We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of The Riviera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Riviera Hotel
Ranked #40 of 574 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Great location. It's within 10mins walk from Yuanshan station and it's convenient to travel around using the metro. There's a small convenience store just beside the hotel in case you need anything and a larger 7-11 if you are willing to walk further. My room didn't come with breakfast, but if you need breakfast there's a Si Hai Dou Jiang store near the hotel (opens from 4pm to next day 11am) - cheap and good food. It's also just one station away from Shilin Night Market and about two stations away from Ningxia Rd Night Market. Overall I would say the location was really good.

Mine was an Executive Double room. The room was large and spacious. Safe, iron and ironing board, mini bar, robes, slippers, bath tub etc. - everything you suppose they should have, they have it all. Large and clean beds too. They have wireless internet, so it's good for business travellers I guess, but the internet speed isn't very fast and it tends to drop off at times. No swimming pool and spa service but the executive garden kind of makes up for it.

But the thing that let me down though was the service. It was reasonable service to expect from a 4 star hotel, but nothing exceptional. Generally helpful and polite, but after that you run out of good things to say about their staff. Sometimes they seem kind of understaffed to me. Also, there was a day when housekeeping made up half the room, but forgot to do the other half. It was kind of disappointing.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jingle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    234
    27
    2
    1
See reviews for
160
119
58
140
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

First time to the country, but had agreat stay at the hotel. The staff were very polite and exceptionally helpfull.
The doorman was terrific, very helpfull.
The rooms were clean and well laid out, the view from the rooms was not so nice... run down buildings.
The bar was the worst part of the hotel it was cold and uninviting, but 100 meters down the road was avery nice bar.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Great hotel well located in the Zhongshan area. Excellent amenities with a typical Chinese garden on the roof for you to meditate. Entrance to the roof is behind the lifts on the top floor.

The beds are huge and very comfortable. Standard rooms are spacious enough and clean with bathrobes and slippers provided. The usual facilities as expected of the four star hotel – safe, mini bar, ironing board etc.

Restaurant serves excellent breakfast, mainly European food although could do with a bit more fruit. The Yacht Bar upstairs is open till 11.30pm only.

The staff were absolutely fabulous. Very helpful, knowledgeable and patient with any enquiries. They helped me out with sorting my outbound flight the night before – message was passed from one member of staff to another yet everything was sorted out in the morning! They always rushed to open the doors for guests.

What lets this great hotel down are its paper thin walls – you can hear every detail of the conversation in the room next door. Hence I was really grateful for the set of earplugs I carry with me everywhere on my trips.

Hotel offers a limo service to and from the airport – but it is expensive. You can get a taxi for about two thirds of the price or take a bus and then taxi from the Main Station as the nearest Metro station is at least 10 minutes away.

Do try the food at one of the night markets. The Shilin market has a whole Food Hall in the basement with some 20+ eateries inside.

I found the Jiuquan Metro station more convenient and easier to walk to – you can use the shortcut by the Exhibition Hall and the futuristic Eco Ark.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille, France
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

I went many times in this hotel for my business trips. It is a small hotel compared to most business hotels in this busy city. It is situated near the domestic airport and near some major attraction as the Grand hotel and the Shilin former persident residence.

The plus points :
- Large rooms.
- Clean and well decorated.
- Comfortable king size beds.
- The personnel is wonderful and very helpful. I know those people for some years now, they recognize me when I check in.
- Nice terrace on the top floor.
- Well equiped fitness room.

The minus points :

- No swimming pool or spa facilities.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JY59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

In the two dozen countries I've traveled in and the countless hotels where I've had to endure check-ins, I've never in my life been as impressed with the service of a hotel as I was here.

The car promptly picked me up at the airport; I arrived at the hotel where I walked up to the desk and it was 'Good evening Ms. XXXX. Your room key, internet access, card for complementary beverages, etc etc etc. Please let us take your baggage to your room' before I had to say a word - even my name. I was dumbfounded. It was the most incredibly expedient yet friendly and attentive service I have EVER received at check-in. Likewise, these women were lovely at every turn - even the requests for the (FREE!) shuttle service to the national museum, night market, and Taipei 101: all must-dos in Taipei. In addition to their hospitable attentiveness, the shuttle driver (Harry) was a knowledgeable gentleman who spoke perfect English and who seemed to truly enjoy his job of driving tourists to these sites.

The rooms themselves are very clean, comfortable, and spacious, and the breakfast buffet was excellent. If you are looking for extreme luxury, this isn't it, but if you're looking for a genuinely nice place to stay, this hotel is quite impressive, and I would stay here again without hesitation!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovingthetravelingli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

For first time in Taipei I have been recommended this hotel by a colleague. Due to my intense business schedule, I haven't had the chance to visit the area around it but it looked pretty decent and quite central.
The room I got was quite tiny, but very comfortable. The bed was a bit hard, which suits me very well. Minibar, LCD flat screen TV with a decent variety of channels (CNN available but no BBC).
The bathroom was quite small but clean with a good choice of amenities.
Internet was available for free both wired and wireless with a good speed.
The breakfast has a good variety of non-Chinese food, which is extremely important for me. Fruit, yoghurt (Swiss), pastries, cereals... Good variety and quality.
The staff is very, very kind and polite.
The restaurant has a good menu with a wide choice of meat (too much for me) all at reasonable prices.
The only inconvenience was that there many guests for a wedding. I had the bad luck to have some really excited girls in the room next to mine who talked late until late at night and woke up really early the next morning. If you see that there is a wedding, make sure that you are not in the same floor as the celebrating guests.
I will definitely return. Excellent value for your money.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Guggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

I stayed at this hotel twice recently for a total of 4 nights on a recommendation from a friend who travels to Taipei a lot for work. The hotel is quite reasonably priced considering the location, so I decided to give it a try. For me, the hotel interior is in need of a bit of refreshment, but all of the essentials are there. Staff all speak excellent English and are quite helpful. The staff also addressed me by my name which is always a nice touch in a boutique hotel. The rooms themselves (stayed in a basic room) are well-sized with a small sitting/work area in the front and the bed and TV in the back. Although the rooms aren't really new they're clean and well-enough equipped. They even provide a little bottle of laundry detergent in the bathroom which I found handy to do some light hand-washing in my room. Free Internet and breakfast are always good to have as well.

Breakfast was good with a decent selection of breads, hot/cold buffet items, fruit and cheeses. It was mainly a Western-style buffet but there were some items which were put there undoubtedly for the many Japanese guests they have.

They have a few shuttle buses which run to Taipei's tourist hotspots, but some of them only on weekends. Not such a big deal though since the hotel is a short walk from Zhongshan Guoxiao MRT station which can take you pretty much anywhere. The thing I liked most of the hotel was the relaxed atmosphere, everyone seemed "cool" and not up-tight as in Western chain business hotels like Hilton or Sheraton. This is sort of a well-kept secret in Taipei and I intend to stay here again next time I'm in town despite being an elite member of 4 different hotel programmes who all have a presence in the city.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank PersonalEnsign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Imperial Hotel Taipei
#66 of 574 in Taipei
792 reviews
Taipei Garden Hotel
#24 of 574 in Taipei
1,595 reviews
The Landis Taipei
#55 of 574 in Taipei
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
HOTEL QUOTE Taipei
#39 of 574 in Taipei
552 reviews
Gloria Residence
#35 of 574 in Taipei
219 reviews
Songshan District
Ambience Hotel
Ambience Hotel
#7 of 574 in Taipei
1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riviera Hotel

Property: The Riviera Hotel
Address: No.646 Linsen North Road, Taipei 104, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#22 Romantic Hotel in Taipei
#32 Business Hotel in Taipei
#38 Family Hotel in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Riviera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riviera Hotel Taipei is proud to be the First and Only hotel in Taiwan to receive our LEED Gold Certification in November, 2012.Situated at the business hub of bustling Taipei city stands an international traveler oasis of serenity and refinement --- the Riviera Taipei boutique hotel, has 112 rooms; a Mediterranean Steak House restaurant, a Yacht Club restaurant, and a banquet room that can seat 240 people banquet style.The Riviera Taipei boutique hotel is designed by the world-renowned French architect, Mr. Gerard Jardonnet, with the theme of cordial sophistication of southern France, punctuated by the mystic authenticity of the Orient. Apart from the traditional accommodation service, the Riviera Taipei Hotel offers to her room guests quite a number of additional benefits completely free of charge. Internet Wired and Wireless Internet Access completely FREE of charge ANYWHERE within the boutique Riviera Taipei Hotel.Free Shuttle To MRT Yuanshan Station, CKS Memorial Hall, Yongkang St, Taipei 101, Confucius Temple, Shilin Night Market, CKS Shilin Residence, National Palace Museum and Taipei World Trade Center / Nangang Exhibition Center during Major Trade Shows in fixed period of time. The Riviera Taipei hotel is adjacent to Taipei Expo Park.Nearby attractions are Shihlin Night Market and National Palace Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, ACCOR, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing