but if you just walk slightly further from the hotel you can find good Taiwanese breakfast (Yong He).

The location of the hotel is very near XI Men Station. Maybe a 5 mins walk, but taxis are very cheap in Taiwan. Just be mindful of evening peak hour jams. One thing about the hotel is that it is located in one small road that does not allow taxis to find it very conveniently. We found that it was
Easier to stop by the ajacent main road and walk in ourselves.

Very safe and I will be back at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JoyxLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Nice, clean and tidy room. Hotel provides free snacks, soft drink,tea and coffee. Free laundry facility and have kitchen for guest to use which we don't need because you can find all sorts of food just outside the hotel. Location is fantastic even though a bit hard to find. It's in the central of ximending market where you can find pretty much everything from food to clothing and cosmectic shop.
The staffs are excellent, friendly and very helpful. They go extra mile with their service. Took us to find taxi to bus station. Most hotel's staff will just call or point direction to you where to catch a taxi but their staff took us and brought our luggage to find taxi.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jphoea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
141 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

This hotel provide good service and understanding for guest request.
Hotel located in good area for food, shop and leisure.
Overall, provide quality and full service, staffs are friendly and helpful, rooms and beds are very comfortable, good value of money.
In the heart of Ximending!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Haha, the location of the hotel is sure not exactly easy to locate! On the first day, which we reached there in the morning where all the shops were not opened and we will walking on a small lane leading to the hotel. The taxi driver in fact mentioned that why are we staying in such dingy/small hotel (look like he did not update himself with Tripadvisor)? We were reaching the end of the road when we thought 'oh dear' this should be wrong as we didnt' see any building that resemble a hotel. But out of the blue, we saw the sign and the hotel is inside a revamp old building in another word it's a new hotel in a old bulilding. The hotel location is actually conveniently located diagonally opposite to Uniqlo and walk in when you see 7-11.

Looking beyond the first impression of the hotel front , it 's actually a clean and good modern hotel. Ximending is a vibrant place and it has a youthful vibe with all the food, shopping and so much more. The metro station is 5mins away (exit at Exit 6). Don't forget to try the Ah Chong Mee Xian which is next lane away.

The room look exactly like on the website and with good wifi. The room size is adequate, but It does not have a wardrobe if you mind but only a small rack with a few hanger. The room is clean and the room we stayed does not have a window but not that we exactly notice (you don't stay the room whole day!). The bathroom feature half length glass panel but the curtain is actually drawn from outside so you can't control who's going to peep at you! We have the room with the Japanese type tub,

The staffs are all friendly and helpful. They hotel provide snacks (biscuit, bread, instant noodle) and drinks(hot and cold) round the clock-free flow. There is washing machine for use as well. The hotel provide service to purchase some of the popular Taiwanese goodies (pineapple tarts, sun biscuits etc) which they will deliver to the hotel.

Room Tip: I don't recommend rooms on the 2nd floor as it's where the reception and the snack corner is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank OnVacationSg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed altogether 4 nights in Amazing (family room). The location is absolutely convenience,right at the center of Ximending. But the hotel is located at 2nd floor(lobby), which you have to take lift. At night, you can come downstairs to have a walk. And there are a lot of things to eat and shop. The staffs are helpful and friendly. And the room is clean. There is also a snack bar at the lobby and also free WiFi at each floor. I think youngsters will love this hotel. There is 7eleven and Starbucks at the end of the lane. I really Love this hotel !! I will definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kangwinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

What is so good about this hotel
- clean rooms
- great location
- snack bar at the reception area at level 2
- warm customer service

3 of us stayed in a 3 pax room which had a double bed and a single bed. The room size was slightly small as we had 3 luggages, but we had no complaints as the room was clean and cosy with a large tv in front of the bed.

the hotel had a great location in Ximending 西門町。it is about 5 mins walk from the ximen metro station. there is a 7-11 50m away from the hotel and shopping starts right below the hotel. But first you would have to locate the hotel which might not be easily noticeable as the reception was at the 2nd level of the building in a small alley.

What i liked most was the free snack bar and drinks area at the reception area. there are free soft drinks, coffee and tea with complimentary snacks which is opened 24-7. feeling thirstly in the middle of the night? no problem, just head down to the recep at lvl 2 to grab a drink.

The staff were very friendly. I guessed Taiwanese are all friendly. My friend had some packages sent to the hotel, and the staff left us a note to collect our package at the recep area where they kept it for us.

Its a great 3 days stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank kentona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.1 mi away
Swiio Hotel
Swiio Hotel
#38 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
0.3 mi away
Via Hotel Premium
Via Hotel Premium
#58 of 565 in Taipei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Muzik Hotel Ximending - ZhongHua Branch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Westgate Hotel
Westgate Hotel
#39 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityInn Hotel Plus - Ximending Branch
0.1 mi away
Just Sleep Ximending
Just Sleep Ximending
#23 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Via Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Via Hotel

Property: Via Hotel
Address: 2F., No.17, Lane 114, Section 1 Chunghua Road, Taipei 10843, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 565 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Via Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Via Hotel welcomes all travelers, short haul or long stay, for business or for fun, single or group... whoever comes with open heart, big curiosity, and fixed budget. We serve you with world-class Sealy Posturepedic mattress, stylish bathtub, free self-servie laundry, 24hr traveler cafe, and friendly staff always ready to help you plan the trip. We are here for you. Welcome to explore Taipei. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Via Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing