We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost great but a few issues” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Les Suites Taipei Ching-cheng

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Les Suites Taipei Ching-cheng
Ranked #4 of 565 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Almost great but a few issues”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights in Feb overall were quite happy. Just a couple of issues that kept it from being perfect.

The first being that during our stay, the cable was 'upgraded'. By upgraded, the hotel mean remove nearly all of the english channels leaving us just with just a few basics like BBCNews. When we started our stay we had several English language channels including HBO, SkyMovies, etc. that were particularily enjoyable for anyone with terrible jetlag - some fun programming made the wasted middle of the night awake hours pass quickly. I don't quite understand why the hotel would remove these channels and then call that an upgrade. Clearly it was a downgrade. If you don't watch TV, this won't be an issue for you.

The second issue was that the thermostat in the rooms would reset themselves every few hours without reason. So we'd wake up and be boiling or freezing. It was not difficult to reprogram but got old after a while.

We stayed in a corner suite that was quite large, had a nice sized sitting room and seperate bedroom. We were given a 5th floor room that looked directly out onto the mall across the street so the view was pretty bad but not a big deal. The one major negative there is that the bright lights of the mall sign made it impossible to get it completely dark in the room at night - even with the shades closed.

Breakfast was fine albeit a bit dissapointing considering how great Taiwanese food is. For example, great breakfast pastries are available cheaply at several bakeries nearby but the options at breakfast were stale.

All that said, there were quite a few positives about this hotel. Starting with the service which was friendly, helpful and courteous throughout. The staff at Les Suites are excellent.

The location was is a bit far from the main attractions of Taiwan but cabs are quite cheap. The area near the hotel has plenty of shops and restaurants to keep anyone busy.

Last but not least, the room bathroom was wonderful. A deep soaking tub, seperate shower and toilet with toto washlet attachment. Lovely.

Overall, a good property and I can see why it gets great reviews but a few tiny tweaks would make this place excellent.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StefR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    142
    25
    6
    7
See reviews for
155
194
80
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

Stayed here last year July and had a pleasant stay! Read good reviews in trip advisor and decided to try Les Suites. Initially, i had reservations as it was My first time to stay in a boutique hotel . What they lacked in facilities ( pool, restaurant) they more than made up with their exceptional service! Will definitely book Les Suites again if I go to Taiwan again and will most likely try Les Suites Shanghai when I go to Shanghai!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Windy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney, australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

I stayed here for two nights in a Single-Superior room in November, 2011, having made the booking through Asiatravel. I based my decision partly on the high rating that this property had achieved on Tripadvisor because otherwise, the hotel didn’t seem to be that impressive based on the pictures on the hotel website or on Tripadvisor. I tried to book a standard room at first but they were not available so Asiatravel arranged for a superior room after getting back to me.


Arrival Experience

I had firstly caught the bus to the Taoyuan high-speed train station from the international airport there and then had taken the high-speed train to the Taipei Main Train Station and from there, I caught a taxicab to the hotel. The driver wasn’t familiar with the hotel based on name alone so luckily, I had copied the street address in Chinese characters from the hotel website previously and the driver fortunately knew the street name but it was still difficult for him to locate the hotel entrance precisely and the laneway which served as the hotel entrance was basically a narrow alley, which could only fit one vehicle at a time and seemed to be quite hidden from the main road.

The reception staff member was very friendly and I was immediately struck by the relatively friendly nature of the place and it probably is one of the friendliest hotels with the highest standards of service that I’ve experienced.


The Room

The room was not large by any standard but there was a surprising amount of gadgetry packed in and I had never really seen a room with some of the features here, such as wardrobe lights which immediately light up upon detecting anyone approaching them. The high-tech toilet, in the typical Japanese style, was also quite unique but probably quite common in hotels in Taiwan because I saw it two more times before leaving the country and previously had barely seen these type of toilets.

The bed was ok in terms of comfort but the comforter seemed to be a bit thick considering the climate and room temperature at that time although Taipei appeared to be slightly unseasonably warm, considering that it was winter. It was good to note that the master light switch on the side of the bed did in fact switch off all the lights in the room, unlike in some hotel rooms.

The sofa in the room was comfortable but not outstandingly so.

The TV was quite good in terms of size and viewing quality, being a Sony LCD and there was quite an impressive channel selection available.

The work-desk was quite old-fashioned and set quite low. It was also showing signs of wear-and-tear and generally, the room furniture was quite worn out and had seen better days. The work-desk storage drawer included quite a large amount of reading and tourist brochure materials in both English and Japanese, including a few discount options which the hotel offered for eateries in the local area. The desk had a very large amount of office stationery provided in keeping with the business character of the hotel.

At first, the safe didn’t work. It was one of those where you use the credit card to swipe and had no option to set a code. I contacted the front desk later and after that, it worked alright after they had sent somebody to look at it.

My room did not come with a nespresso machine mentioned in other reviews. It had a hot-water flask which was constantly plugged in and kept the water at a warm temperature but I wasn’t sure if the water was of a good quality, having read an earlier review with the guest consuming the water in the flasks and then falling ill.

My room did not include any chocolates as part of a welcome kit but did have a fruit platter which could be replenished daily if consumed but I didn’t eat any of the fruits.

The shower appeared to be quite high-class and pleasant with a similar design to that at the St. Regis in Singapore. However, there appeared to be a few practical issues as the hot water surged every now and then, probably indicating that the heater was working at the moment when it surged.

The bathtub tap had a surprising amount of water pressure on tap and as a result, the tub filled quite quickly.

The bathroom provided a large range of toiletries and also came with a heater-light which warmed up the room appreciably.

The view from my hotel room wasn’t particularly good, looking out to the shopping mall opposite as well as what appeared to be a residential apartment directly opposite, which appeared to be quite aged and a little run-down so that wasn’t the best.

The room mostly managed to block out the noise from the street level and provided quite a quiet environment in which to rest during the day and night.

I have videos of the hotel room available through the link in my profile section.


Hotel Facilities

I had breakfast twice in the hotel’s ground-floor dining facilities, which seemed to be offered through the lobby lounge area and the library and there was a reasonable selection but it was geared mainly towards the Asian cuisines but there were Western selections available and there was the option to order an entree from the menu to go with the buffet, with omelette for example being available. The area was comfortable and quite relaxed and not too crowded in keeping with the boutique character of the hotel but it was necessary to walk from one section of the restaurant to another (probably from the lobby lounge area to the library) in order to collect the food because the selections were located in these two separate sections and my concern had to do with personal belongings because I had brought an iPad along on the first morning and wasn’t sure whether to leave it unattended for a while and out-of-sight while collecting food. In the end, I decided that since there were few guests around and quite a few staff on hand, it would be fairly obvious if anyone tried to take it since it everyone had their own table.

The lounge area on the ground floor provided a number of computer terminals with complimentary internet access.

The hotel provides free Wi-Fi even in rooms as well as the public areas, which was quite reliable. They also provided a mobile phone in the room which could be used to receive phone calls even if you are not there, as the call diverts to the mobile after three rings and the mobile can also be used to call local numbers free-of-charge and for calling the concierge to ask them for recommendations for various activities or eateries in the local area as well as for assistance with language translation. I didn’t use the phone so can’t really comment as to how useful it would be in practice, perhaps the concierge might not be available at all hours.


Location

The hotel was located a very short walk from the nearest subway station but this station was not useful for the main tourist destinations and only good in the sense that it inter-connected with the other main tourist-friendly line. However, the hotel’s driveway entrance always had taxis waiting and taxis in Taipei are always cheap so transport was never really an issue.

The hotel had plenty of restaurants and eating outlets located nearby, including a shopping centre right across the road which also housed a few eateries and was open up until about 9-10pm at night. There was also a large convenience store located very closeby. The hotel provided discounts to a number of eating outlets. On my first night, I ate at the McDonald’s directly opposite the hotel which doesn’t sound very exciting but it’s worth noting that it’s there.


Staff Service

The check-in staff attendants were quite friendly and showed me around the public areas on the ground level, explaining the free flow of drinks and computer terminals provided at all hours. At other times, I asked for an umbrella twice and also asked for assistance with locating a small item that I thought I’d left on the plane but without success in locating it. However, the staff members were at all times friendly and extremely polite. The housekeeping staff members were also well-mannered.


Conclusion

Overall, I had an interesting stay here as the room, although quite small by most standards, appeared to have quite a good range of interesting gadgetry and a Japanese-style self-cleaning toilet. The service here was also very warm, friendly and attentive and the general boutique and quiet character of the hotel was appreciated. However, it probably couldn’t be described as being a particularly luxurious place with the rooms also not being in totally new condition and given the room rate, some might see that as a weakness but overall, I had a very good stay here and it was a different experience, which I thought was good.

NOTE: I have videos of the hotel room through the link in my profile section.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank perryw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

Stayed in the hotel in November. Great hotel. Had issues when we arrived as we were moved hotels on a fairly flimsy excuse but the staff more than made up for it. Great location, breakfast is so so but the afternoon tea and the "honesty" drinks in the evening are great. The location is superb and the staff are ultra helpful. WE had a suite and the details in the room far surpass most hotels......Worth a revist

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fryit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

I was so impressed with the politeness and helpfulness of the staff. The room is impeccable. The mattress is better than mine at home as I did not have any low back pain, sleeping soundly on it. Would liked to stay longer but they were fully booked. Love the furniture and the finger food available all day, careful as you will get fat.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Han T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

My husband and son spent one evening in the hotel, left for several days for a trip to the coast and then returned for another 5 days. We asked if they would keep one of our suitcases and they readily agreed. The first room we had was vey nice but on our return they upgraded us to a suite which was even nicer. The hotel is 1 is steps from the MRT (metro) so although the area it is in is nothing special, it is easy to get anywhere in the city. The staff are amazingly attentive and the breakfast (which is included) is very good. WIFI is free. We had a wonderful stay and will stay there again when next we go to Taipei.

Room Tip: Corner suites are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emma0003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

Chose this hotel based on its ranking but was not impressed. At US$300++ per night, the rooms were too small with standard furnishing.

Location is nice with a train station next to it and there are always taxis available just outside the hotel. Staff were helpful and recommended very good dining places (Hotpot and BBQ)

Overall, this is a nice boutique hotel but does not deserve the #1 ratings.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ErWei001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
1.2 mi away
Swiio Hotel Daan
Swiio Hotel Daan
#3 of 565 in Taipei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ambience Hotel
Ambience Hotel
#7 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Taipei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Proverbs Taipei
Hotel Proverbs Taipei
#40 of 565 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cityinn Hotel Plus - Fuxing N. Rd., Branch
1.9 mi away
Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Suites Taipei Ching-cheng? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Suites Taipei Ching-cheng

Property: Les Suites Taipei Ching-cheng
Address: No.12 Ching Cheng Street, Songshan District, Taipei 10547, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Taipei > Songshan District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#2 Business Hotel in Taipei
#9 Family Hotel in Taipei
#17 Romantic Hotel in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Les Suites Taipei Ching-cheng 4.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
les suites taipei ching-cheng - Boutique Hotel Taipei offers a contemporary tranquil get-away while centrally located in the heart of Taipei. Walking through the illuminated gateway is like unwrapping a chic gift. The palpable ambience of European sophistication and polished style, along with renowned Asian minimalist pristine strikes any insightful voyager coming through this surprising boutique hotel in Taipei. A suave oasis in the midst of the ultra-hi tech, les suites taipei ching-cheng , assures a savvy, yet relaxing ambience in each of the 84 carefully appointed rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Ctrip TA so you can book your Les Suites Taipei Ching-cheng reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Suites Taipei (Ching Cheng) Hotel Taipei
Les Hotel Taipei Ching Cheng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing