We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel and great breakfast buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Hyatt Taipei

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Taipei
Ranked #30 of 565 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel and great breakfast buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed here three nights while on vacation with my mom. We had a nice large room with a view of Taipei 101, it's worth requesting a room with a view of this very cool and immense tower. The hotel is a little bit "gold" looking. A lot of the decor is gold in color, which seems a little dated but maybe it's designed to show off the grandness of the hotel. Anyway, our beds were comfortable and the bathroom was large with a separate bath and shower. I also noticed, but never heard from our room, that there were some room renovations going on. My mom and I thought the highlight was the breakfast buffet, it's supposed to be the best in Taipei. It has a mixture of Western and Taiwanese style foods, including a congee/noodle/wonton bar, omelet and waffle station, hot hunk of ham station, and fresh fruit.

One thing that I have noticed with my vacation stays at hotels like this is that they are usually full of business people. This does often detract from the vacationess of the vacation. However, I can't fault the hotel for that, it's why it's there!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Taipei 101. Also, try and have the breakfast buffet as part of the room plan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank javahound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,217
    674
    155
    61
    18
See reviews for
321
282
165
1,146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

decent interiors, ideal location right next to Taipei 101 (happen to get view of 101 from my room), walking distance to MRT and Bus Interchange.
Rooms were cozy, quite and clean, one half of the hotel was undergoing renovation but didn't really impacted.
Breakfast needs options for Strict Vegetarians.
Staff seems to be in CNY celebration mood, had a great stay !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank forpriyank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vellore, India
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

had a lovely 24 hours with great comfort, hospitality and food. Frontdesk, concierge, all were great. great location near Taipei101, good restaurants, greatest chinese food; safe, secure, clean, green.

Room Tip: any room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debashish_danda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

If you are not a budget traveler then Grand Hyatt is a great hotel with a great location
The staff is friendly and helpful

2 years ago this hotel would get very good, but since they have close down Ziga Zaga it only get average, when you are on business travel it was very good to be on the hotel with customer
you did have everything under the same roof

Breakfast is great and there is a lot of restaurant near by the hotel
They are making a upgrade on rooms now and that was about time

Room Tip: Corner Suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fagerheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach CA
Level Contributor
222 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We just spent 5 nights at this hotel. First of all it is big. Our room was upgraded to a two bathroom suite with two walk in closets. (Platinum amex benefit) we also had the option of the breakfast buffet in the cafe or the concierge level breakfast. We chose the latter three days as it was quieter. There is a lovely pool area which seemed very well utilized. We ate at three of the hotel restaurants which all had good food.
The location was close to the tapei 101 tower and several nice upscale shopping malls. The service was very good.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harrodsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Very loud hotel. Whether it is the elevators, late night traffic of incredibly rude convention guests, I didn't sleep more than 3 hours any night I was here. Since sleeping is the point of a hotel room it is hard to give more than a 2 rating. The hotel did move my room, but it was just out of the frying pan and into the fire. My new room was away from the elevator, but my neighbors were up at all hours.

Breakfast was not included in my rate but I ate here anyway. It was not cheap but relatively good.

The hotel seems pretty old and needs some work but it isn't the worst conference center hotel I've stayed at (definitely not the best either).

Bottom line is I should know better than to stay in a convention hotel filled with people who have nothing better to do than go to conventions. I think this one is Chinese Amway reps.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keatingfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

I stayed here on business. The service was very good. Hotel is located next to Taipei 101 and close to MRT. It has very good restaurants inside the hotel, but expensive.
Room service food quality is fantastic.
The breakfast is also great, lots of options, great service and quality of food was excellent.

Reading some comments, I do agree that hotel is not new, but bed was very comfortable and TV was new, bathroom ok. I did not have any issue with bad smell.
I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bosfurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.4 mi away
W Taipei
W Taipei
#11 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,139 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei
1.7 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Taipei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Regent Taipei
Regent Taipei
#26 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,696 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel
0.4 mi away
Humble House Taipei
Humble House Taipei
#54 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Taipei

Property: Grand Hyatt Taipei
Address: No.2 SongShou Road, Xinyi District, Taipei 110, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Taipei > Xinyi District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Taipei
#12 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#26 Romantic Hotel in Taipei
#29 Family Hotel in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hyatt Taipei 4.5*
Number of rooms: 853
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Taipei is a luxury Taipei Hotel which anchors the city's most vibrant commercial centre in the Xinyi district. Adjacent to Taipei 101 Mall and Financial Tower, this Taipei 5 star hotel is conveniently linked to the Taipei World Trade Centre, the Taipei International Convention Centre and the Exhibition Halls.The grandeur of the atrium lobby, entrance and driveways projects the luxurious image of Grand Hyatt Taipei, where the design concept is centered on embracing the local culture. while also offering grand, luxurious and innovative style.The hotel's guestrooms and suites have a residential ambience offering scenic views of Taipei 101, the mountains and Taipei city, while our Grand Club rooms provide added luxury and personalised services. The residential, apartment-style suites on the top floor of the hotel provide distinct and exclusive accommodation, as well as stunning views over the city. Grand Hyatt Taipei is a city hotel that offers a variety of culinary choices in its multi-cuisine restaurants and bars. Food and beverage options include Chinese seafood and grilled US prime steaks. Visitors can also unwind in relaxing and luxurious bars. Grand Hyatt Taipei is home to extensive meeting and event facilities, including a magnificent pillar-free Grand Ballroom and the grand residence, Taipei's unique residential-style multi-event venue. All venues are professionally equipped and the hotel can host any event, from a private seminar for eight to a large convention for 1,200. Grand Hyatt Taipei also offers the best in luxury hotel recreation, including two 24-hour gymnasiums and an outdoor heated swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Taipei Hotel Taipei
Taipei Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Taipei
Taipei Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing