We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's nice in a good location”
Review of Grand Hyatt Taipei

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Taipei
Ranked #32 of 571 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
76 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“It's nice in a good location”
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Again, I cannot add too much to the existing review. Most of what recent reviews said is pretty much what we experienced. It is a nice hotel in a good location but the rooms, especially the carpets, tend to be pass their prime.

Location: Right across from the 101 building - if you take the foot bridge outside the hotel you will end up right around the Zegna store in the 101 building on 2nd floor. There is a great food court in the bottom floor, and it has a branch of the famous Din Tai Fung. City Hall metro stop is around 15 minutes walk away, as people have stated. With the good metro system, hotel is in good location. If you choose to take the bus to/from the airport, the stop is outside the back of the hotel.

Service: The services were professional. Concierge was knowledgeable. Nothing especially memorable, good or bad.

Food: The breakfast buffet was very nice. There were a good selection of Taiwanese fares, dim sum, congee, stir-fries, etc., and the western pastries were actually very good. There was a conference and it was a bit hectic, but once the wave was over, it was nice. The breakfast up at the club lounge is an abbreviated version of the buffet downstairs. Their Japanese restaurant is supposed to be very good but we did not try.

Gym/Pool: The gym and the general spa area is very good. The equipment is comprehensive and new, but it does get crowded in the morning when everyone was there (probably due to the conference in the hotel). The locker room area has a really nice looking sauna/jacuzzi area. It was one of the nicer hotel spa that is free to guests. The pool looks very nice, but it was raining so we did not use.

Room: The junior suite room was a good size, but due to the old carpet, it just look very dated. However, it was clean and the layout was nice. Once Hyatt gets to refresh the rooms to match with the lobby and spa, it should be a much nicer experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank so_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,335
    695
    160
    64
    19
See reviews for
354
298
175
1,198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Very nice looking hotel, with a location that really can't be beat, especially for business travelers. Staff is helpful and speak English well. The wifi service is kinda pricey, and weirdly at one point all the electricity blinked out for no reason. Bathroom was a bit worn. My biggest beef with this hotel and Hyatt in general was that I booked my room through a travel agent, and they wouldn't credit my stay there with their loyalty program. What kind of crap is that? I chose the Hyatt in Taipei BECAUSE I was a member of their program, but for them to stiff me on the points is pretty low. Nice hotel no loyalty from now on, guys.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHR S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
215 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

My host company had booked me in here for a 4 day stay. I had little time to enjoy to be honest, but it is an elegant hotel with an outstanding service from staff. Typically Grand Hyatt in many ways, the lobby is a vast marble palace. The rooms are not the most modern, but I had a very spacious one which was spotless, very roomy and very comfortable if not the last word in luxury. Given the shape of the hotel, two rooms per floor seem to be somewhat larger and I had one of those - maybe at the request of my hosts and possibly at extra cost. Look for room with an '05 suffix. it also had free internet access. it had a lounge and an office area, all open plan, with a spacious bedroom to the side.

The food is excellent. The breakfast buffet is quite something with a huge range of local Asian and western food and the service could not be better. Given the number of guests at breakfast, they have to be startlingly efficient. I ordered room service a number of times, given that I was woking very late and it was wonderful./ Despite a note in the room brochure saying it closes at 11pm, it's 24 hours.

There are two small gift shops to the sides of the lobby. I was almost kidnapped in an attempt to sell me some pretty expensive jade jewellery but I managed to escape. Do look out for the wonderful wooden sculpture near the left-hand exit. Very simple but striking and elegant.

The local area is mostly redeveloped and very modern, including the Taipei 101, a five minute walk away and worth a visit. Luckily I was treated to dinner on the 85th floor on a very clear night, so the view was outstanding. There are also some more local neighbourhoods nearby, with small cafes open till very late asnd I discovered the western style, Target bar only a ten minute zig zag away. The hotel is in the east of the city, a now plush entertainment and shopping area, so a few miles form the heart of Taipei.

The MRT is the best subway system I've seen. Spotless, efficient, and very regular and the best means of getting around Tapei. The nearest station to the hotel is City Hall, a ten minute stroll.

A great city and a great hotel.

Room Tip: anyting with an 05 suffix, but it might be extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liege-Bastogne-Liege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

This hotel is not new any more. They public areas have been nicely kept up, and the spa area was redone a few years ago and is very elegant. Now if only they would redo the rooms as most have stained or worn carpeting. Otherwise I enjoy staying here as the employees are always incredibly helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

Checked into the Grand Hyatt Taipei for the said location advantage, Taipei 101 the works.. Yup the location is the strongest drawcard here. The lobby is the typical Asian ballroom as large as it gets modus operandi, but the room size is its weakest attribute. Rooms are small for a top decker hotel chain in Asia, I guess you can call it being very HongKongish in terms of size. Noise insulation was poor - could hear the kids across screaming. Check in and check out was rather bad. Slow and pathetic. Would give the buffett spread a strong plus. The chefs actually wok-ed out in front of everyone. Again space constraint meant people kept bumming into each other. On the way to the airport, the driver mentioned the hotel is built on top of an old cemetary! He said there are two amulet paintings at the lobby...yes I did see them, did the ghostbusters? Would give it a miss unless you are drawn to the location factor.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vectra228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2011

I stayed at the Grand Hyatt Taipei for 4 nights on a business trip to Taiwan. This is my second stay at this hotel. I was among a group of 7 from my company and we had various room rates. I booked my room 5 weeks in advance at 5700 TWD per night and included complimentary breakfast and internet. My colleagues were not so lucky.

The 4 story lobby is quite impressive with a beautiful fountain. I had a Grand Deluxe King room on the 20th floor with the view of Taipei 101 tower. The room setting was exactly as shown on the website. The bathroom started to show its age but still very clean and nicely maintained. The room was quiet and the bed was very comfortable. I ate the Pearl Ling and the other Chinese restaurant for 3 nights. The food was amazing but very pricy for Taiwan. The breakfast buffet was another eye opening experience. Large selection of traditional Chinese breakfast, Western breakfast in addition to a variety of breads, rolls, pastries, cold cuts, fresh fruits and juices.

Overall, I was very pleased with the hotel but for the following reasons, I give a 4 star rating. The traffic congestion during rush hours makes the Metro the most convenient transportation but the Metro is about a 10-15 minutes walk from the hotel which is not so convenient. The hotel is quite a distance away from the international airport. As soon as you inquire on the transportation to the airport, the front desk will quickly book you a hotel car for about $70 USD. There is a public shuttle bus to and from the international airport departs from the hotel side entrance for a very small fee (about $4 USD) but the front desk will tell you unless you know to ask for the bus. I only found out about the bus from one of the magazines in the room. The bus is clean, modern and comfortable. You'll be riding with the locals and other smart travelers. You can buy the ticket at the front desk. The same bus also runs from airport to hotel.

Room Tip: High floor is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnNJNewJersey_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

I stayed there as part of a 1000 person group of people who were meeting at the convention center that is located down the street. On the positive side, this hotel is conveniently located next to the Taiwan International Convention Center (TICC) and the 101 Tower. There are a lot of food, shopping, and entertainment options nearby. Hotel service was excellent, and the room was quiet. Internet connectivity was sufficient to use Skype or iChat/AV.

On the other hand, the bed was quite hard and when I entered my 6th floor room, there was a HEPA air filter running full blast, perhaps due to a very mild mildew smell. While the breakfast buffet is enormous, the price is commensurate, and for other meals – most notably lunch– there is no a 'la carte option.

Depending on when and how you book there is a wide variance in price. For the same convention we saw prices ranging from 5200 - 7200 TWD per night for the same room, and the rates fluctuated.

What keeps this hotel from being a four star in my mind was a combination of the need for the HEPA filter and a lack of reasonable in-hotel a 'la carte restaurant options. Oh and the Cheers! bar was astronomically priced.

Room Tip: Aim for higher than the 6th floor or you'll end up with people at the pool looking into your win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irritant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.4 mi away
W Taipei
W Taipei
#11 of 571 in Taipei
2,284 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei
2.7 mi away
Regent Taipei
Regent Taipei
#21 of 571 in Taipei
1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Taipei
2.6 mi away
Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel
0.4 mi away
Humble House Taipei
Humble House Taipei
#54 of 571 in Taipei
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Taipei

Property: Grand Hyatt Taipei
Address: No.2 SongShou Road, Xinyi District, Taipei 110, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei > Xinyi District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Taipei
#12 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#26 Romantic Hotel in Taipei
#29 Family Hotel in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hyatt Taipei 4.5*
Number of rooms: 853
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Taipei is a luxury Taipei Hotel which anchors the city's most vibrant commercial centre in the Xinyi district. Adjacent to Taipei 101 Mall and Financial Tower, this Taipei 5 star hotel is conveniently linked to the Taipei World Trade Centre, the Taipei International Convention Centre and the Exhibition Halls.The grandeur of the atrium lobby, entrance and driveways projects the luxurious image of Grand Hyatt Taipei, where the design concept is centered on embracing the local culture. while also offering grand, luxurious and innovative style.The hotel's guestrooms and suites have a residential ambience offering scenic views of Taipei 101, the mountains and Taipei city, while our Grand Club rooms provide added luxury and personalised services. The residential, apartment-style suites on the top floor of the hotel provide distinct and exclusive accommodation, as well as stunning views over the city. Grand Hyatt Taipei is a city hotel that offers a variety of culinary choices in its multi-cuisine restaurants and bars. Food and beverage options include Chinese seafood and grilled US prime steaks. Visitors can also unwind in relaxing and luxurious bars. Grand Hyatt Taipei is home to extensive meeting and event facilities, including a magnificent pillar-free Grand Ballroom and the grand residence, Taipei's unique residential-style multi-event venue. All venues are professionally equipped and the hotel can host any event, from a private seminar for eight to a large convention for 1,200. Grand Hyatt Taipei also offers the best in luxury hotel recreation, including two 24-hour gymnasiums and an outdoor heated swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Taipei Hotel Taipei
Taipei Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Taipei
Taipei Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing