We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Ranked #100 of 568 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“One of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed in”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Wow, what a room. Beautiful, clean, comfortable, spacious and elegantly appointed. The double sinks seemed to be gold plated. No kidding. This was definitely one of the nicest rooms I have ever stayed in although to be honest I usually don’t stay in this nice a place. Although I was there only one night so have limited experience, I found the staff exceptionally friendly and helpful. Depending on what you are doing in Taipei it may or may not be well located but it is a stop on the route of the airport transfer bus so very convenient and why I stayed there that one night. A bit expensive for my budget but, if not for yours, then I highly recommend the Evergreen.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmwooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    131
    36
    7
    2
See reviews for
70
56
41
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My first encounter with Evergreen Laurel hotel stay was in Penang. I was satisfied so I did not hestitate to choose the same hotel chain during my visit to Taipei. It did not disappoint me. In fact, it surpassed my expectation. The room and toilet were clean. The surrounding was quiet. The bed was comfortable. The aircon control was responsive. The range of amenities supplied was impressive! The breakfast spread was the best I ever seen at the hotel rate I paid. The hotel is about 3min walk to MRT station. It is only a few stops away from Ximenting, Taipei Main Station and Taipei City Hall. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ckiancho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I stayed at the Evergreen Laurel Taipei for about four nights and was generally pleased with the experience. However the hotel can make some improvements, especially with regards to its internet services and other service issues. Furthermore, one of the reasons I booked this hotel is because I am an Evergreen Club member (EVA Airways's frequent flyer program), but note that if you book via an online intermediary (e.g., Expedia / hotels.com / etc), the hotel will not give you miles for your stay (this is what I was told when I checked-in) - you apparently have to book directly through the hotel for mileage accumulation. In any case, see my list of pros and cons below:

PROS:
1. Location -- the hotel is located very close to the Taipei Metro's Songjian Nanjing Station (about a 5-7 minute walk from the hotel). This made it very easy to get around all of Taipei. In addition, the hotel offers free parking for guests. There is also a 7-11 convenience store right next door to the hotel, so you can easily stock up on snacks and beverages.
2. Breakfast and drink vouchers -- my room rate included free breakfast for each day of my stay. I found the breakfast to be really quite good -- it was a comprehensive buffet with Chinese and Western options, including made-to-order eggs (upon sitting down, the servers present you with an eggs menu, and you can tell them how you would like your eggs, and they will serve them to you when they are ready -- this was quite nice as you did not have to wait in line for your eggs). In addition, I got free drink vouchers (for coffee or tea) upon check-in for use in the lobby cafe for each day of my stay. This was a nice touch.
3. Quiet, clean, and good-sized rooms -- the room was spacious and clean. Bathroom was also clean, and as some reviewers have already commented, was nicely appointed and designed.
4. Fruit and newspapers -- a plate of fresh fruit (bananas, apples, kiwi, and oranges) and a newspaper were both delivered to my room daily. This was a very nice touch. Quick tip regarding the fruit -- I couldn't finish all the fruit one day and so kept some fruit on the plate, intending to eat it the next day. The staff actually took away the plate and replaced it with new fruit. It was very kind of them to do this, but if you wish to save the untouched fruit delivered the previous night for future consumption, do not leave it on the plate.
5. Value -- the price was very reasonable, and given the pros above, the hotel was a good value.

CONS:
1. Very poor wireless internet -- the hotel provided free wireless in rooms, which was certainly a nice touch. But free wireless wasn't helpful when the wireless internet itself was slow, or in some cases, not functioning properly. The connection was quite slow and rather annoyingly would drop every few minutes; I had to reconnect many times. This was frustrating and made it very difficult to work in my room as my internet kept dropping. The wireless internet in the lobby is a bit better. Hopefully the hotel can improve the quality of its wireless internet network.
2. Minor staff issue -- on the whole, the staff of the hotel was very nice, well-trained, and professional. However, the staff member checking me in was not very welcoming at all and did not even smile (although I notice other staff members checking in guests were indeed welcoming). I was not expecting a five-star welcome given the more moderate price of the hotel, but the hotel should ensure all its staff at least make guests feel welcome at the checking-in stage -- that is, after all, the first impression guests have of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BachIsGreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I stayed here for 2-3 nights in September 2011. The hotel is very clean and the staff are very courteous. What especially struck me was the room and the furnishings. They were so well maintained that it felt like new. The bathroom was also fantastic. The breakfast was good and themenu was quite well designed. The staff were very helpful and answered all my questions about the city. I would recommend this to anyone travelling to Taiwan.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank micks23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed in the evergreen laurel hotel from nov 21 throu dic 1 2012, great location and service, almost all the staff speaked english, the breakfast was good and you can order it to your room without extra charge, the hotel is decorated as a luxury ship with swarosky stones all over the ceiling and 24K gold bath amenities and super modern toilet! Overall a good hotel! I will come back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Verorpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
354 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is a good reliable hotel. Comfortable large rooms and beds. The congee was delicious and the breakfast was very good quality. It was also quiet and the staff very helpful. This is a quiet, no fuss hotel. All 11 of our tour group were happy and slept soundly which was good considering we performed to 8000 people with our show OperaCircus and Pot-Pourri!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tania d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freising, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here for an entire week in a Deluxe Bedroom. The rooms are spaceous and clean. The bathroom is very nice with separate shower and jacuzzi. The huge and soft bed gave us sweet dreams. It needs to be mentioned that there is absolutely no noise at any time that disturbes you. A big plus.The cleaning of the room was excellent. All service personnel was always polite and helpful. The breakfast is quite disappointing for this class of hotel. Breakfast personnel could be a lot more active.The location is almost perfect. The MRT is just around the corner and there are numerous stores and restaurants in walking distance. Free WIFI is a plus.The TV channels need to be updated. 29 channels are a quarter of what we got in the TW outback hotels. All in all a superior hotel with cons that could be solved so easy...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moscito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
The Landis Taipei
#51 of 568 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
San Want Residences
#12 of 568 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Songshan District
Ambience Hotel
Ambience Hotel
#6 of 568 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taipei Garden Hotel
#19 of 568 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
Miramar Garden Taipei
#88 of 568 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
The Sherwood Taipei
#47 of 568 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen Laurel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Laurel Hotel

Property: Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Address: No.63 Sung Chiang Road, Taipei 104, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Taipei
#49 Family Hotel in Taipei
#49 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Evergreen Laurel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Evergreen Laurel Hotel (Taipei) is situated in the heart of Taipei’s business and financial district. The 100 spacious rooms and suites feature a soundproofing system that reduces ambient noise levels to below 40 dB. The fitness center offers modern health-club facilities including an assortment of Spa treatments. The elegant Evergarden serves a variety of Chinese cuisine for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Evergreen Laurel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evergreen Laurel Taipei
Hotel Evergreen Laurel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing