We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Ranked #101 of 585 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We arrived and served by one of the young receptionist who was very polite. We booked the hotel for 2 adults and 1 young (5 yr old), for which we were charged extra NZD$200 for 5 days. Upon asking if we were expecting an extra bed we were served by another receptionist who was very unpleasant, rude and didn't even listened to my question. She basically just asked what my room number is and said that is the price I paid for my room, no extra bed. We booked through hot-wired.com. Although this is at a discounted rates, but since the hotel is willing to sell the room for the advertised price, I do expect their advertised 4.5 star rating. For this I must advise if family wanting to have 3 persons in the room, you will be ended up with 3 persons sleeping in 1 room with only 2 sets of toiletries. How bad is this? For this I think it is fare to rate this poor!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luluchieng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

79 - 85 of 327 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2014

The hotel is conveniently located near the Taipei subway. it is more of a boutique hotel in style. The Lee-Tsi Bakery famous for their sun cakes is right around the corner. We had the delux rooms and they were generously sized with a king bed, sofa, coffee table, dual bathroom sinks, jacuzzi tub, separate shower, and a large "bar" area. Breakfast was very good with a nice selection of Taiwnese, Japanese and Western items, though the selection is not as big as other larger Western branded hotels. The cook-to-order Taiwanese noodle dishes were very good. Overall, it was a very positive experience.

The decor is of older fashion nautical theme.

Room Tip: Pay for the delux room. It is worth it. The standard room does not have the sofa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JHFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

This is a really good hotel. Rooms are spacious and clean. Rooms are well maintained and the amenities are top notch. For example, instead of the usual packets of instant coffee, you get coffee beans in little filter bags. Toiletries are complete, towels are clean. Bathroom is a little over the top with gold plated basins and taps and a jacuzzi to boot. Does make you want to stay in the room and chill out. Staff are friendly and helpful and speak English well. Location wise it is slight out of the business or shopping area, but taxis are easy to get and at reasonable prices. You do pay what you get for. You won't find good restaurants nearby, though. The restaurant in the hotel serves decent fare and wine selection is okay. There is a 7-11 next door in case you need some food.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viviane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The car company they use from the airport is excellent and comes with wifi. Well worth the money for the hotel to arrange - 2200 in local currency for a 30min to 1 hour journey in, depending on traffic.
Efficient reception with good English skills.
Good room with plenty of space and full range of toiletries in the well equipped bathroom.
The rate pad was about half the rack rate and so it pays to shop around or get a good corporate deal.
Breakfast was ok.
The hotel is well position for the centre.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
5  Thank ThamesViewE14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This cruise ship themed hotel was elegant and comfortable. Quiet, clean with gracious helpful staff. While not in the center of tourism or business, taxi service is inexpensive and the staff is eager to assist. Always felt welcome and cared for.

After many trips to Taipei, I think this is my favorite hotel.

Room Tip: Every room is meticulously styled and maintained. Lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank klee54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

even as i am still staying here , i reckon i needed to pen off a few thots

this hotel is not by anyway in the glam part of the city, nor is it near any bustling shopping area or any great eateries.what it is is a Quality stay for the price you pay.

the rooms are great , very clean, meticulously tidied by the chambermaids everyday . very clean towels, sheets and well cleaned rooms. it helps when u are a neat freak or just am thanfu that the rooms are as they are.

the next thing that strikes you or rather the morning after your first nite is that the room is strangely peaceful ! its only when u peel back the thick curtains that u realise that the room's windows are double glazed, as are the walls i suspect as there is no sound coming in from the outside. its so peacful !

i did say the hotel is not near to any bustling shoppig area or eateries, but within a km walking radius you will finf the bakeries, the 7 elevens , the starbucks and the local restaurants, so eating is never a problem here.

the other great thing about the hotel is its extremely close proximity to the MRT, the train system,once you are out of the main doors, turn right or head north, walk for 3 mins , depending on your walking speed and you are at the cusps of easy and cheap transport to most parts of taipei and if u need to to get to the other major cities, then the mrt will get you there.

from sung chiang nanxing station its barely 5 stops with a change to a different line will get you to taipei main train station which links you to the nations high speed rail system. or its 5 stops with no change to another station at Dongmen to the famed din tai fung eatery .no fuss!

the hotel may be small the staff may be few but thats the beauty .the front desk , they know everything ! from checking you in , changing currencies, giving you advice on where to go and what to eat in a snap ! even the bellhops are great in what they do .oh the hotel food may lack a little during breakfast if u are looking for a full on buffet style that a seasoned traveller is used to in other hotels with the full spread, but i can live with it as it really is decent after all.

ill be happy to come back again, any time.

Room Tip: no complains , i was on the 16th or the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kel5463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is a very good hotel for anyone not wanting a big western hotel. I stayed here a number of years ago and have decided to return to this hotel on this trip. Nothing has changed which is a good thing. The hotel is not large, it is quiet, clean and very comfortable. And the rate was quite affordable. The room I was booked in is classed a superior suite. It is a vey nice size with a sitting area, a desk to work at (including an in-room fax and printer), a VERY comfortable bed and a large bathroom. Included in the low rate was a full breakfast buffet. Most of the clientele seem to be business people so the atmosphere is quiet and unrushed. A perfect place to stay when traveling. I will return here on my next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank In2exploring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Songshan District
Ambience Hotel
Ambience Hotel
#6 of 585 in Taipei
1,496 reviews
Taipei Garden Hotel
#22 of 585 in Taipei
1,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Riviera Hotel
#39 of 585 in Taipei
627 reviews
The Sherwood Taipei
#50 of 585 in Taipei
961 reviews
The Landis Taipei
#59 of 585 in Taipei
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen Laurel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Laurel Hotel

Address: No.63 Sung Chiang Road, Taipei 104, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Taipei
#35 Family Hotel in Taipei
#45 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
Price Range: $119 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Evergreen Laurel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Evergreen Laurel Hotel (Taipei) is situated in the heart of Taipei’s business and financial district. The 100 spacious rooms and suites feature a soundproofing system that reduces ambient noise levels to below 40 dB. The fitness center offers modern health-club facilities including an assortment of Spa treatments. The elegant Evergarden serves a variety of Chinese cuisine for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Evergreen Laurel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evergreen Laurel Taipei
Hotel Evergreen Laurel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing