We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“faux elegance and luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Ranked #92 of 587 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights for a business trip. I was upgraded to one of the corner suites. It was amazingly spacious, more than I needed. The suite had a living room/workdesk/bar separate from the bedroom, bath, and walk-in closet. All the “bling” and opulence of the place seems impressive at first but the devil’s in the details and one will quickly realize that it’s not all what it seems. For instance, the bath towels are not plush, they’re old, been washed way too many times. The bed is too firm and the sheets seem to have a very low thread count, not soft. Although the room had a lot of windows, only the street facing windows can be opened to let natural light in. The side windows have shutters that block out the view and light, I guess they don’t want you to see the building next door which is only a few feet away. However, the room is quite soundproof and very quiet. I slept quite well. It was annoying, however, that there are only a few power outlets around the rooms especially around the beds. So, I had to recharge my laptop and phone in the bathroom!

The health club/gym is very small, located in the basement so, no windows, equipment is old, and they don't open until 6:30 am. Disappointing.

The breakfast buffet was average but offers a wide enough variety to cater to most tastes. Dinner was terrible. I recommend going to a restaurant outside of the hotel instead. Service in the restaurant and the front desk was passable. Everyone was just doing their job, just getting it done, nothing more; no pleasantries, no warm and fuzzy feeling about it.

Overall, I’m not sure if I’d stay in this hotel again. For one, the faux-elegance aesthetic is just not my style and secondly, the staff although very professional and competent just treated me more as a customer rather than a guest. The price was right, the location convenient to where I needed to do business but other than that, I have no compelling reason to recommend this hotel. Even with that said, however, if you were to stay here for a very good price (and ONLY if you get a good price, say less than $140 US, a night), I don’t think you’d regret it too much.

Room Tip: Rooms facing towards the street have views and windows that have lots of natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank x2fr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (334)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 141 of 334 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2011

Stayed for 4 nights on a business trip. Spotted the hotel after researching on trip advisor and was not disappointed, so asked office manager to book this one. The Evergreen hotel chain is owned by the Eva Airways holding company so there were also shuttle coaches from the airport. Centrally located with the nearest MRT subway station about 4-5 minute walk right out of hotel.

On arrival, walked into reception area which was air conditioned with marble decor and a grand piano in the middle. Reception was on the right, with 2 staff who were very attentive - despite it being close to midnight. After check in, we went to our rooms which were on the 14th floor served by 2 large lifts.

We had been upgraded due to overbooking and I was not disappointed. The room was large, air conditioned, very clean and well kept with kingsize bed, desk with free wifi or ADSL access, fax machine and most useful, international multi plug sockets for both 110 and 220V systems. Large flat screen TV on wall with DVD/Video opposite bed. Sofa and table in room with fresh fruit and there was also a table area with mini bar and tea making facilities. Bathroom had jacuzzi bath, shower (pressure was very good) double sink and toilet with electric gadgets such as heated seat and bidet feature. Overall all mod cons.

Breakfast was very good and held in spacious restaurant area on the 2nd floor. They had a plentiful choice of English, continental or Far Eastern, lots of staff available to assist with coffees etc. Newspapers were available if you did not have a complimentary paper by your door each morning.

There was a gym on site, but unfortunately did not try this out. However I would expect it was to a good standard as everything else was.

There was no official bar however you only had to ask reception and they brought you drinks out to your table which were a side part opposite reception.

Overall I would thoroughly recommend this hotel. They are in a very good location and have addressed all the fundamentals a westerner would expect when travelling. I found the Taiwanese in general were very customer service minded and the staff here were no exception.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taylor339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

The room here is nice and clean. There is a supermarket and 7-11 convenience store beside the hotel. A taxi trip to the Taipei 101 Building is about NT200. The nearby malls are Sogo and Breeze. Breeze has most of the luxury brands. Beside the hotel is a 24 hour foot massage place called "teacherdeng". A taxi trip from the hotel to the Taoyuan airport is NT1,200. So there you have it, a Business Hotel that has nice clean rooms (mine has a Jacuzzi), near to the Malls, near to 7-11/supermarket and a place to wind down. The staff speaks acceptable english and they are friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BigHorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Stayed at Evergreen Laurel a few days ago when in Taipei. Great location. Easy 10-15 min walk to major Blue line subway. Inexpensive taxi rides around the city. Rooms were fine. Breakfast (included) was a buffet and excellent also - both western and chinese/japanese dishes. Staff was very helpful in making arrangements and suggestions for us. All in all I would stay here again and recommend this hotel. They have cards with their name in chinese characters but ask them to write it out larger for the taxi. we showed it to our cab driver and he couldn't read it and took us all over the city. Especially at night.

Room Tip: None of rooms have view so any room is about the same. Amenities galore. from slippers and robes t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhotoSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

The hotel is very convenient when using the Evergreen Laurel bus from Taoyuan airport as it stops outside and costs just NT150 one way.

On arrival we we given a key to one room. As soon as we walked in the door the phone went and it was reception telling us someone had already checked into this room and we had to go to another room.

The room itself was large enough and clean. The decor was a bit old-fashioned and had a fax machine in the room (very 90s)!

There is free wifi throughout the hotel but have to keep entering the login and password everytime you use it. Tea, coffee, fruit and water provided daily too.

There is a decent gym on the lower ground floor next to a spa. The hotel is just a couple of minutes walk from SongJiang Station and with cheap taxis all of Taipei is accessible.

If you can get a good deal it's worth staying here, if not, there are better value hotels elsewhere in Taipei.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mrrfrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Although on a business trip, this hotel, although not next to the Taipei 101, was perfectly placed for my business needs, it was quiet (although the street outside was very busy), close to the MRT and a short Taxi ride to local pubs - my other place, Saints and Sinners and Carnagies desrve a mention

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Red_Admiral_R06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Evergreen is a typical Taiwan style hotel. It is located just 3mins walk from MRT Songjiangnanjing station. There is airport bus stop next to the hotel. Therefore, transport is pretty convenient.
We booked standard room. Although it is in 12/F, the window is nothing. They use a curtain to block outside view (because opposite is another building which is just 3 metre distance). Thus, no view at all. Anyway, the room is comfortable. There is free internet connection and in-room fax service. Good for businessmen. But the bed and pillow are too hard.
Buffet breakfast is so-so. Not many choices. I tried there Being Spa in B2, which is very nice. However, the charge is quite expensive even they offered me 30% discount off.
There are some good cafe nearby. We like "King of Milk" cafe so much and tried 4 times at all. There are also 7-11 and Wellcome nearby. So you can buy some drinks direct from there.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bird-Bird-Blogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Songshan District
Ambience Hotel
Ambience Hotel
#8 of 587 in Taipei
1,523 reviews
Taipei Garden Hotel
#18 of 587 in Taipei
1,978 reviews
The Sherwood Taipei
#50 of 587 in Taipei
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Taipei Hotel
#57 of 587 in Taipei
699 reviews
The Landis Taipei
#55 of 587 in Taipei
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen Laurel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Laurel Hotel

Address: No.63 Sung Chiang Road, Taipei 104, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Taipei
#35 Family Hotel in Taipei
#41 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
Price Range: $124 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Evergreen Laurel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Evergreen Laurel Hotel (Taipei) is situated in the heart of Taipei’s business and financial district. The 100 spacious rooms and suites feature a soundproofing system that reduces ambient noise levels to below 40 dB. The fitness center offers modern health-club facilities including an assortment of Spa treatments. The elegant Evergarden serves a variety of Chinese cuisine for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Evergreen Laurel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evergreen Laurel Taipei
Hotel Evergreen Laurel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing