We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average quality but not so expensive”
Review of The Riviera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Riviera Hotel
Ranked #46 of 578 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Not the best hotel in Taipei, but there are very few good hotels in the city and they charge a huge a mount. This is a boutique hotel outside the centre and not near any metro stations, so it is not so expensive.

The standard rooms are fairly small and rather olf fashioned, but clean. They have spartan facilities, and they remind guests that every item in the rom has a cost- even the slippers. There is a small gym. Little in the way of TV channels for westerners.

My room was overlookonh the main road- and the windows are not double glazed, so fairly noisy.

It is not easy to find a hotel with even this average description in Taipei. So if you are on a budget this hotel shold be considered.

Room Tip: Ask for a room NOT looking onto the main road if you want a peaceful stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nemo149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (565)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

167 - 173 of 565 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

This hotel is not one of the newest or biggest hotels in Taipei, but I would say it's one of the best quality you can get.

First of all, the room is big and nice and very clean everywhere.
For people who have longer stay like us, it's really nice to have space to unpack totally and store 2 big suitcases. The bed is very nice for sleep and the sound isolation from the windows is good, so even there is a construction site just in the back of the hotel and flights flying over its head, we didn't hear anything during our stay.
Inside the room, everyting and every details are considered ad well maintaned.

The staff are very friendly ad helpful and no problem to commuicate in English.
And they managed to make it peace and quiet in every corner in the hotel so it's not like noisy tourist hotels. Big plus.

The breakfast is one of the most recommeded I would say.
You ca find both Asian and western options on the buffet table and they taste really good.
If you prefer western breakfast as my boyfriend, the bread/cheese is good and the bacon is right crispy. The omelet is good too. The coffee is strong enough according to the scandinavian standard. And, the fresh passion fruit is one of the favorites (it has been well cut and processed so very easy to enjoy. BTW, taiwanese fruits are great tasty, never plain or boring).
If you prefer Asian breakfast like me, the plain congee and different small side dishes are classic option. The steam fish with soya(?) sauce and the green vegitables are my favorites. You can also enjoy well-made dim sum as living in HongKong. If you want to be more japanese style, there are also steamed rice and seaweed soup and yakult to start a day.
They do make sure you have a good breakfast whatever you prefer cold or warm meal.

There is also gym in the hotel but we didn't have time to use it. Pity.
The functionality around the hotel is rather convenient; there is a FamilyMart opening 24 hours just next to the hotel - easy to buy any small supply or pick up tickets. There is also a post office in walk distance and MRT station is around 10 minutes away by walk. Many dining places are available around the hotel even in late night.

If I have to be picky and say something bad about our stay in this hotel, the only thing I may complain is that there is no hooks by the room enterance so we couldn't hang our coats or winter jackets by the entrance but to hang them with other clothes in the closet. Small minus.

In general, this hotel is definitely worthy the money they charged.
In this hotel, you really see what the word "quality" stands for.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eratolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We arrived early and had to wait for our room we where showen to a confortable sitting lounge offered water coffee 0r tea
We where showen where the free wifi was that made the time fly
The staff are very friendly and nothing is to much trouble
We did not have much time to look around the hotel area as we where going on tours but found plenty of all kinds of budgets eating places

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dillon022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Nice Hotel with an European Feel. The Bed is cosy and comfy. The rooms are wide enough and i like the living room setting. The breakfast had varieties and options. The WiFi service is fast and reliable.

I suggest the staff should learn to be fluent in English, i had little difficulty communicating but I think the Hotel is worth the value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yomiatobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I often come to this hotel, but had never written a review on it.
The deluxe room is spacious and well organized. internet is fast and works well, although recently they have introduced a password, which was not necessary before and slows down the process of logging in. Breakfast is very good quality and also a good variety and choice. Room and laundry service were good. The staff at reception and concierge did not speak too much english and was less helpful than usual. A little bit far from the underground.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mirco P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Very boutique kind of hotel. It is small and personable – but perfect and confortable. Nice bed for an American. The rooms I had was a standard room. Not big like other reviewers mentioned. However, it was FINE. The hotel is really charming. There is a business center on the 7th floor that is very nice. Don’t miss the rooftop. It is a well done garden with a small gym in the middle. The gym is all glass. Really nice up there.
Breakfast was did not have huge variety – but they had good quality, good pastries. Very satisfied.

Staff at this hotel is very helpful. This is something I find at all hotels in Taiwan. This staff was young and excited to interact and help (in a good way).

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed here for 5 days while down in Taipei for a convention. The entrance is not impressive, but everything else is great. All the staff is extremely helpful and most speak good English. The rooms are huge (a full bedroom and a separate living room with a full desk). The room decor is a bit old fashioned but in excellent shape. Wifi was spotty but wired connection was great. Breakfast was good, the gym on the terrace had 2 treadmills and some exercise machines, with an awesome rooftop view.
The location is very centric, less than 10 minutes away from MRT stations, 4 blocks away from a night market, and with restaurants and shops all around.
They have a shuttle service that can take you to the convention center in the morning or some tourist spots in the afternoon.
Overall, I really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank E_Panama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Imperial Hotel Taipei
#66 of 578 in Taipei
808 reviews
The Landis Taipei
#57 of 578 in Taipei
859 reviews
Taipei Garden Hotel
#24 of 578 in Taipei
1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gloria Residence
#33 of 578 in Taipei
227 reviews
Tokyo International Hotel
#26 of 578 in Taipei
499 reviews
Songshan District
Ambience Hotel
Ambience Hotel
#6 of 578 in Taipei
1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riviera Hotel

Address: No.646 Linsen North Road, Taipei 104, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#22 Romantic Hotel in Taipei
#32 Business Hotel in Taipei
#38 Family Hotel in Taipei
Price Range: $116 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Riviera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riviera Hotel Taipei is proud to be the First and Only hotel in Taiwan to receive our LEED Gold Certification in November, 2012.Situated at the business hub of bustling Taipei city stands an international traveler oasis of serenity and refinement --- the Riviera Taipei boutique hotel, has 112 rooms; a Mediterranean Steak House restaurant, a Yacht Club restaurant, and a banquet room that can seat 240 people banquet style.The Riviera Taipei boutique hotel is designed by the world-renowned French architect, Mr. Gerard Jardonnet, with the theme of cordial sophistication of southern France, punctuated by the mystic authenticity of the Orient. Apart from the traditional accommodation service, the Riviera Taipei Hotel offers to her room guests quite a number of additional benefits completely free of charge. Internet Wired and Wireless Internet Access completely FREE of charge ANYWHERE within the boutique Riviera Taipei Hotel.Free Shuttle To MRT Yuanshan Station, CKS Memorial Hall, Yongkang St, Taipei 101, Confucius Temple, Shilin Night Market, CKS Shilin Residence, National Palace Museum and Taipei World Trade Center / Nangang Exhibition Center during Major Trade Shows in fixed period of time. The Riviera Taipei hotel is adjacent to Taipei Expo Park.Nearby attractions are Shihlin Night Market and National Palace Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing