We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Grand Hyatt Taipei

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Taipei
Ranked #34 of 575 Hotels in Taipei
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I stayed at the Grand Hyatt during a business trip to Taipei for 5 nights

Positives
Great location for the business district and the shops in Taipei 101. Very good breakfast buffet. Free Wifi. Plenty of on site facilities. Great staff who helped arrange a late checkout for me.

Negatives
Very hard to find anything wrong during my stay

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tynan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,413
    713
    163
    65
    21
See reviews for
375
306
184
1,246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Great location next to Taipei 101 and 10mins walking distance from the hip shopping area of Xinyi district (星光三越). Room is big with a spacious marble-laid bathroom (bathtub + separate standing shower). Bed was a nice fluffy king with too many pillows for a solo traveller. ;) Getting my in-room wifi up & running was a challenge, with several calls placed to the business desk. Network was iffy at times and I'd to reconnect whenever the connection dropped. They provided free LAN as well which was much better & stable in comparison. Hotel is also very established & well-known so most taxi drivers know where it is immediately when I mention 君悅. Staff are welcoming and friendly. Front desk staff spoke good English though I communicated with them mostly in Mandarin. Excellant place to stay for New Year's countdown as it overlooks the stage for the Taipei countdown concert (臺北市政府跨年演唱會) & fireworks from Taipei 101. Buffet breakfast was ok though variety could be improved, was thoroughly sick of the spread by the fourth morning.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing Taipei 101
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xiaoxxiong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

When I travel, particularly when I am 10 or so hours off my circadian cycle and in a place where I can't speak the language, and I have to be somewhere sharp and on top of things, the last thing I want in lodging is a cultural adventure. I want clean, quite, decent breakfast, and Internet that works. The Grand Hyatt has all this, plus, the common spaces are impeccably appointed and maintained. Taxis are easy to find, and there are diversions within walking distance--a small night market, and a sort of vertical Rodeo Drive in the famous 101 Tower. The room itself was mostly good--reasonably quiet and nicely decorated. The breakfast is excellent--lots of healthy choices from fish to muselli, interesting fruits, and a section of not-so-good for you but tasty anyway pastries. A little more attention to detail would raise my rating--examples: the room windows were quite dirty, and the bathroom a little tired--caulking around the tub had been replaced numerous times and was cracked and peeling. One odd thing: The outlet in the bathroom takes only a European-style plug (the rest of the room had traditional two-prong American style outlets). I borrowed an adapter from the hotel, only to find that it converted American to European, so it was no help at all. The upshot is that to use a razor or hair styling device, you must be at the desk in the bedroom, and there's no mirror close by. On my last day I did figure out that I could use the outlet for the dryer that appears to be attached to the wall by pulling out a vanity drawer and wriggling my arm over the back of the drawer and feeling around for the outlet. If you have big arms this won't work for you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leighsscreenname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

It is the first time that I stay at Grand Hyatt Taipei in a business trip. I would say it is in a great location as it is close to CBD within a walk distance to the office buildings or shopping malls.

The room - If you are lucky you would be able to have view to 101 building which is fantastic. The room are just standard room and the shower really need to have some renovation. The TV is a bit old but it still comes with HDMI (this become popular for people who would like to view videos from their DHMI equipped PC or iPad.

The breakfast - I would say Taipei is the food paradise so you would also got to enjoy a lot of local food from the hotel cafeteria. My room rate includes the free breakfast and I love it and naturally gained a lot weight after checking out.

Getting around - I checked in quite late to the hotel. There is only one 7-11 type shop to get some snacks as all other shops were closed. There is no immediate food street near the hotel. You need to walk a number of blocks to the MRT station where there are plenty of foods to find. It is about 10-15 min walk to the MRT and it is very much like in Tokyo where underground shopping is quite popular.

The taxi drive told me that the hotel is around 30 year+ old so I do think it needs a renovation. If you prefer a new and better hotel I would suggest you look at W hotel which is even closer to the CBD area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to face Taipei 101 when you check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyer10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed on the 20 F which is in the Grand Club. There are reservations underway but works end by late evening so there is no real interruption. As a matter of fact they have discounted says on this floor because of the noise so it's a good time to book in the Grand Club which is otherwise very pricy.

The bathroom could be better. As a Japan resident I expect shower toilets and hot water all through the day but they turn off the hot water between 2 and 5 AM.

The seafood on the lunch and dinner buffet is fresh and plentiful, not to mention the fruit and veggies.

I would say this is ideal for business vistors to Taipei because of its proximity to the World Trade Centre.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MA_PSK83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The hotel is currently under renovation, including wiring and central air. Our room had not yet been renovated, but was very clean, comfortable, and roomy. The breakfast in the Grand Club had a wide selection of breakfast food and was good, but not spectacular. Glad they had an omelette station. The snacks in the evening were good, too.

The staff bent over backwards when I have inadvertently left my mobile in a taxi and helped me to track it down. Bravo to them!

We plan to stay here again when we come back to Taipei.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 6 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The Grand Hyatt Taipei has some of the best service I’ve ever experienced at a hotel and is well suited for business travelers. The staff really does jump to attention at just about every request – including assisting with a large delivery of business documents, having a personal attendant at meeting rooms, assisting with lights in the room (see below), and picking up laundry at a moment’s notice. Although assistance is available for anything, the staff doesn’t overwhelm you by constant hovering.
The rooms were decent sized and the bathroom in my room had both a glass-enclosed shower and a large soaking tub. I was happy with both options. My room had a view of Taipei 101. Another member of our group had a full suite and he seemed happy with that. I slept well each night. The lobby entry way is gorgeous. The rooms themselves are nicely decorated, with a desk, lounge chair, and flat screen TV, but are not decadent by any means. Internet is free, with both wired and wireless. (We found that the wireless was sometimes a little spotty.) Location is great – central Taiwan, next to Taipei 101 and the Sun Yat Sen memorial.
Note that services at the hotel do not come cheap. If you’re on an expense account and need things (copies, food, etc.) at a moment’s notice, this will not be a problem. But this is not a place for somebody on a budget. However, the quality of service for just about everything is really amazing, and I would gladly stay here again just because the staff made our lives so much easier while we were conducting business.
A few (very) minor gripes: (1) The lighting system in the room is a little incomprehensible – I needed to have somebody show me the three separate buttons and knobs (in different corners of the room) needed to operate my desk light. (2) The food at many of the in-hotel restaurants is kind of bleh. (This doesn’t affect my rating because I think this is an issue with Taiwanese food generally, and not just the food at this hotel.) The breakfast buffet is probably the best of the meals.
(Note that despite my gripe about the food, the restaurant staff is extremely accomodating: One member of our group thought she had ordered a vegetarian entrée from room service. About 3 minutes after she placed her order, room service called her back, saying that they knew she was vegetarian, that the dish included meat broth, and making alternate suggestions.)

Room Tip: Some rooms face Taipei 101.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NooYawkuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.4 mi away
W Taipei
W Taipei
#11 of 575 in Taipei
2,371 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei
2.7 mi away
Regent Taipei
Regent Taipei
#22 of 575 in Taipei
1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Taipei
2.6 mi away
Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel
2.7 mi away
The Okura Prestige Taipei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Taipei

Property: Grand Hyatt Taipei
Address: No.2 SongShou Road, Xinyi District, Taipei 110, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei > Xinyi District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Taipei
#13 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#26 Romantic Hotel in Taipei
#29 Family Hotel in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hyatt Taipei 4.5*
Number of rooms: 853
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Taipei is a luxury Taipei Hotel which anchors the city's most vibrant commercial centre in the Xinyi district. Adjacent to Taipei 101 Mall and Financial Tower, this Taipei 5 star hotel is conveniently linked to the Taipei World Trade Centre, the Taipei International Convention Centre and the Exhibition Halls.The grandeur of the atrium lobby, entrance and driveways projects the luxurious image of Grand Hyatt Taipei, where the design concept is centered on embracing the local culture. while also offering grand, luxurious and innovative style.The hotel's guestrooms and suites have a residential ambience offering scenic views of Taipei 101, the mountains and Taipei city, while our Grand Club rooms provide added luxury and personalised services. The residential, apartment-style suites on the top floor of the hotel provide distinct and exclusive accommodation, as well as stunning views over the city. Grand Hyatt Taipei is a city hotel that offers a variety of culinary choices in its multi-cuisine restaurants and bars. Food and beverage options include Chinese seafood and grilled US prime steaks. Visitors can also unwind in relaxing and luxurious bars. Grand Hyatt Taipei is home to extensive meeting and event facilities, including a magnificent pillar-free Grand Ballroom and the grand residence, Taipei's unique residential-style multi-event venue. All venues are professionally equipped and the hotel can host any event, from a private seminar for eight to a large convention for 1,200. Grand Hyatt Taipei also offers the best in luxury hotel recreation, including two 24-hour gymnasiums and an outdoor heated swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Taipei Hotel Taipei
Taipei Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Taipei
Taipei Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing