We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a business hotel western style”
Review of The Riviera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Riviera Hotel
Ranked #42 of 571 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Nijmegen, Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“a business hotel western style”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This hotel is my favourite in Taipei as it is a Western style hotel with excellent facilities (e.g. iron and iron board) and a good location, many western TV channels, english newspaper etc.
The hotel is a typical business hotel and therefore quiet and very convenient.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtraveller046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    231
    27
    2
    1
See reviews for
156
117
58
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed at Riviera Hotel for three nights in May 2013. very attentive and friendly hotel staff, great breakfast buffet with many choices. Takes about 7- 10 minutes' walk to metro station, but you can easily get a cab and it's not expensive. Like the 'roof garden', it's more like a mini herb garden, but very cool and nice view from the top of the hotel. Will come back if we visit Taipei again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XL2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I stayed at the Rivera Hotel for two nights in May 2013 - and hands down this is one of my favourite hotels as of to date! Each and every one of the staff provided excellent customer service; they were friendly, professional, efficient, and always went over and beyond to ensure that all our inquiries were addressed. The way we were treated as valued guests at the hotel had really made our stay exceptionally pleasant and comfortable.

The hotel itself is absolutely breathtakingly beautiful. The architecture is of a quaint elegance, featuring designs that captures both Asian and European influences, there is also plentiful of natural lighting in the rooms...

The breakfast selection is also one of the best: fresh and with a lot of options for anyone who prefers either Chinese or Western food choices.

I have only good things to say about my stay at this hotel. When I visit Taipei again, without a doubt I will be booking my stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QWERTY_123_456_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Nice hotel. The bathroom even provides laundry detergent! It's not as close to an MRT station as other hotels but very close to a familymart, 7-11. It's close to the Taipei Songshan Airport, which looks like a problem, but you can't hear the planes! Very quiet. The work out room is extremely tiny but clean. The roof was fun to explore and thanks to the close proximity to the airport, it made for a very interesting view! We did have a drink during happy hour, which is buy one- get one free so we drank taiwan beer. The bed was comfortable but the room never got cool enough for me. My husband slept like a baby. The staff was very friendly and breakfast had made to order eggs. They offer free wi-fi and a shuttle around to a few hot spots in taiwan. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tkap_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

nice staff, breakfast is also good. rooms a large, clean but a little dated. bit of a walk from the mtr but taxi are cheap. if you have tome then go for a walk in the flower park. not sure why there a 200 word minimum but can't really think of anything else to write, so i'm just rambling on. overall taipei was an ok weekend but not really a place to go with family and young kids. its best done with friends or couples.. lots of food to eat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raz1260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Although its a distance walk away from taipei101, I really enjoy staying in this hotel. Although the exterior appearance seems square, the interior is clean, and neat.
The check in is straight forward. The room although is a little old, but everything is in good order. The bed linen does not have any funky smell etc.
breakfast is simple, refreshing served with good English speaking staff.

Would rate this as good as international chains

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mokette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Not the best hotel in Taipei, but there are very few good hotels in the city and they charge a huge a mount. This is a boutique hotel outside the centre and not near any metro stations, so it is not so expensive.

The standard rooms are fairly small and rather olf fashioned, but clean. They have spartan facilities, and they remind guests that every item in the rom has a cost- even the slippers. There is a small gym. Little in the way of TV channels for westerners.

My room was overlookonh the main road- and the windows are not double glazed, so fairly noisy.

It is not easy to find a hotel with even this average description in Taipei. So if you are on a budget this hotel shold be considered.

Room Tip: Ask for a room NOT looking onto the main road if you want a peaceful stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nemo149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Imperial Hotel Taipei
#66 of 571 in Taipei
781 reviews
Taipei Garden Hotel
#23 of 571 in Taipei
1,531 reviews
The Landis Taipei
#54 of 571 in Taipei
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
HOTEL QUOTE Taipei
#39 of 571 in Taipei
546 reviews
Songshan District
Ambience Hotel
Ambience Hotel
#8 of 571 in Taipei
1,350 reviews
Cosmos Hotel Taipei
#40 of 571 in Taipei
3,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riviera Hotel

Property: The Riviera Hotel
Address: No.646 Linsen North Road, Taipei 104, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#22 Romantic Hotel in Taipei
#32 Business Hotel in Taipei
#38 Family Hotel in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Riviera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riviera Hotel Taipei is proud to be the First and Only hotel in Taiwan to receive our LEED Gold Certification in November, 2012.Situated at the business hub of bustling Taipei city stands an international traveler oasis of serenity and refinement --- the Riviera Taipei boutique hotel, has 112 rooms; a Mediterranean Steak House restaurant, a Yacht Club restaurant, and a banquet room that can seat 240 people banquet style.The Riviera Taipei boutique hotel is designed by the world-renowned French architect, Mr. Gerard Jardonnet, with the theme of cordial sophistication of southern France, punctuated by the mystic authenticity of the Orient. Apart from the traditional accommodation service, the Riviera Taipei Hotel offers to her room guests quite a number of additional benefits completely free of charge. Internet Wired and Wireless Internet Access completely FREE of charge ANYWHERE within the boutique Riviera Taipei Hotel.Free Shuttle To MRT Yuanshan Station, CKS Memorial Hall, Yongkang St, Taipei 101, Confucius Temple, Shilin Night Market, CKS Shilin Residence, National Palace Museum and Taipei World Trade Center / Nangang Exhibition Center during Major Trade Shows in fixed period of time. The Riviera Taipei hotel is adjacent to Taipei Expo Park.Nearby attractions are Shihlin Night Market and National Palace Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing