We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy the Oriental Splendor”
Review of Grand Hotel Taipei

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Taipei
Ranked #71 of 574 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2006

This was a great choice for our first stop in Asia. The grandeur of the hotel was splendid indeed - the lobby, the grounds, the shopping arcade toward the back of the hotel, and the balcony big enough for a miniature golf course.

The service was amazing. When we discovered the toilet was plugged, it took less than 120 seconds from the time we told the maid in the hall for a man to arrive and complete the repair.

The breakfast buffet was decent but not exciting. And although we opted for a premium room on a higher floor, truth to tell, Taipei is not that scenic a city, at least from this angle, so we could have saved the money.

It was a minor inconvenience to have to take the hotel shuttle to the MRT station, but we only did that the first time; once we found out how reasonable the taxis are in Taipei we made more use of them.

We were advised to stay at the more modern Hyatt at the World Trade Center, but are glad we resisted. Hyatts are everywhere. The Grand Hotel Taipei is the sort of place you travel in order to stay at.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank toolworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (923)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Taipei
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

319 - 325 of 923 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Texas
16
Reviewed July 16, 2005

The Grand Hotel is excellent in every way. Staff is friendly and very helpful. The shops have the best prices in town, (especially the first jewelery store on the right on the second floor owned by Annabelle) and they are most willing to deal. Room service very fast, and food is hot when it arrives! The breakfast buffet that comes with the cost of the room is wonderful, and will easily satisfy you until your evening meal. Shower is great, and the crisp, clean down comforter will cuddle you to sleep. Close to everything and taxis and shuttle are right there to take you wherever you need to go! This is the hotel you want!!!

  • Stayed: July 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
550
Reviewed March 24, 2005

It is three years since we stayed there, but reminded of it when recommending it for friends. Taipei is worth visiting for the stupendous Imperial Museum and the Grand Hotel, quite the most magnificent I have ever stayed in. Rooms are huge, service is absolutely fabulous and the decor is breathtaking, inside and outside. The best hotel ever. The balcony was as big as some New York hotel rooms I have stayed in. It was also not outlandishly expensive. Did not see the inside rooms, that are cheaper, but was told they are the same size.

I would not only recommend this hotel but would recommend going to Taipei to stay in it. The ever skeptical Dr. Johnson, when taken to the Giant's Causeway in N. Ireland by his friend Boswell, was asked "There now, wasn't that worth seeing?" and is reputed to have replied "Worth seeing, yes, but not worth going to see." The Grand Hotel is worth going to see. And while you are there visit the Imperial Museum, one of the two or three finest in the world.

10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2005

stayed there from Jan 3 - 6 2005.

Location

Good location. Although it is a little isolated, situated on top of its own little hill, it is 10min walk to the train station. Also the hotel provides its own free shuttle service frequently to major areas. So for the peace and quiet and the less hustle and bustle of the city, it is worth staying here.


Hotel

This is the FIRST 5 Star Hotel in Taiwan. It has a very long history and although it is a little older, it is still 5 star and a great place to stay. The inside is decorated as if it was a chinese palace or something. Awesome!

Service

Great service, staff all very friendly and willing

Overall

Excellent place to stay, room is great, clean, the hotel itself is excellent, elegant, staff all nice, many restaurants to eat at, shops to shop for souveneirs, shuttle bus service for free.

would stay there again for sure!

10  Thank Jeffro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Chicago, IL, USA
112
Reviewed November 2, 2004

I'm actually writing this looking out over the lights of Taipei from my balcony window at the Grand Hotel. I'm just completely overwhelmed by this grand palace. The place makes me feel like a Ching Dynasty Prince, from the moment I walked in the 12 foot high doors into the hall that looks straight out of the Forbidden City. The room itself is very large and spacious and the sparklingly clean bathroom is as big as some bedrooms I've seen in Chicago,...as is everything in this place, from the restaurants right down to my bedroom balcony. Speaking of big, the breakfast buffet (included in the room price) has to be seen to be believed. You can have a delicious traditional American-style cooked breakfast (with a do-it-yourself fresh-roast coffee machine--press one button and it grinds your coffee, brews it in a flash and serves it!). And/or browse the cold breakfast section as well as a completely stocked stocked chinese breakfast table groaning under 20 different sorts of breakfast foods to compliment your congee (rice porridge) and hot soymilk. ( I loved the fried bread croutons and pickled ginger slivers--haven 't been too brave about the 1000 Year Eggs though!). Really, this should/could hold you till supper, almost.

Two things to note: Walking out to/from the (extensive) grounds the hotel is not easy, since there is a major expressway at the foot of the mountain.Luckily, the hotel operates a frequent shuttle down the hill, across the traffic to the YuanShan subway station as well as to several other places around town. There may be sidewalks/passage through the traffic, but I've not checked yet. Secondly--Prices: The hotel seems to be used heavily for conventions (there's one going on just now) but that can be a boon because I called the hotel directly and was given a discounted rate right off the bat, cheaper than their internet advertised rates. There are inside rooms that are about 1/3 cheaper, but really, the outward facing rooms are where you want to be. This hotel is a splurge, but you won't regret it!!

  • Stayed: November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2004

Stayed here for business in early September for 3 nights. I had a room with a large balcony overlooking the front of the hotel. The Hotel was magnificent, the staff was very good, the room was well maintained and had very nice furnishings. One of the items that I liked that more hotels should include is a very simple battery operated alarm clock. I usually travel with one since I dont always trust wake up calls. I only ate one meal in the hotel, but it was very good. I highly recommend their Dim Sum. I would absolutely stay here again.

8  Thank Texas_Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2004

Stayed at the Grand last week. The place was like a bygone age, such elegance and splendour! Breathtaking.
Good sized comfortable rooms with all facilities (big bath + shower), and exceptional service from the friendly staff, nothing was too much trouble.
Olympic sized outdoor pool with lifeguards, and bowling lanes, great for kids.
Food was a little tame but wonderful, as was the live music, authentic chinese also edwardian english drawing room.
Brilliant, we will go again soon!

8  Thank Roobydoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
3.0 mi away
Howard Plaza Hotel Taipei
1.7 mi away
Regent Taipei
Regent Taipei
#21 of 574 in Taipei
2,088 reviews
3.2 mi away
Taipei Garden Hotel
Taipei Garden Hotel
#24 of 574 in Taipei
1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei
Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei
#50 of 574 in Taipei
902 reviews
2.3 mi away
Caesar Park Taipei
Caesar Park Taipei
#100 of 574 in Taipei
1,518 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Okura Prestige Taipei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Taipei

Address: No.1 Section 4, Chung Shan North Road, Taipei 104, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#37 Family Hotel in Taipei
#42 Business Hotel in Taipei
Price Range: $109 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hotel Taipei 4.5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel has served multiple purposes from the past 63 years: developing tourism, supporting international diplomacy and promoting Chinese culture to the West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taipei Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing