We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Brilliant Service, Central Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Hyatt Taipei

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Taipei
Ranked #30 of 565 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
418 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Brilliant Service, Central Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

I stayed in the Grand Hyatt for 5 days on a buisness trip.
The hotel is very central, close to City Hall with lots of restaurants and shops in the vicinity. It offers a number of dining options if you do not want to venture out. The breakfast buffet offers something for everybody - hot, cold, Japanese, American, Chinese, you name it, they have it. It is kept clean and tidy and even if you come shortly before closing time you find the same choice.
The service throughout the hotel is impeccable; I needed a lot of last minute support from the business centre and they could not have been more helpful, someone stayed on after closing time to make sure I got all my documentation.
The bathrooms look a little dated - having said that: everything is spotlessly clean.
The concierge was knowlegeable and helped me to make the most of the free time I had to explore the city.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACL3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,217
    674
    155
    61
    18
See reviews for
321
282
165
1,146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

As a hotel for a quick stopover in Taipei on a business trip, I can recommend the Hyatt. I could not recommend it for a leisure visit as the overall feel of the hotel is not particularly relaxing. It is well located and there are numerous places to eat within walking distance. The rooms are perfectly functional, the beds comfortable but not luxurious. The staff at reception are attentive, as are those in the cafe where there is a good breakfast buffet. A simple renovation tok update the feel of the place and to bring it up to date would bring this properties potential to life.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hardtopleaseofhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
92 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

Stayed 6 nights. Check in was efficient and the staff speak excellent English. Room was very well appointed and the bathroom was very large, with a separate shower unit within. Toiletries were of good quality, and include a shower loofah. Beds were firm and we slept well. Membership as Gold Hyatt passport member (easily done on line) entitles you to free morning coffee of tea served in your room, and we appreciate the free daily paper too. Our room deal included free internet which worked well, as well as breakfast which was truly excellent. The buffet spread was quite staggering, with both western and asian offerings. There was even a carvery featuring a whole gammon ham, and an open kitchen where your eggs can be cooked to order.

I did not use the pool. There are two gyms, one featuring weights and a much larger one with cardio and cable machines. Even more impressive was the spa, which was free. This was a very large oasis with a big jacuzzi pool next to a cold pool, there were also a steam room and a sauna. Within the spa were many shower cubicles and a ice shower which I loved after using the sauna, a relaxation room and lounge with comfortable chairs and herbal beverages.

Location was ideal as it was connected via an overhead bridge to 101, and indeed from there you can use the network of overhead bridges to walk to other malls and eventually to the main metro station, without ever having to walk on the streets! The hotel was very well located for the world trade centre too.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unfrequentflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

Booked through American Express as we are Centurion members. Arrived in the evening of September 27 and the check-in staff Jane at the front desk was fantastic. She was anxious to let us know the the Amex Centrion offer included a free buffet dinner but we wanted to go to a fining dining Japanese restaurant called Mitsui. Jane went out of her way to organise our booking and wrote out the direction so we won't get lost. On September 28 at 10am I strolled along after breakfast to the concierge desk looking for some local tour information and found this woman called Uma at the concierge desk. What a dreadful experience in contrast! The whole time Uma was reluctant to help and you need a magnifying glass to find any trace if smal on her face. In fact she had a pretty horrible smirk and basically give you the clear impression that you are wasting her valuable time. Because of our friendship with the Hyatt Regional President I was almost tempted to write to the top man about this woman called Uma but our experience with the Grand Hyatt was finally redeemed on our departure upon check out when we met Eliza Yang, a brilliant front desk officer who was a sheer pleasure to work with. I have not come across many rude staff in all our 35 years of international travel but Uma would have won top prize for being lazy and unresponsive.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackMSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

Was told by me colleagues that the Hotel is haunted so I had to sleep with the TV on the whole night. Also told not to touch anything in the room so as not to disturb the spirits so it took me two days to realize that they do have coffee and tea in the rooms. Scary. At the end of the day, did not see anything, hear anything ot felt anything that I did not wish to see, hear of feel.
Kind of silly actually because I found the Hotel a very good one. It has a gym, undergoing renovation when I was there. The equipment there are comprehensive and much better then almost all the other Hotels I have been to. The Spa is nice except that they set the temperature too high in the sauna, came out of it like a baked lobster. You should try the breakfast, very good spread although the selection of fresh fruits, I was hoping for more local fruits, was a bit disappointing. The staff are very helpful and accommodating. I keep reading from reviews that it is a old Hotel but I do not find anything old about it. The rooms are bright and spacious.Shopping is not a problem with 101 and other shopping malls near it. Slightly far from the underground station, about 10 minutes' walk for me and I am a very fast walker. The good thing is that you can get from the Hotel to the underground station along a sheltered path so rain is not a problem. If not for the ghost factor I will definitely want to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KCPZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

This is a pretty grand hotel... you'll see that from the large doors and massive lobby, it's quite a welcome. It is located right next to the convention center, which was perfect for my business trip.
The room itself was very large and clean, but did not have an iron board, which annoyed me a little. Otherwise it was a comfortable place to rest.
The staff throughout the hotel were very friendly and helpful, especially the front desk who were happy to tell you about the sights in the area and where to go for a nice dinner.
The only con about this hotel is that while being grand, it looks rather old-fashioned - you'll notice the clunky bathroom fixtures and closets. I know the hotel is undertaking renovations, so it would be interesting to see how that turns out, but still, would recommend staying here in you're in Taipei.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prithim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

This is my second stay at this property and I loved it again. As a diamond Hyatt member the upgrade here were welcome. The room was very large with two full bathrooms and a sitting area. It is a magnificent old hotel but my room was pleasantly updated and very clean. The regency club on the 22nd floor was well stock for breakfast or dinner. The staff is wonderful from checkin, to room service, to airport driver. I completely reccomend the Grand Old Girl if you are in Taipei.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UoMdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.4 mi away
W Taipei
W Taipei
#11 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,139 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei
1.7 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Taipei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Regent Taipei
Regent Taipei
#26 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,696 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel
0.4 mi away
Humble House Taipei
Humble House Taipei
#54 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Taipei

Property: Grand Hyatt Taipei
Address: No.2 SongShou Road, Xinyi District, Taipei 110, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Taipei > Xinyi District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Taipei
#12 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#26 Romantic Hotel in Taipei
#29 Family Hotel in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hyatt Taipei 4.5*
Number of rooms: 853
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Taipei is a luxury Taipei Hotel which anchors the city's most vibrant commercial centre in the Xinyi district. Adjacent to Taipei 101 Mall and Financial Tower, this Taipei 5 star hotel is conveniently linked to the Taipei World Trade Centre, the Taipei International Convention Centre and the Exhibition Halls.The grandeur of the atrium lobby, entrance and driveways projects the luxurious image of Grand Hyatt Taipei, where the design concept is centered on embracing the local culture. while also offering grand, luxurious and innovative style.The hotel's guestrooms and suites have a residential ambience offering scenic views of Taipei 101, the mountains and Taipei city, while our Grand Club rooms provide added luxury and personalised services. The residential, apartment-style suites on the top floor of the hotel provide distinct and exclusive accommodation, as well as stunning views over the city. Grand Hyatt Taipei is a city hotel that offers a variety of culinary choices in its multi-cuisine restaurants and bars. Food and beverage options include Chinese seafood and grilled US prime steaks. Visitors can also unwind in relaxing and luxurious bars. Grand Hyatt Taipei is home to extensive meeting and event facilities, including a magnificent pillar-free Grand Ballroom and the grand residence, Taipei's unique residential-style multi-event venue. All venues are professionally equipped and the hotel can host any event, from a private seminar for eight to a large convention for 1,200. Grand Hyatt Taipei also offers the best in luxury hotel recreation, including two 24-hour gymnasiums and an outdoor heated swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, Orbitz, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Taipei Hotel Taipei
Taipei Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Taipei
Taipei Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing