We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location off central but no problems with transport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial Hotel Taipei

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Imperial Hotel Taipei
Ranked #57 of 518 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
122 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Location off central but no problems with transport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in a triple room. The room was on a low floor but fortunately overlooking the side street rather than the main Lin Sen N Road. Traffic noise was occasionally audible but did not bother us or keep us awake.

The hotel entrance and lobby didn't look very large from the outside, with a low ceiling, but deeper in was a nice atrium with a sweeping curved marble staircase to the restaurants on the second floor. Overhead was an atrium which pleasantly allowed light in.

The rooms were adequate with enough space for the extra bed. The safe was useful for keeping our electronic stuff when we didn't want to bring them along (large enough for an iPad!). The bathtub with shower curtain dated the hotel a bit, but there was enough space on the sink counter to put toiletries.

The breakfast buffet on the 2nd floor was excellent. There was a station where you could cook your own noodles, with choice of ingredients and type of noodles. There was also a significant section with Japanese food, as a nod to the large Japanese clientele. The dimsum in baskets were also rotated to have different varieties on the days we were there.

The location in the north part of the city meant it was far from the usual tourist attractions, but the Chung-Shan elementary school station was a 7-minute walk south, and there was always a taxi waiting at the hotel entrance. We usually would not take taxis while travelling, but given the short time we had and the language, we opted for taxis around Taipei.

This gave us a pleasant surprise as the taxi fares are relatively affordable, and even going from the north to the southeast of the city was about US$10, which took about 20 minutes in daytime traffic.

Shopping tip : For last-minute gifts to bring home, there is a pastry shop in the next block north of the hotel. Turn left on coming out the entrance and cross the small road. Their pineapple pastries are amongst the best. Way better than what you can get at the airport. Get the one which was named after the previous president.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    327
    72
    16
    12
See reviews for
115
81
73
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

It was our first time staying at this hotel. We stayed for 8 nights in March 2012 at the Executive Floor.

We checked into a corner room which had a bad smoking odour that lingered throughout the night.

I called the Duty Manager and she explained that her staff would try to remove the odour the next day when we are away at work.

True enough, the odour was no longer in the room when we returned in the evening!

The Lounge service was impeccable.

The staff was always eager to assist and listen to the guests' needs. Even though the hotel has a Neo-Classic design which is rather dated, the hotel service is warm, genuine and sincere.

One small problem, the walls and ceilings are rather thin, so when 12 Floor has a corporate event which involves lots of music and singing, the corner room at the Executive Floor will pick up the noises and it can be rather difficult to sleep.

Other than that, Imperial is an established hotel in Taipei built in the 1960s and has been renovated, where the staff is clearly proud of its hotel heritage and are attentive and caring. Even the apprentice students who work there for their university attachments are serious in their work and most willing to help guests with road directions and suggestions for travelling.

Tip: The Japanese restaurant does a mean desgustation meal and the Japanese chef will plan the menu for you according to the seasons. The food is so fresh, bought from the market the morning itself! You just need to make a booking three days ahead. This degustation meal is little known to many, but if you have time to enjoy one, try it.

The lobby bakery is also very famous, and the types of bread are varied and very interesting! Hotel guests get a discount.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

OK Hotel, OK location, OK outlets, OK rooms...
Location is good, but in the "old Taipei", far away from downtown. Staff is friendly, efficient and helpful, Check-in and -out was fast.
Rooms are in good condition but already quite old. If they want to keep up with the competition in Taipei, its time thinking about a major renovation.
Since the location is good for me due to Business, I will stay there again. Was quite pricey but I suppose thats due to Computer Exhibition during the time of my stay. Overall nothing really good to say about the hotel, but nothing bad as well though...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian_Schmitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

I spent 300 sgd for 2 nights in a high peak weekend. Considering the excellent room i was assigned, i can confirm it is good value for money. Most of the other options were sold out or extremely expensive. Very good breakfast as room service. Good location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Herb360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

This was the spoil stay-over 0f our loing diving trip to Micronesea.... What a great experience. Those pillows! were did they get them? I want one.
We really enjoyed our two nights there. Excellent service, very competitive rates that meant we could upgrade to a suite nogal......
Could fing no fauld did not look for fault.........................

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatsoJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
83 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

The hotel has a good location in the central part of Taipei and the subway is just a short walk. During my stay the hotel was visited by big groups of mainland chinese tourists. The lobby and the breakfast area were extremely busy at times. The breakfast was so so for a four star hotel. I would advice to get a coffee and a sandwich at Starbucks just around the corner. The breakfast area is very dull without any windows. The room was small but comfortable with a big bed and a flatscreen with many channels in both english and chinese. The toilet even had a heated seat and a bidet function. On the negative side I could hear TV and telephone in my neighbour rooms and also there was quite some noise from the corridor. Don´t expect great views from your balcony as it´s a cityhotel. I had a view on surrounding buildings only. WiFi is only available in the lobby area. The staff are very polite, helpful and friendly. All in all a pleasant stay but not special.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DTH70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

This is a five star facility according to local star rating standards which makes for about a 3 star experience by Western standards. Staff will go to great lengths to help you, the initial appearance is grand with a lobby that express five star ambitions. The rooms however leave a lot to be desired and could use a makeover. Everything is clean but the devil is in the details. The walls are paper thin, the beds rather hard by Western standards and the condition of the rooms (I saw the interior of three different rooms) are okay but not more than that.

Food is silly expensive, there is no WiFi in the rooms and the overall impression is mixed.

Then again, the staff is great, the location is pretty good and the hotel definitely have some good ambitions.

Would I stay there again? Maybe, but it's definitely not a no-brainer.

Room Tip: X04 rooms should be avoided since they are smaller and have one tiny window staring into a wall. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FarewellFire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.2 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#53 of 518 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 stars 368 reviews
0.8 mi away
Taipei Gala Hotel
Taipei Gala Hotel
#70 of 518 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 stars 270 reviews
2.4 mi away
Taipei Garden Hotel
Taipei Garden Hotel
#29 of 518 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 stars 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Landis Taipei Hotel
Landis Taipei Hotel
#38 of 518 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 stars 729 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ambassador Hotel Taipei
Ambassador Hotel Taipei
#65 of 518 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 stars 570 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cosmos Hotel Taipei
Cosmos Hotel Taipei
#31 of 518 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 stars 2,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel Taipei

Property: Imperial Hotel Taipei
Address: No.600 Linshen North Road, Zhongshan District, Taipei 104, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#30 Business Hotel in Taipei
#42 Family Hotel in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Hotel Taipei 4*
Number of rooms: 326
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cancelon, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Imperial Hotel Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taipei Imperial Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing