We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well positioned for business travellers”
Review of Grand Hyatt Taipei

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Taipei
Ranked #32 of 571 Hotels in Taipei
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
264 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Well positioned for business travellers”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Very well poistioned property with the commercial district, convention centre, high end shopping, town hall and wide range of dining options within walking distance. There is also access to a major bus station and MRT.
The hotel is in the midst renovations which were visbly invisible but audibly present. I was given a room on one of the newly renovated floors. The room is spacious, and well appointed but my room came without a view. So perhaps ask for rooms on floors 9 and above to get a decent view.
The breakfast is standard for major 5 star hotels and understandably there is a heavy emphasis on local fare for breakfast options.
Concierge and door staff are very helpful. The hotel has a good gym which several machines. Did not get a chance to use the pool as it was raining for the days I was there.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on floors 9 and above to get a decent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,338
    695
    160
    64
    19
See reviews for
354
298
175
1,201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
174 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

please do something to improve the breakfast buffet which wasn't nearly as good as in other Hyatts. The selections of fruit, bread, cheese, cold meats were very limited and service could be enhanced.

On the plus side, all staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Check-in was painless and the room was, as they say, very well-appointed. Nothing was missing apart from room slippers for which I searched in vain. My view was good, despite miserable weather outside. The Cheers Bar was an excellent location for the chamber of commerce function which I attended. The food served was superb, a lot better than the following morning's breakfast, and the serving staff unfailingly polite and efficient.

All in all, a good stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

I chose the hotel for my first visit to Taipei based on reviews on Tripadvisor and I was not disappointed.

As stated in many reviews, the hotel is in need of refurbishment and the room is a bit small as compared with the size of the hotel. But the room is clean and located in the prime location with many high end shopping malls around. It is 5 ~ 10 mins walk from the nearest train station (City Gov Station) but as a road runner I donˊt think itˊs a problem.

During my short 4D3N stay in this hotel, I was particularly impressed with the following areas :

1. nice heated pool. I see people swim at night while the temperature is below 20 degree!

2. good buffet dinner. oyster, sashimi, salad, hot dishes, desserts, ice cream ..... for just $7xx Taiwan dollar (cheaper than local buffet restaurants)

3. last and the most important of all, best gym I have ever seen! In addition to standard workout facilities, sauna, steam bath, quick dry machine etc, its Club Oasis allow hotel guests to use Taiwan-style spa (hot and icy cold spa) free of charge! You may have a glass of lemon water (also free of charge) and take a break at its relaxation room after a hot bath.

Oh yes, some people mentioned about ghosts in their reviews. To my disappointment I didnˊt see one during my stay in the hotel. As a Chinese, I do believe that the Chinese calligraphy at the entrance of lift lobby is to do away the evil spirits. Hey, a number of chain hotel put a bible in the drawer, you do believe it is here for you to read?

Will I be back next time? Definitely! Canˊt wait to use the facilities in Club Oasis again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosanerek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

May 2013 shows a good portion of the newly remodeled rooms at the GHT. The look is modern with an Asian flair. The hallways have also been remodeled. Some floors are split between new and old. The upgrade shows push button window shades, large plasma TVs.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moody751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
280 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

One of the good hotels in Taipei .i refer now to the new club rooms which have been renovated very nice functional and warm. Bathroom offer separate shower. All in all very nice. Room price on the high side in the city. The hotel offer many choices of restaurants I have eaten in the Japanese . In the coffee shop and the western restaurant all are extremely good and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yosef L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Hotel was really very nicely located and the staff were very helpful. Taipei 101 and the shopping mall, including the a very big bookstore was walking distance. It was a business trip, and this hotel is a nice hotel for business. The only thing I remember that can be improved is the speed of internet. If the hotel is fully booked, at some certain hours, the wireless slows down. There are many variety of food that can serve for different cultures. The food at the Business Lounge were nice also. There are some other restaurants, including Japanese and Chinese - a liitle bit over priced compared to what you will gonna have.
My room was facing Taipei 101, so nothing to complain!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozlem066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Best location.Convenient to reach any part of city.Centrally located adjacent to Taipei 101.
Staff were very polite and helpful.Breakfast spread was good.Excellent Housekeeping.Rooms were Spic and Span.Business services were also excellent.
Coffee shop and Italian restaurant were Okay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view of Taipei 101
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sudhamathi1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.4 mi away
W Taipei
W Taipei
#11 of 571 in Taipei
2,287 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei
2.7 mi away
Regent Taipei
Regent Taipei
#21 of 571 in Taipei
1,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Taipei
2.6 mi away
Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel
0.4 mi away
Humble House Taipei
Humble House Taipei
#56 of 571 in Taipei
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Taipei

Property: Grand Hyatt Taipei
Address: No.2 SongShou Road, Xinyi District, Taipei 110, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei > Xinyi District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Taipei
#12 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#26 Romantic Hotel in Taipei
#29 Family Hotel in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hyatt Taipei 4.5*
Number of rooms: 853
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Taipei is a luxury Taipei Hotel which anchors the city's most vibrant commercial centre in the Xinyi district. Adjacent to Taipei 101 Mall and Financial Tower, this Taipei 5 star hotel is conveniently linked to the Taipei World Trade Centre, the Taipei International Convention Centre and the Exhibition Halls.The grandeur of the atrium lobby, entrance and driveways projects the luxurious image of Grand Hyatt Taipei, where the design concept is centered on embracing the local culture. while also offering grand, luxurious and innovative style.The hotel's guestrooms and suites have a residential ambience offering scenic views of Taipei 101, the mountains and Taipei city, while our Grand Club rooms provide added luxury and personalised services. The residential, apartment-style suites on the top floor of the hotel provide distinct and exclusive accommodation, as well as stunning views over the city. Grand Hyatt Taipei is a city hotel that offers a variety of culinary choices in its multi-cuisine restaurants and bars. Food and beverage options include Chinese seafood and grilled US prime steaks. Visitors can also unwind in relaxing and luxurious bars. Grand Hyatt Taipei is home to extensive meeting and event facilities, including a magnificent pillar-free Grand Ballroom and the grand residence, Taipei's unique residential-style multi-event venue. All venues are professionally equipped and the hotel can host any event, from a private seminar for eight to a large convention for 1,200. Grand Hyatt Taipei also offers the best in luxury hotel recreation, including two 24-hour gymnasiums and an outdoor heated swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hyatt Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Taipei Hotel Taipei
Taipei Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Taipei
Taipei Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing