We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of The Riviera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Riviera Hotel
Ranked #46 of 573 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Found this hotel on hotels.com. lots of great reviews. Price was well below average for Taipei. Staff is very friendly and breakfast was included. Had one dinner there and the steak was fantastic. 6 course meal! A little off the beaten track but subway very close, which was extremely easy to navigate. Highly recommend

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank Lobster1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (553)
There are newer reviews for The Riviera Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

144 - 150 of 553 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here during the Christmas period with my family. Hotel was quite nice, not as close to tourist attractions as I would of liked but still a decent location. Staff here were always very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and tidy. Breakfast had a decent selection. Would consider coming back here again.

Stayed: January 2014
2  Thank Mai M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

This hotel is a great place to stay in Taipei, clean with nice sized rooms, some with a separate "office" section. The staff is bilingual and very helpful, suggesting places to eat, where to go and all the expected concierge functions . The location is close to two MTA stations, a night market and several restaurants serving Twainese food. All in all, we will stay there again.

Room Tip: Get the larger room with the office section.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peterstuart75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I decided to stay in this hotel as all other popular hotel near to Taipei main station and Ximending were fully booked in Dec. For the price of NTD5,960 (approx US$205) a nite, my expectation is a spacious room for 3 persons with better sound proof and I must say I was very disappointed upon entering the room.

The room is small with 2 single beds and 1 folder able bed. The room only has 1 workable power plug which is located behind the TV. In comparison to all the other hotels I have stayed in Taiwan throughout my 10 days tour, Riviera Hotel has the least TV channels which other hotel has more than 100 channels from local stations to international.

I was booked into room #520 and I would like other visitors not to take this room as it is next to the housekeeping room and adjacent to admin office with poor sound proof! So you can imagine we were woken up by the knocking and voices of the housekeeping and admin staff!

I would say the only plus point is the free shuttle service provided only in the weekend to a few tourist attractions like Taipei 101 and Shilin night market which is less than 15 mins ride.

With the price I paid, not value added and most likely I will not stay in this hotel in my next visit to Taipei!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne118642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Our family has the luck to find a place like home in Riviera Hotel, Taipei end of Nov 2013 with a few days stay while paying a visit to the hot spring spa in Taipei outskirt mountain range!
Our suite room overlooks the Taipei Military Police HQ and the Yansang Hotel with Yangming Mountain in the backdrop in a prestigious enclave in the City..
The quality of its furnishings, management and customer service and density of hospitality comes close to that of HK's Mandarin Oriental Hotel in a smaller scale for great value of money indeed.
The unusually cool and reserved attitude of the Front Desk befitting a Taipei ease and warmth is overshadowed by the sincere courteous and extremely helpful hospitality thus extended by its concierge (Ah Jack and Ong) and even the well-cultured herbs gardener manning the rooftop spice garden by the gym!
ITs housekeeping is perfect albeit the slighting withering tropical plant décor in the suite...
The buffet breakfast is provided and offers high quality food and service : tea is less palatable but the omelette preparation is perfect..
Cherish the fond memory to revisit this beautiful hotel in Taipei next trip ..

Room Tip: Ideal choice of room opposite MP HQ and Yanming Mountain/Yansan Hotel on 6th level up..
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank graceandhenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I stayed twice in this hotel, with a 10-day hiatus while I visited some other countries, meanwhile leaving one bag here. This is a great, reliable, clean and comfy place, and in light of the slightly bizarre Taipei room situation, an ideal choice and a bargain. It is an independently owned hotel, which is nice, but it does mean (as usual) that the owners are a bit overprotective of their assets - these "don't steal the towels" signs are typical of non-chains. (Not that I was planning to anyway; I find it really insulting though and it was a reason why I considered switching hotels for the 2nd time - Howard Plaza was the other choice.) Also, I tried to get a small discount for being a returning customer and staying four nights (both relatively normal), but I didn't. But I must say in a way I even like this; TND 4200 for a business class room (with separate work room) without breakfast is a great price, and why should they go down?

Five star or four: It's a boutique hotel, I like the style, it doesn't have a pool but few Taipei hotels do. Amenities and room are five stars and that's that. Very clean. Certainly take a business room with the separate working anteroom; even if you don't use it, it makes the room more quiet. Reviews are mixed about where the room should face - I would strongly recommend the main street and 6th or 7th floor. It's quiet (I have a light sleep but the traffic never bothered me), the planes look nice and don't disturb, and the view of expo park, the big Taiwan Hotel (or whatever it's called) and the mountains is very good. I had a junior suite the first time; this is more expensive of course, and one gets a microwave, a big empty fridge, a cd player and more closet space in the anterom; this was not needed for me and so second time I took the business room, and this was fine.

Location: Nothing to do here? Bah! Taipei does not have a city center, so you need to take the MRT or a cab anyway. The Riviera is close to two stops, one on the - for me - main line, and once you're on the MRT, distance is marginal. And the neighborhood is great. Cheap as well as nice restaurants abound; good convenience stores - and just across the street the Expo Park with all kinds of great places (Modern Art Museum, Aborigines center, great gardens to walk or jog... full of relaxation and fun); what more could one want? Really a *prime* location! And some of the key tourist spots very close by; the free friendly shuttle is super too. (I wanted to go to a site near the one they have in their schedule - the Aborigines Museum rather than the NPM - and the driver courteously dropped me off there and even waited to see whether it was already open, plus informed me of some other sights nearby.)

Also, this must be one of the safest hotels in Taipei, if not the safest. That is because across the main street is the Military Police HQ, and their 24/7 guards overlook the hotel entrance. Within the hotel, the reception is just across the elevators, so the staff sees everyone coming and going. Sounds like very tight surveillance, but I daresay for most travelers, this is a real plus.

Very friendly staff on all levels; very good English throughout. Nice common rooms, nice rooms, good beds, good light. The rooms were a bit cold for me (typical for Taipei) but I got an electric heater, the non-noisy quality kind, in a jiffy both times.

When back in Taipei, I would be very likely to take this hotel again.

Room Tip: 6th or 7th floor facing the Expo Park
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aethelred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stayed here in October and found all Front Desk staff very helpful and courteous compared to some of the morning breakfast staff especially the lady Captain or Supervisor wearing a black jacket who seems to be extra friendly to only westerners. I observed this over several mornings. Besides that housekeeping maids on the floors were very friendly, always greeting and smiling.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BayviewBeachResortPg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Imperial Hotel Taipei
#67 of 573 in Taipei
800 reviews
Taipei Garden Hotel
#24 of 573 in Taipei
1,636 reviews
The Landis Taipei
#56 of 573 in Taipei
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gloria Residence
#37 of 573 in Taipei
222 reviews
Songshan District
Ambience Hotel
Ambience Hotel
#7 of 573 in Taipei
1,396 reviews
HOTEL QUOTE Taipei
#40 of 573 in Taipei
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riviera Hotel

Address: No.646 Linsen North Road, Taipei 104, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#22 Romantic Hotel in Taipei
#32 Business Hotel in Taipei
#38 Family Hotel in Taipei
Price Range: $118 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Riviera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riviera Hotel Taipei is proud to be the First and Only hotel in Taiwan to receive our LEED Gold Certification in November, 2012.Situated at the business hub of bustling Taipei city stands an international traveler oasis of serenity and refinement --- the Riviera Taipei boutique hotel, has 112 rooms; a Mediterranean Steak House restaurant, a Yacht Club restaurant, and a banquet room that can seat 240 people banquet style.The Riviera Taipei boutique hotel is designed by the world-renowned French architect, Mr. Gerard Jardonnet, with the theme of cordial sophistication of southern France, punctuated by the mystic authenticity of the Orient. Apart from the traditional accommodation service, the Riviera Taipei Hotel offers to her room guests quite a number of additional benefits completely free of charge. Internet Wired and Wireless Internet Access completely FREE of charge ANYWHERE within the boutique Riviera Taipei Hotel.Free Shuttle To MRT Yuanshan Station, CKS Memorial Hall, Yongkang St, Taipei 101, Confucius Temple, Shilin Night Market, CKS Shilin Residence, National Palace Museum and Taipei World Trade Center / Nangang Exhibition Center during Major Trade Shows in fixed period of time. The Riviera Taipei hotel is adjacent to Taipei Expo Park.Nearby attractions are Shihlin Night Market and National Palace Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing