We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Via Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Via Hotel
Ranked #50 of 570 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

When I first stepped in the room I was disappointed. There is no window on the reception floor, after checked with the staffs they said there will have rooms checkout tomorrow at upper floors with windows and they can changed for us next day. We didn't move finally as there is cons staying at reception floor as there is a free drinks and snacks bar with a table and six chairs.
You can sit down at this little pantry like place to share the street food and chit chat with staffs.
Staffs are super friendly, cheerful and helpful.
Excellent location, if you don't mind it's crowned once get out of the hotel.
Rooms is average
Bathroom with tub is good.
Simple white design gives u clean feeling but room didn't smell clean.
Concerning location and service I might come back again. But I must reserve room with window.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hkgal717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    186
    33
    4
    2
See reviews for
118
124
28
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Via Hotel is located in the heart of a shopping paradise. Ximending is the shopping paradise & harajuku of Taiwan. The MRT is just a 3 min walk from the hotel so transport is not a problem. Food is also abundent even till midnight as the shops operate till late, including shopping!

As Via Hotel does not provide breakfast (but a all day food and drinks bar), you can easily find food just outside the road. The shaobing & danbing taste great and is only SGD2.50. Their soya milk is fresh and good.

As most people would complai they can't find the hotel, I didn't have that problem. All you need to look out for is a 7-11 & Starbucks at a corner and just walk right into the lane.

The staff are friendly and ever ready to help. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AnnabelleF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located - near Ximen MRT and located in one of the bustling streets of Ximending. The room is cozy (they used Sealy mattress for their beds). The pantry located at the reception area at Level 2 has free coffee and tea, water, biscuits and tidbits. They even offer cup noodles. In the morning, you can have toast and coffee to perk you up.

Do not expect to see the hotel reception desk at Level 1. Their reception area is located at Level 2, therefore need to take note of the signage located at Level 1. There are clothing shops located at Level 1. The hotel will highlight to you that their reception area is at Level 2 when they send the booking confirmation to you.

Currently some of the rooms are undergoing renovations. I heard some knockings during early evening on one of the days. Didn't hear knockings in the night. I felt the wall / door is a bit thin as I could hear my next door neighbour closing their doors in the morning and mumblings if they talked too loud along the corridor.

The room that I stayed in has see through bathroom, i.e. you can see the entire bathroom in the room. They provide curtains in the room for you to cover the bathroom. Not a bad idea for those who wants to watch the TV when they shower. Perhaps not too ideal if are travelling with friends who may feel insecure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank msiainsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The service of the hotel staffs were great, like all Taiwanese who are friendly and helpful. They offered advise to us on our travel plan, could tell that they served with a heart, unlike other country where the staff would expect a tip to serve you better. Room was small but comfortable. Location was convenient too, few mins walk to the train station.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Comfyliving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SG
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

酒店的位置很好酒店的员工很友善. 這家旅店距離地鐵3分鐘, 交通很方便, 樓下有很多小店, 在很鬧熱的地區. 泡澡的浴缸, 有日式的感覺, 可以泡2個人(我不瘦哦). 晚上很安靜, 我們睡得很好, 床鋪實在太舒適了。房間很乾淨,走廊上遇到服務人員很親切打招呼. At first I was quite unhappy with the hotel as I could not locate it at first but after getting in to the hotel i was impressed by the hotel staffs(Esp. eddie and the girl) They were very helpful and even printed out maps for certain location that I am looking for and highlighted the route to take to the places and recommended place of interest and sharing of experience to the places. No breakfast but 24hrs snack bar at the side of the reception area were good. Free flow of drinks and snacks and even instant noodle at night. The snack area is a good place to hang around with small chats with the staffs or the hotel stayers. As I had the japanese style bathroom I used it also every night. After a tired night at the nightmarkets go back hotel grab a cold drink and submerge yourself into the hot bathtub(japanese style) which can hold 2 person and enjoy the hot 'spa'. The bed was good and the room is clean. The location is good (if u know the place well) and its very near to the XiMen station and also shopping area which is located just below. The Wifi signal is available in the room and outside the reception area. The staffs were helpful and polite. TV were big with many channels. Environment was quiet and nice. The hotel is well recommended for our future trips to Taiwan.

Room Tip: To have slope at the front of the stairs for heavy bags
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dominic_NgSg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Husband and I stayed in this hotel during our vacation in Taipei. Hotel staffs are friendly makes you feel like home. Even though the room is not so big, but it is very comfortable especially the bathroom. You can get free snacks from the lobby counter at all times too. There is no regret for us and we are planning to stay in this hotel for next trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 662Dayna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
133 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 661 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I was on a mission to find an affordable and clean hotel in Taipei at a busy location with food and shopping. I am glad I stumbled upon Via-Hotel. As their website and booking systems are all in traditional Mandarin, I knew the hotel has not been westernized and price influenced by money spending happy travelers, and I sincerely hope they keep it that way.

The Location was perfect, right smack in the middle of Ximending. Food, shopping, entertainment, breakfast are all easily accessible right beneath the hotel. The MRT Ximen exit was a leisure 5-minute walk, and we had no problem finding the place, although I do have to warn those who are not used to the chaos of signs in Taipei to pay just a bit more attention to where the entrance is.

We had a room with a bathtub, although the room only has a sliver of frosted window in the bathroom, but that did not bother us. The Japanese bathtubs were roomy along with a fully equipped bathroom. The beds were comfortable and the room has enough free space for the both of us along with a side table.

There are no closet space or much options to place your luggages. But we travel extremely light, so the luggage rack sufficed for our two carry on sized luggage.

The hotel provided free snacks which included unlimited soft drinks, unlimited coffee, tea, snacks, cup of noodles, chips, during some time of the day... bread and butter... Chinese breakfast buns. It was definitely an extra touch which made our lives easier, although we didn't really eat much of the simple breakfast they provided for free, because really... One of the main reason why one go to Taipei is for the fantastic food at a very low price. Breakfast road of Ximending is right next to the hotel, we rather go and purchase different kinds of daily breakfast with soy milk. But ultimately the free drinks really left a positive image of this hotel.

We also used the free washer and dryer the hotel provided with free detergent. It was efficient and just overall made our stay very comfortable and convenient.

The staffs were all very friendly and helpful, although they provided available tours to book, but Taiwan isn't hard to explore on your own with the vast and convenient public transportations. We made it out of Taipei via HSR, TRA, Taipei MRT, and buses all over the country.

In conclusion I'd definitely come back to this hotel as long they keep the price range and the amenities.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.1 mi away
Swiio Hotel
Swiio Hotel
#39 of 570 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
0.3 mi away
Via Hotel Premium
Via Hotel Premium
#54 of 570 in Taipei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Muzik Hotel - Ximen Station Branch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Westgate Hotel
Westgate Hotel
#64 of 570 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityInn Hotel Plus - Ximending Branch
0.1 mi away
Just Sleep Ximending
Just Sleep Ximending
#21 of 570 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Via Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Via Hotel

Property: Via Hotel
Address: 2F., No.17, Lane 114, Section 1 Chunghua Road, Taipei 10843, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 570 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Via Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Via Hotel welcomes all travelers, short haul or long stay, for business or for fun, single or group... whoever comes with open heart, big curiosity, and fixed budget. We serve you with world-class Sealy Posturepedic mattress, stylish bathtub, free self-servie laundry, 24hr traveler cafe, and friendly staff always ready to help you plan the trip. We are here for you. Welcome to explore Taipei. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Via Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing