We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Mismanagement” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial Hotel Taipei

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Imperial Hotel Taipei
Ranked #58 of 543 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Bhutan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Mismanagement”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Booked the reservation through Agoda, double deluxe room with two twin beds. My flight was slightly delayed and when I reach Taipei, it was already 9:30 at night. We were given a king bed, and the receptionist did not believe that I reserved a double deluxe room. After the manager confirmed with Agoda, she shamelessly said that it was already late at night and the double deluxe room is no longer available. Since we are here only to transit, we have no choice but spend a night here, in the hotel, where obviously it is the hotel's mismanagement of not providing us what we reserved. In the end, there is no more compensation or anything given by the hotel to make us feel better. Usually Taiwan service is good, but I guess I am just down on my luck!

The hotel is old, but clean. The bed is a little too soft, perhaps because it is also an old bed.

Room Tip: Re-confirm with the hotel what you require or reserve, because if you arrive a little late, you migh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoGoRicea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    337
    75
    16
    12
See reviews for
119
86
74
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed here for a week on a short break. The hotel was excellent in our opinion. Breakfast was very good and would suit most people. Our room was excellent with a separate lounge and bedroom. Everything was very clean and the service was excellent. We were traveling with an 8 month old baby and this was no problem at all. We were provided with a cot and all the hotel restaurants had high chairs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MSRQW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We had such a great time. The staff was so helpful and friendly. This hotel is pushing a 5 star rating. The room was spotless and roomy. Bed was excellent and very comfortable. We stayed on the club level for an extra few dollars a night and discovered it was well worth it, with evening drinks, afternoon tea and a very nice buffet and table service breakfast. We walked down to the second floor to see the non club level breakfast and it look great too but a little on the cramped / busy side. The hotel is old, I remembered when I was a young boy in the 60’s and lived across the street, it was a very nice hotel and I always wanted to stay there. This stay did not disappoint me, and lived up to my expectations. It did not look and feel old at all due to recent renovations. I highly recommend it. The cost to the hotel via taxi was only $1058 NT one way. The trip back to the airport ran a little higher $1200.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for club level; the extra perks are well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SonnyFromFla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I stayed at the Imerial Hotel Taipei for a business trip in June 2012. The staff was so friendly and helpful! The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. There was a "westerner" restaruant across the stree. Resturants, shops an a temple were within walking distance. Hotel was short walk to subway & taxis were very easy to get at front of the buidling. Great stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BELECTRIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Approx.10-15min by taxi from SonShan airport to hotel. Less than 1hr by airport limousin bus leaving from nearest bus stop (20 sec. walk from hotel main gate) to TaoYuan airport.
My room was reserved through Rakuten Travel & upgraded.
approx.10min walk to 中山國小 subway station, which is quite convenient to access any main places in Taipei, using rechargeable subway card.
Some staff having a difficulty to communicate in English, however, I'll surelymstay there again next time.
Don't miss the tea shop on way to subway station!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank XxParisiennexX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
122 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in a triple room. The room was on a low floor but fortunately overlooking the side street rather than the main Lin Sen N Road. Traffic noise was occasionally audible but did not bother us or keep us awake.

The hotel entrance and lobby didn't look very large from the outside, with a low ceiling, but deeper in was a nice atrium with a sweeping curved marble staircase to the restaurants on the second floor. Overhead was an atrium which pleasantly allowed light in.

The rooms were adequate with enough space for the extra bed. The safe was useful for keeping our electronic stuff when we didn't want to bring them along (large enough for an iPad!). The bathtub with shower curtain dated the hotel a bit, but there was enough space on the sink counter to put toiletries.

The breakfast buffet on the 2nd floor was excellent. There was a station where you could cook your own noodles, with choice of ingredients and type of noodles. There was also a significant section with Japanese food, as a nod to the large Japanese clientele. The dimsum in baskets were also rotated to have different varieties on the days we were there.

The location in the north part of the city meant it was far from the usual tourist attractions, but the Chung-Shan elementary school station was a 7-minute walk south, and there was always a taxi waiting at the hotel entrance. We usually would not take taxis while travelling, but given the short time we had and the language, we opted for taxis around Taipei.

This gave us a pleasant surprise as the taxi fares are relatively affordable, and even going from the north to the southeast of the city was about US$10, which took about 20 minutes in daytime traffic.

Shopping tip : For last-minute gifts to bring home, there is a pastry shop in the next block north of the hotel. Turn left on coming out the entrance and cross the small road. Their pineapple pastries are amongst the best. Way better than what you can get at the airport. Get the one which was named after the previous president.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

It was our first time staying at this hotel. We stayed for 8 nights in March 2012 at the Executive Floor.

We checked into a corner room which had a bad smoking odour that lingered throughout the night.

I called the Duty Manager and she explained that her staff would try to remove the odour the next day when we are away at work.

True enough, the odour was no longer in the room when we returned in the evening!

The Lounge service was impeccable.

The staff was always eager to assist and listen to the guests' needs. Even though the hotel has a Neo-Classic design which is rather dated, the hotel service is warm, genuine and sincere.

One small problem, the walls and ceilings are rather thin, so when 12 Floor has a corporate event which involves lots of music and singing, the corner room at the Executive Floor will pick up the noises and it can be rather difficult to sleep.

Other than that, Imperial is an established hotel in Taipei built in the 1960s and has been renovated, where the staff is clearly proud of its hotel heritage and are attentive and caring. Even the apprentice students who work there for their university attachments are serious in their work and most willing to help guests with road directions and suggestions for travelling.

Tip: The Japanese restaurant does a mean desgustation meal and the Japanese chef will plan the menu for you according to the seasons. The food is so fresh, bought from the market the morning itself! You just need to make a booking three days ahead. This degustation meal is little known to many, but if you have time to enjoy one, try it.

The lobby bakery is also very famous, and the types of bread are varied and very interesting! Hotel guests get a discount.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.2 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#55 of 543 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 stars 373 reviews
0.8 mi away
Taipei Gala Hotel
Taipei Gala Hotel
#67 of 543 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 stars 278 reviews
0.4 mi away
Landis Taipei Hotel
Landis Taipei Hotel
#37 of 543 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 stars 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Taipei Garden Hotel
Taipei Garden Hotel
#28 of 543 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 stars 1,011 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cosmos Hotel Taipei
Cosmos Hotel Taipei
#31 of 543 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 stars 2,279 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Seasons Hotel Taipei Nanjing West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel Taipei

Property: Imperial Hotel Taipei
Address: No.600 Linshen North Road, Zhongshan District, Taipei 104, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#30 Business Hotel in Taipei
#42 Family Hotel in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Hotel Taipei 4*
Number of rooms: 326
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Imperial Hotel Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taipei Imperial Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing