We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Via Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Via Hotel
Ranked #53 of 565 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Located in a small alley and sharing space with a clothing store, they don't make the best first impression. The hotel is currently still adding units and is relatively new, which also means the rooms are modern and clean. You get free access to snacks in the lobby 24hrs a day and free access to a washer/dryer during waking hours of the day.

Hotel staff are prompt and courteous though English is not a strength. Lastly, the location is exceptional, as it's a short walk to the MRT and located in the heart of Ximending.

My only complaint would be the tiny room I was given compared to the other quite spacious rooms in their hotel.

Room Tip: Confirm that you have a larger unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kwonger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    182
    30
    3
    2
See reviews for
106
117
28
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

The hotel is located at a very good location with all the basic amenities. There are no windows though, so it may be a bit dark.

One thing to note- due to the nature of the hotel the walls are rather thin, so should you choose to partake in any strenuous activities in the room, it can be heard by your neighbors... If you know what I mean.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhys_d7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
113 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

The hotel is very hidden to find as the hotel signboard can be located across few buidling in the crowd streets. Simple breadfast with coffee & tea are ready to serve at self served counter at checkin floor. Cozy room with modern equipped but not able to block the noise from corridor. Very budget deal to stay here to enjoy the shopping and short stay choice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggytsang2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

My friends and I stayed at Via Hotel during our holiday in Taipei, and I would conclude that it was an incredibly pleasurable experience. One should never judge the book by it’s cover i.e. the unattractive hotel entrance is actually the gateway to a hidden gem.

For first timer, you need remember this simple walking direction to the hotel – from exit 6 of Ximen station, turn right to walk towards Face Shop, turn right again at the junction to head down the street until you reach 7-Eleven/Starbucks (Uniqlo is on your left side) and turn right into the alley. Via Hotel is on your left after you passed by a few shops (shared the entrance with a clothing shop).

In terms of location, it is perfectly nestled in the lively pedestrian streets of Ximending. Shops and eateries are abundant, and navigation around the area is made easy with the comprehensive hotel map, so do grab a copy at the counter!

I find the double room is adequately sized for 2 persons and our luggage, but one of my friend’s room seems to be smaller although of the same type. The room is sparklingly clean and the diligent housekeeping staff has done an excellent job throughout our stay. Basic toiletries, in-room safe and fridge are provided as well. But as noted by other reviewers, the only minor downside is they provide 4 hangers only.

The hotel doesn’t provide breakfast but it is brilliantly complemented with 24-hour snack bar offering generous amount of food and drinks, including instant noodles. And not forgetting the speedy and stable free Wi-Fi within the hotel area. Facilities such as washing machine and kitchen are available too.

Saving the best for last is the attentive and friendly hotel staff. They are ever-ready to assist on your queries pertaining transportation, direction, etc, to their best knowledge. The last time I met with such courteous staff was during my stay at hotels in Japan. Two thumbs up and keep the good work.

Without doubt, I would recommend Via Hotel for your visit to Taipei. As for myself, I would also return to this hotel if I visit Taipei again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travel_kayhmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

The hotel is not difficult to find as the hotel signboard can be located easily. The Freego bus from the airport drops you off at Ximending and they stop near the hotel for you to walk to. But you may easily walk past the hotel entrance as the first level is an apparel shop. Just look out for the crepe stall opposite it and you know you are there.
The staff is friendly and they operate like a small family. The reception level provides a 24 hours refreshment pantry.
Room was clean and comfortable. Downside is that the walls are not soundproof, we can hear the guests next door talking. The room does not have a wardrobe but it was not a big problem for us.
Washing machine and dryer is available but as the laundry room is only open 10am to 10pm, and there is only one machine each, you have to be lucky to not wait too long before it's your turn. You can get washing powder from the reception. We are thankful for the washing machine so that we could have pack less clothes.
Overall, it is a good option for a hotel with convenient location and affordable price.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for the room with the bath tub to soak your tired body after the long walks everyd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kail1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed for two notes at via hotel. Love their rooms and their 24hrs reception with free flow and drinks (softdrinks /coffee/tea).
I booked twin room but was told I booked the cheapest so its a double room which means one queen bed--"
But after our top up we were given a great room with spa amenities :)

Location was awesome though hard to find when we just got there.
Overall.. Great for small Families and with friends on budget :)

Room Tip: Pay more to get a room with spa bathtub ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Gertingting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

After reading about the previous hard-to-locate reviews, I engaged the airport transport service from the hotel at a very reasonable rate and it was a breeze at check-in. There is another way of getting to the hotel from Ximen subway exit 6! At Exit 6, turn right and walk along the main road and you will pass by the new Westgate Hotel and the Qing Wa Xia Dan (loosely translated as frogs laying eggs) drinks/desserts stall. Turn left when you come across this stall and the Via Hotel extrance is 2-3 minutes away.

Breakfast is not provided but the staff will direct you to a row of Taiwanese traditional breakfast outlets just a few minutes away. The Ximending Yong He Dou Jiang's breakfast is something I miss dearly after having it only once during our trip. The brown sugar man tou with chicken thigh is mouth-watering!

Hotel staff is very friendly and helpful and will go out of their way to help you with directions to attractions/shops. Wifi is available throughout the hotel and the tv programmes have a good variety. Snacks and drinks are also available 24/7 but the cup noodles are available on a first-come-first-served basis and there's limited quantity each day.

Everything is good except for the hard beds and thin walls. The thin walls caused us much distress since the room on the left had nightly activities from midnight to 2am. The room on our right returned at 3am nightly and parties till 5am, every night.

Overall, the location is really awesome but the thin walls makes me undecided whether to stay here again although I know think walls are a norm in Taipei.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank orangemuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.1 mi away
Swiio Hotel
Swiio Hotel
#38 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.3 mi away
Via Hotel Premium
Via Hotel Premium
#61 of 565 in Taipei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Muzik Hotel Ximending - ZhongHua Branch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Westgate Hotel
Westgate Hotel
#41 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
0.1 mi away
Just Sleep Ximending
Just Sleep Ximending
#29 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityInn Hotel Plus - Ximending Branch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Via Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Via Hotel

Property: Via Hotel
Address: 2F., No.17, Lane 114, Section 1 Chunghua Road, Taipei 10843, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 565 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Via Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Via Hotel welcomes all travelers, short haul or long stay, for business or for fun, single or group... whoever comes with open heart, big curiosity, and fixed budget. We serve you with world-class Sealy Posturepedic mattress, stylish bathtub, free self-servie laundry, 24hr traveler cafe, and friendly staff always ready to help you plan the trip. We are here for you. Welcome to explore Taipei. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Via Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing